We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Casa Rosa Hotel to your Saves list
La Casa Rosa Hotel
A orilla del lago, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not family friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were very excited to stay in this hotel based on other reviews and the web site. unfortunately we felt mislead once we arrived and realized that it was not the family friendly environment that was claimed. no were for kids to play. we felt like we were being nickel and dimed at ever moment. they charge for everything, even use of the sauna and wifi (by the hour)... the rooms were not kept clean and the drains clogged. If you are trying to have a nice family vacation, do not consider this hotel. It is more of a hostel type dynamic. single travellers may prefer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
40
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here late February 2013. We read all the reviews so we were incredibly excited to visit. The grounds are lovely and the view from the restaurant beautiful....But the room!! We were with our younger children, so we needed a larger room. Rosa showed us a room upstairs (I was shocked, & not in a good way). We ended up choosing a bungalow, as it was bigger, but really gritty! We killed ten spiders, and I cleaned up lots of cobwebs. The curtains were so old and need to be thrown away. The bathroom...UGH! Looks like it hadn't been cleaned in months!! The rooms are a cross between a youth hostel and camping!! We had intended to stay for two or three nights, but hubby was so mad, we told Rosa we were leaving the next day. As we were sleeping (everyone slept in their day clothes & didn't use the shower) bugs were crawling up the bed. This was one of the most uncomfortable nights we've ever had. We contemplated sleeping in the open air restaurant, (as we didn't want to sleep in that room),
but it was so cold, also they took the cushions up overnight! Within a few minutes in the room I had been bitten, all over my legs, but was told by Rosa & her daughter that they don't have mosquitoes (with an attitude...strange) they did give us something to get rid of whatever it was that bite me. I felt bad, but was confused as to how they thought this was up to standard. We are not hard to please, but when travelling we definitely need clean accommodations. This place needs some TLC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Please note the definition of 'niggardly' is extreme stinginess. There is NO racial connotation associated with it. Now the review:

We stayed here in late March and were quite disappointed with the accommodations. The property is in need of renovation. Lighting in the room was dim and not even a desk fan was provided for cooling the room. One of the towels was so cheap, the lint covered our kids as we dried them off. I also killed four spiders in the room during our stay. But the real turn off of this hostel was the management. One night we decided to bring our own bottle of rum to the bar to enjoy. When the owner's daughter saw it she said she would have to charge us a 100 Q corkage fee (expensive at 7.5Q to 1 USD, but fair enough as I know some restaurants charge this type of fee). But when we decided to enjoy our rum in our room instead of at the bar, and asked for limes, we were told that 'she needed it for the guests' (hence the use of the word 'niggardly'). Now, understand we were staying at this hostel, so I presume that qualifies us as guests, too. After that we decided to spend our money for food and drink at another, MUCH nicer property two doors away- La Iguana Perdida. The overall environment was more enjoyable and the owners very friendly, customer service-oriented. Granted, the views from the restaurant and deck of La Casa Rosa are beautiful, but it is the same view for ALL properties facing the lake. Don't be fooled by all the 'great' reviews of this property like how we were fooled. If you are a backpacker accustomed to basic, grungy accommodations, you will love this place. But if you prefer a more refined hotel experience you will be sorely disappointed. A word to the wise- bring a flashlight because at night it is very dark when walking on the piers and wooden paths over the water. Also, bring some pajamas as the nights do get cold at the lake.

Room Tip: Stay at La Iguana Perdida and ask for the 'Atitlan' room...wow what a view from the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is not a hotel. It is a hostel with a website that is totally misleading. The rooms were not at all what we expected. They were dirty, dingy and very uncomfortable and small. The only good part is that the restaurant faces the water. Also do not bring small kids here. You have to get on a boat to get to the place, off load on two planks over the water, and it is not child safe at all. Stressed me out with my two year old. It also offers a very limited menu and if not for the great next door hostel we would have been so bored with the food. I will NEVER stay in this place again. If not for the spectacular lake we had a miserable experience and left early. There are so many options on the lake that are better including the Iguana Perdida hostel owned by British couple. Do not be misled by the pictures and the price. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Of all the hotels in Santa Cruz on Lago Atitlan, Casa Rosa has one of the best views of the lake and of the volcanoes on the opposite side. We had planned on staying at Isla Verde on the other side of the village, but they were fully booked by the time we made enquiries so we booked Casa Rosa instead. Happily Casa Rosa's lakeside restaurant view (great sunset!) and chill out areas were the best we could find which made for a very pleasant three night stay. One can easily visit Isla Verde's excellent restaurant as well as a few others, which is good as Casa Rosa has a somewhat limited menu and the time between ordering and eating can be long.

Room Tip: Highly recommended are Casa Rosa's cosy bungalows which are nestled in the beautiful garden. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlinton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want a US style 5 star location, don't even bother coming here. If you are looking for a place that is different, one that embodies local flavor, and friendly people, then maybe this is the place for you. I have met so many Gringos here that have come here and gave it all up to stay. If you visit here you may understand what made them stay.
I'm traveling with my college aged son and we are taking his spring break here, nothing new for him. He spent a gap year here, several years ago, and has returned time and again. He wanted to show me why he loves Guatemala. I'm starting to get it.
We are currently spending some time at the La Casa Rosa Hotel at the lake. I'm retired, and am some 300 pages into a book I'm writing, not reading. The natural beauty of this place inspires me. I sit on the veranda at the main house, with a nice rum, listen to music, and write. We've been, by boat taxi, to San Pedro where I've met even more transplants, from all over the world. Some are Brits, others from Denmark, or Germany, and, yes, some Americans, too.
The thing these people have in common is a desire to live the life style here, not change it to some Western idea of the good life. I can dig, man. Maybe you can too. Don't become an "ugly American" and find the shortcomings, learn something of their life.
Rosa's place is ideal for this type of transformation. Rosa herself is a wonderful story. If you come here, talk to her and her daughter, Nicole. Have a spirit of adventure? Then do it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a beautiful restaurant bar. I recommend at least one cocktail at sunset on the deck, or coffee in the morning. Once you settle in you won't want to get up. Nichole and Rosa are wonderful, friendly, and gracious.

Room Tip: watch out for scorpions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Rosa Hotel

Address: A orilla del lago, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosa Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Rosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.