We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great small hotel on Lake Atitlan!!
Pros:
No TV, radio, alarm clock.... very rustic (if that is what you want) but very clean
Great variety of food
Excellent walking paths behind the hotel (make sure you take a map)
The shower was excellent
Amazing views!
Cons:
Rough boat trip to the resort
Better explanation of what is included and what are extras.. also a better explanation of local activities
The pool was not very clean and way too deep to use
Did not seem like there was a place to swim in the lake off the docks

Room Tip: We loved our room (quetzle)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    33
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
50
195
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It has been written by many that Lake Atitlan is one of the prettiest places on earth. Watching the sunrise kiss the tops of majestic volcanos from my balcony at the Laguna Lodge...it is hard to argue the point. My wife and I made a fairly spontaneous trip to Guatemala and had not done much homework before arriving at the Lodge. It was a truly wonderful surprise. Every detail has been considered. The decor is Perfect! It is a blend of rustic simplicity with touches of true luxury. Our room was comfortable and we also enjoyed two wonderful diners in the restaurant. Pictures can't do justice to this beautiful place or this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had the most awesome time at Laguna Lodge and environs!! I only know of few other lodges in the world that offer ONLY Vegetarian cuisine. Not only was the food scrumptious but more importantly, it was conscientious! Just for that, we are wiling to give Maya and Joffre ( the owners) ten stars!! The staff were very polite and diligent and the rooms were comfortable and with drop-dead views of Lake Atitlan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As a seasoned traveler I have stayed in some of the best hotels and resorts in the world. Laguna Lodge is a resort that really makes you feel like you're home. The attention to detail, decor elements and serene setting makes this a great escape. The staff was so incredibly kind & sweet and made me feel so special on my birthday. The rooms are beautiful and the views are just spectacular. Besides the beautiful decor I was utterly amazed by the generosity & contribution that the resort makes in the community. They host yearly trips where doctors provide free healthcare for the nearby villages. The vegetarian food is locally grown in their own garden and there's a huge focus on sustainability & recycling. Lake Atitlan is truly a magical place & Laguna Lodge is by far the best spot to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent three unforgettable days at Laguna Lodge in May 2013. Amazing place, style, tranquility. Breathtaking views to Lake Atitlan. Spacious and most stylish rooms.

A quiet, zen-like place. A true hideaway.

Most friendly and personal service. I understood that most (if not all) staff were locally recruited and trained.

Perhaps the best (organic) coffee for breakfast I have ever had accompanied with homemade bread, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Enjoyed just relaxing, walking around the trails and kayaking - and of course, swimming at Lake Atitlan. Visited several local towns by boat.

The Lodge truly follows eco and sustainable tourism principles, which is rare in today´s travel business. Really appreciated. Although I am not a vegetarian, the three day "meat-free" environment was an appreciated break and gave a pause to think my own eating habits.

The only suggestion is to have more options for the set dinner, as I don´t always feel like eating a full four course dinner late at night. Perhaps just the soup and/or salad options would have been perfect.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Since actions are louder than words, this is a video I made of our stay in Laguna Lodge, this not only shows the hotel, but also all the surroundings, the lake is clean and the water in good temperature, we went kayaking and we had a blast.
Definitely a place to visit in Guatemala and Central America.
https://vimeo.com/58071737

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We held our wedding reception here in May 2012 and were continually stunned at how helpful, thoughtful, and reliable the Laguna Lodge staff were. I would not hesitate to have an event here - if you book a few rooms you will already have half the resort to yourselves, maybe all of it depending on the day. Consider booking the entire place! There are multiple covered but open-air decks with beautiful lake views as well as several other excellent event rooms. Moving from one to another over the course of an event gives people a chance to enjoy all the unique architecture and exotic decor of the resort. The steps and paths going throughout the grounds are immaculately landscaped and are particularly jaw-dropping at night. If you want to impress family, friends, colleagues, or anyone else important to you, book here and it will be a place they will always remember.

The standard of service is exceptional and everything was very reasonably priced. They delivered exactly as promised, and they were both easy to communicate with and patient. Juan Manuel in particular had a great attitude and was helpful and professional every step of the way. Mayah deserves a great deal of credit too!

For those who don't live in Guatemala, it's challenging to know whom you can trust your most important events to, and I will say without hesitation, trust the folks at Laguna Lodge. However much you might worry about the small details, rest assured they will have already taken care of those and in order to make your event better, will be attending to ones you hadn't even thought of.

Last but not least, it is a peaceful place and great for spending an afternoon even if you're not staying there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.