We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See for yourself how incredible this place is....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna at Atitlan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Save
You added La Fortuna at Atitlan to your Saves list
Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“See for yourself how incredible this place is....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My curiosity about La Fortuna was piqued after noticing that 36 out of 36 of past guests reviewed and rated the retreat on Tripadvisor as being "Excellent." And after reading all the raves, each one filled with robust enthusiasm and awe of the retreat (and it´s miraculous one-man-show owner Steve) I knew I had to stay there.

High off these reviews, my friend and I booked three nights. (We ended up changing our travel plans to stay an additional night.)

La Fortuna is in its own private bay in a pristine part of the lake. While some villages have garbage and septic issues, the waters off La Fortuna´s are fresh, clean and wonderful to swim. Before coming to the lake, we assumed we would be able to swim anywhere... this is not the case!

Steve met us at the private dock, accompanied by Sydney and Sasha, his faithful canine friends. The happy welcome wagon escorted us through the gardens of La Fortuna up a hill to our wood our bungalow, a work of art that the tireless Steve built himself. Enveloped in the forest, with an enormous outdoor bathroom and shower (I took at least two showers at day ... one under the stars and one in the morning, to a soundtrack of a host of singing birds).

Our time there was spent in a truly luxurious way... swimming, reading by candlelight in the cute loft at the top of the bungalow, reading, playing with the dogs, chatting with Steve who is a wealth of knowledge and eating his delicious meals delivered to our doorstep each morning and evening... Not only did he build the bungalows but he is an accomplished chef who whips up flavorful dishes as if it´s the easiest thing in the world to do. Clearly he is passionate about what he and his wife have created in this most beautiful part of the word.

We really enjoyed every minute at La Fortuna and were very sad to leave. I can not recommend this place highly enough... and really, while we were at the lake we visited many hotels, bed and breakfasts and private house and this is where we felt most at home, most happy, most cared for. Just, go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
-Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
190
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This idyllic property was named after the Costa Rican volcano where the married owners, Steve and Kat met and I really hope it is their La Fortuna. When I realized Steve was there sans Kat, running the show on his own, I was triply impressed. Not a single detail has been missed at this stunning property. Steve knows guest services. You would pay two-to-three times the price for anything even remotely similar in luxury and service anywhere else on Lake Atitlan.

This is a gorgeous treat for anyone staying here and Steve, after 13 years of experience as a chef and another four as a guide in Central America, knows everything about how to make his guests feel pampered and about how to serve cuisine that is both delicious and beautiful (not to mention grown organically and fairly).

Steve is about the nicest person you will ever meet and without even asking, he ensures that every guest is taken care of in every way possible. His background has given him a keen sense of what his guests want to experience on their trip to Atitlan and he finds a way to recommend and provide what each unique visitor is searching for. Nice work, Steve.

All four bungalows are beautiful, with a special nod to the lakefront bungalow. The staff are excellent and very well treated by the owners. La Fortuna could not be a better choice. Stay here. Your trip to Guatemala will be enriched.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" or lakeside bungalow truly has the world's best bathroom. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Steve is really glad you enjoyed your time at La Fortuna, and his meals. We hope that the rest of your time in Central America is wonderful - and that you enjoy the rest of your time at the lake. It means a lot to us, that you took the time to review us and let people know about your experience. Safe travels, and hopefully we will see you again.

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Intricate woodwork, lush gardens and careful planning of this ecological resort are a few words that come to mind when describing La Fortuna. It is truly an exclusive getaway far from the hectic buzz of city life. Steve and staff are attentive, helpful and offer exceptional customer service. I recommend La Fortuna for anyone searching for the perfect 'eco-destination'.

Room Tip: Suite 1 has the best view : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It was such a pleasure finally meeting you and your husband. We are so happy that your wedding went smoothly in Antigua, and that you chose to spend part of your honeymoon with us at La Fortuna. We wish you both the best in your new life together, and hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience, while highlighting some of Steve's successes at the lake. We really are so happy for the two of you.

Thank you! Come back soon!

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

incredible cozy , well attended and heavenly , will come back very very soon. food was amazing , steve was all over the place to see us well served and taken care of . exelent rest and exelent nature walks .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and positive feedback. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your sister and brother-in-law. We hope that your close proximity will bring you back again soon. Thank you so much.

Steve & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Fortuna for a week over our honeymoon. We had an incredible time. I will kind of walk you through our stay... You pull up to Potzisotz and immediately began to see the incredible craftsmanship and attention to detail that Kat and Steve have put into their place. The entire resort is tucked away in a little bay on the lake with stunning 360 degree views. The beauty continues inside the bungalows where Steve's craftsmanship really shines. There is an incredible outdoor bathroom in each bungalow... need I say more. More than likely before you step off the dock, you will be greeted by Steve and his two amazing dogs. Steve does an incredible job of making you feel at home, catering to your every need. Once you have settled in, you will find a dinner menu for that night waiting for you on the front porch. Steve will take your order and proceed to deliver you amazing meals, night after night. He makes a great breakfast as well! The whole experience feels very luxurious all while being tucked into the rain forest on the side of a lake surrounded by volcanoes... (if that doesn't do it for you, I don't know what will). All in all, we had an amazing week. We were able to get around the whole lake and see some incredible sights, and then come home to our bungalow and do some serious relaxing. Thanks Steve for an amazing week!

Room Tip: At the moment there are 4 bungalows to choose from. Bungalow #1 has the amazing views of the lake; h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you guys so much for your review. We are so happy that you spent part of your honeymoon with us. It was a real pleasure having you both as guests, and the doggies miss you terribly. We hope the rest of your time in Central America was wonderful, and thank you for such a glowing review. Steve does work very hard to make sure guests feel right at home. Thank you again for taking the time to review us, and sharing your positive experience. We hope to see you again.

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at La Fortuna for three nights in January. We had planned to stay for two, but loved it so much we had to stay another night. The setting and grounds were gorgeous. The bungalow was beautifully made and one of the most unique places we have ever slept. The food was fantastic, and Steve could not have been a better host. It was truly a wonderful experience -- luxurious and relaxing.

We loved the spicy chickpeas. Steve even provided us with a care package of them for our trip home. We would love to know how to make them so that we can remember our vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the awesome review. Steve said to drop him an email at www.lafortunaatitlan.com, and he will give you the recipe for the chickpeas. We are so glad that you had a great time - and thank you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully we will see you again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing. From the moment you pull up into the "Bay of the Bats", as the local Mayan call it; you know you are in for an adventure. Dont worry, it is just a name for the shape of the mountains surrounding the hotel.
The cabins are super luxurious and nicely designed. They are build with exotic hardwoods and bamboo, and have nice designer touches all around. Steve you host is most accommodating and will make you feel like you are hanging out with an old friend. If you want privacy, he will just disappear into the jungle until you need him:) The food is fresh and healthy, and you can request your own favorites if you have a hunger for something special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your postive feed back. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at La Fortuna. Thank you for helping us make our business a success. We have been so lucky having such great clients. We hope to see you again soon.

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna at Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.