We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vulcano Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vulcano Lodge
Save
You added Vulcano Lodge to your Saves list
Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Quebec Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rock Garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2006

We were introduce to this hotel by a friend. We could not beleive it. The food is the best home could food I have ever had! The place so peacefull and charming! The hosts, Terje, Monica, Alma and Oscar all great entertainers. Loved every minute of IT.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    26
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
87
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

Only able to spend one night in this oasis. The Norwegian couple who run the place are fantastic. They couldn't be more helpful. Very child friendly, because of the owners having their own children. The suite was luxurious, exceptionally clean and well appointed with magnificent views over Lake Atitlan to the volcanos - Atitlan and San Pedro. After the hustle and bustle of Panajachel and San Pedro this was just paradise. The only problem was we had to come back to Antigua after only one night. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

We spent 4 nights, including Christmas Eve and Day,
at the Vulcano Lodge in Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan.
Everything positive we had read about it on Trip
Advisor was true. Our room was large, clean,
quiet, and comfortable, with its own private balcony
for sunning and relaxing, overlooking a beautiful
view.

The owners, Terje and Monica, put such care and love
into making their lodge feel like home. Their
attention and caring for the smallest detail made
our stay there one of the nicest we have had in
all our travelling.

Meals (cooked and served by Terje) were excellent!
Purified water (or wine, cigars) readily available.
Nothing was lacking in the way of food, drink,
relaxing accomodations, and friendly warm attentiveness
from staff and owners.

From the web description about reaching Vulcano
Lodge from the boat, we had been concerned about
carrying our luggage. But the walk was very easy,
and there was assistance readily available had we
needed any.

We also LOVED their family dog, who helped make up
for missing our two on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

Seven of us spent a lovely Thanksgiving at the very tranquil Vulcano Lodge, overlooking beautiful Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. The food was excellent, the setting spectacular, the rooms very comfortable, and the Scandinavian hosts were delightful and very accommodating. The hotel is a short climb from the dock (reached by small shuttle boat from Panajachel), and despite the evidence of devastation from Hurricane Stan in many parts of the small village and surrounding area, the hotel has been almost totally restored to its former state.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

November 30, 2005

We spent a fantastic Thanksgiving at the Volcano Lodge with our entire family and a friend's family. It could not have been more perfect. The hotel's staff, in spite of being in the process of recovering from the recent mudslides which damaged and closed the hotel, pulled out all of the stops to provide a turkey dinner with all they trimmings and then joined our two families in giving thanks and in enjoying dinner.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer than our planned two days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vulcano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcano Lodge

Address: Jaibalito, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small details often make all the difference. Warmth, atmosphere, leisurely meals with delicious food and refreshing drinks. We do our very best to ensure your satisfaction and try to add that little extra... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vulcano Hotel Jaibalito
Vulcano Lodge Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulcano Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.