We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vulcano Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vulcano Lodge
Save
You added Vulcano Lodge to your Saves list
Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to Vulcano Lodge this Easter and I have to say I love it. It's a paradise, the garden so wonderful with all the cactuses and the birds, it's a great place to just relax and enjoy. And if you want to grab something to eat, the restaurant is always available, the food is delicious and the service is wonderful. The staff is all so friendly and always ready to help. I felt in love with the place and will be sure to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    27
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
91
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in April. The village of Jaibalito is beautiful and interesting. The staff at Vulcano Lodge are delightful. The rooms are spotless and charming, and the garden is an amazing work of art. We ate there most nights, and the food was great. You can also eat at Posada Jaibalita or La Casa del Mundo, so don't worry about having no restaurant choices. Boats come by every 20 minutes or so, going either toward Pana or San Pedro--it's easy to see the sights. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the chance to stay at Vulcano Lodge, and I have to say the staff is very kind and helpful. However, if I just knew about some important details, I would pick another hotel in a different area. Jaibalito is a very isolated place, there's a very small native village around the hotel, but not a chance to have a different option for dinner, and this means you have to eat what the hotel prepares for you. Food is great, but it's expensive. If you want to write a novel, that's the place to be, you are by yourself, and the "retreat" becomes difficult when you realize it's not possible to get a boat for an emergency at any time (be careful those who need regular medical assistance). You need to wait 10-30 minutes for a boat from 6 am to 6 pm. Lots of dogs at night and parties or any other activities at the village interrupt your sleep mode... a very simple improvement in the hotel rooms could help, making them noise proof. Another important detail: they don't accept credit cards, so be ready for getting cash around Lake Atitlan (something that can be a real problem). Last thing: Rooms have no A/C or fans, so be aware that summer can be really hot at night. I think it's a beautiful place to visit, but little by little, it doesn't have enough conditions for a short term stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competitor, Manager at Vulcano Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you first of all for the review, we find it very helpful here at vulcano lodge, it helps us to improve and provide a better service. Most of what you have said is true, Jaibalito is a very remote and isolated village, but we find that that is its beauty. You can listen to the birds, the kids at school, and an occasional dog at night. We have a private boat service 24hrs a day in case of any emergency. I'm sorry if we didn't explain to you that in the village there are a few other options for dinner, two with reservations like casa del mundo and club venaca and one which is a restaurant, Posada Jaibalito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Vulcano Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hosts were great, very good food, and a great location. We were able to visit other villages by foot, tuk-tuk and boat. Made for interesting adventures every day. The area is beautiful and I really enjoyed the landscaping on the facillity. We had some hiccups with the power but hey, if that bothers you why are you in Guatemala. Best visit Florida. I still want to hike the creek bed into the mountains behind the facitlity. Next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked 3 nights and stayed 6 and as we pulled away from the dock on departing day debated whether we should blow all other Guatemala plans to stay there. Rommel and Pearla were such kind, accommodating managers making sure there was a vegetarian meal for one out of 4 of us each night. They even booked private boat transportation when needed. They are such lovely hosts. Setting is lovely. Village unspoiled. We were in a 2 bed room for 4 of us and it was comfortable. I am missing the porches hammock, candle light , greenery and views of the volcanoes. Food was loaded with wonderful-perfectly cooked vegetables! Hope to come back. This is a gem and the staff make it even more special.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs as village dogs may get "talkative" at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent many hours looking at different places to stay on Lake Atitlan, and ending up at the Vulcano Lodge for four days was perfect. The hotel has plenty of space to spread out and read, enjoy a beer, or have conversations with fellow travelers. Our small group had the two rooms downstairs in the "Lodge" and the porches really made the spot special. The rooms were clean, bright, and spacious, and the porches have huge couches and comfortable chairs. Our view was lovely, with a bit of the volcano. I'm sure the upstairs rooms had an even better view.
The food was delicious. Dinners are family style, and plentiful. There are a few choices for the included breakfast. My only complaint about the breakfast is the coffee. It was too weak for my taste, which is unfortunate in a land of great coffee.
Romel and Pearla are the managers, and they were always available, and truly worked to accomodate all of our requests, from arranging transportation to recommending which villages to visit on the lake.
Jaibalito is a tiny village, with only a few hotels and no real restaurants for dinner. All serve family style with reservations only, at least for the holiday week that we were there. It was easy to hop on a lancha and visit the other villages for shopping, lunch, and lots of local culture.

Room Tip: I loved our room, #3, but the upstairs suite is definitely the room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Vulcano lodge in February 2013. Below the detailed review by topics

LOCATION: The village where the hotel is located, Jaibalito, is quiet and laid back. The hotel is some 400 meter up in a hill. In most rooms you wont have a view to the lake, but instead you will see the hotel´s nice garden. We were a bit disappointed in the beginning with the lack of view to the lake, but once we got acquainted with the hotel´s facilities and service we did not bother it at all. The village of Jaibalito has a nice restaurant in front of the lake called "Ven Aca". One can easily spend the day there - just ask the hotel staff at Vulcano lodge for directions to get there.

Jaibalito is totally the opposite of San Pedro village, the backpackers mayen. San Pedro is full of people and looks somehow beaten to a certain extent.

We also recommend a trip to village San Juan. San Juan offers good handcraf for an affordable price. Take a boat from Jaibalito for 20Q a person to get there.

ROOMS: We got a room close to the reception of the hotel. The room was spotless clean and everything worked well. There was a nice balcony with a good view to the garden.

STAFF and SERVICE: One of the highlights of the hotel. When we arrived they offered a courtesy dinner for valentines day. The food was amazing. Romel and Perla, the hotel´s main staff, made all efforts to get us very comfortable. We were introduced to other hotel´s guests and we could build a nice friendship with a Canadian couple.

VALUE FOR MONEY: At approximately 50 USD a night for a couple, I considered the hotel a very good value for your money. It feels like a boutique hotel in the 4 star range in an awesome location.

Room Tip: The hotel does have a room with like view upstairs. It is the most expensive room though, but you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vulcano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcano Lodge

Address: Jaibalito, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small details often make all the difference. Warmth, atmosphere, leisurely meals with delicious food and refreshing drinks. We do our very best to ensure your satisfaction and try to add that little extra... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vulcano Hotel Jaibalito
Vulcano Lodge Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulcano Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.