We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place on the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna at Atitlan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Save
You added La Fortuna at Atitlan to your Saves list
Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Place on the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in November and wish it could have been longer. The location is great, just a quick boat ride from Panajachel but still secluded. The bungalows let you feel immersed in the outdoors while still enjoying all sorts of luxuries (incredibly soft duvets, plush pillows, and cozy bathrobes!). The meals are fantastic, the hammock comfy, the garden bathrooms beautiful. There's no reason to leave...except that Kat and Steve (who are amazingly friendly and helpful) will come by with so many ideas about things to do around the lake that you'll have to go exploring - but you'll leave knowing you have a great place to come back to. Really, I'm not sure why you would stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 has great views of the lake, but we preferred the privacy of Bungalow 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to recount your experience. We wish you guys the best, and hope that we get the pleasure of having you as guests again sometime in the future! Hope you stay warm up in Canada this winter!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
190
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Rarely do you come across a place that exceeds all expectations, but La Fortuna does it. The property is incredible - a Swiss Family Robinson jungle camp with 5-star cuisine. Highlights were hiking to the top of the property for sunset, eating breakfast on the porch with one of Steve and Kat's amiable puppies, and hanging out in the wood-fire heated hot tub listening to the volcano rumble across the lake. By far one of the coolest hotels I've ever experienced.

Tips: If you need a bed larger than a full, stay in one of the larger bungalows. Take your meals at the hotel. Steve is an excellent cook and dinner by candlelight in the jungle is magical. Bring a book, bug spray, and your bathing suit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - and for providing us with such positive feedback. Steve and I thoroughly enjoyed having you guys as guests, and hope to be fortunate enough in the future to have you guys back.

Thanks again! All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Gorgeous place, breathtaking views, amazing atmosphere. If there's anything else you need for a perfect retreat in peaceful seclusion - they've got it, or they'll get it for you.
Steve and Kat are a great couple and run the place at a unique quality level. The setting of their villas give you a feeling of comfort while you enjoy the picturesque landscape. We loved it (2 adults + 3 kids below 5 yrs), but you might want to reconsider if you travel with a toddler as the villas are not "child-proof".
There was no swimming pool, but they have a jaccuzzi, I believe (didn't use it myself). The activities for kids consisted 100% of observing nature and the possibility of actually experiencing it first hand.

Room Tip: You do have a private bathroom, but it is under the clouds :) I enjoyed it, the kids loved it as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment your time here. We hope that you and your husband get a chance to come back for a romantic get away. All the best - and thank you again!

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is by far the best place you could stay on the lake. It's absolutely beautiful and the Steve & Kay have done an amazing job with the property. They are so hospitable and accommodating. We stayed in a suite and loved the architecture, the open bathroom and upper deck. The food was great and served when you want. Getting around the lake requires flagging down the public boat that periodically goes by. On more than one occasion Steve helped us by calling for a boat or taking us there himself. Perfect place. Deserves all the 5 stars people are giving it.

Room Tip: Stay in the suite if they're available although the bungalows are quaint and beautifully done as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for such positive feed back! We loved having you guys, and wish you the best. We hope that you can come back down for a visit and see our progress. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay - we very much appreciate it.

Best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at La Fortuna this year...we love it!

We stayed Thanksgiving night and rented two bungalows. Our daughter and son-law were traveling with us. We made it a point to bring them to La Fortuna as it is our favorite place to stay.

Steve and Kat are GREAT hosts. They prepared a special Thanksgiving feast complete with turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, and all the trimmings!

This is definitely the best place to stay while you are visiting Lake Atitlan!

Mike & Carol
Guatemala City

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We loved having you guys, and are so happy that each time we are meeting new family members! We look forward to seeing you again here, as well as catching up with you in the city. We wish your family all the best - and hope all is well with your project in the city. Thanks again for staying with us - and we look forward to your next visit.

All the best -

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As of this review, La Fortuna has 74 reviews, and they are all five star. I haven't ever seen this before, but having stayed there, I cannot think of a single reason to give it less than that. Kat and Steve are awesome hosts, SUPER nice, everyone working there are amazingly friendly. And I have to say, it's one thing to stay at a paradise hotel owned by some filthy rich person, but this is a couple of folks who bought a piece of jungle land and are pursing their dream by building it as they go. I have SO much respect for that, and you can definitely feel that it is a personal labor of love rather than just an economic venture or something.

So I have to mention this. I saw some bugs there that made me re-evaluate where all previous bugs fall on the scale of "not bug" to "bug". One morning we woke up and had a fellow hanging out in our room that was so large, I was worried perhaps there was a mix up and the room had been double-booked.

We will definitely be visiting La Fortuna again in the future if we are traveling anywhere within 8-10 hours of the area. My only regret is that we didn't have another day or two there!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your time at La Fortuna, and are happy to hear that there may be another visit in the future! We loved having you guys as guests - and really appreciate the positive feed back. Thanks again for choosing to spend your time at the lake with us, and for taking the time to review us. We wish you all the best, and hope it's not too cold up there in the damp west coast!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thought our trip last year was just about perfect, but with the addition of the hot tub and the wonderful trail to the overlook - this year's stay was over the top! Still the same lovely accommodations and gourmet food, and Kat and Steve are the most gracious hosts ever! Looking to making this an annual trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was so great having you both back a second time! You guys were one of our first clients last year, and we really hope that this becomes an annual visit! Thank you so much for the great review - and for coming to visit us again. We wish you both the best, and will wait patiently until your next visit!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna at Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.