We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vulcano Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vulcano Lodge
Save
You added Vulcano Lodge to your Saves list
Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here in March for two nights. It was like a paradise with the beautiful gardens with many common areas. The food was fabulous and the staff was always helpful. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    27
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quadra Island BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Excellent place to slow down and make it your headquarters to explore the lake environment. Great staff, friendly, and helpful. The owner, Terea, has created a pleasantly landscaped hotel with great restful beds, clean rooms with hot showers. Their four course dinner menu was superb the evening we dined there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Volcano Lodge is a great place to stay both for relaxing and exploring the small villages around Lake Atitlan. The hotel is great, surrouned by an amazing garden and impressing landscape. Rooms are clean, beautiful decorated, food was excellent and the atmosphere very nice. I visited for 4 days and hope to get a opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Volcano Lodge is about a 5 min walk from the wharf and set back from the water. We stayed here during a trek/tour of lake Atitlan. As a party of 3 we had become used to having little space however our room at Volcano Lodge was v spacious, situated up the back of the property in a double story building. We had a ground floor room that looked out over the garden, which was very well kept. The balcony had several chairs and a hammock which were excellent for relaxing in the sun. We also had a nice view of the volcanoes.

The room was nicely furnished, and had several racks to hang up clothes. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Our bathroom was always stocked with fresh towels and small soaps/shampoos to use.  The shower was always hot with good water pressure, which was great after a long day of exploring the local area. 

What I loved most about Volcano Lodge was the quality of their food, it was so delicious and plentiful, they are not afraid to feed you! Our first dinner consisted of home made bread, salad, cauliflower soup, a lasagne-like bake with plenty of cooked vegetables and a delicious flan for dessert. No matter how hard we tried we just couldn't fit it in.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This gem of a lodge is reached only by boat, no cars anywhere. There are individual rooms arranged as duplexes in a landscaped setting that kept our art group painting and sketching for a week it was so beautiful. The owner, Terje Maeland, not only arranged our private transportation all week, but he or his assistant, Sofia, helped us book activities like zip lines, and even helped us get good prices at the market in Panajachel on some of our purchases. Best of all, though, was the food, prepared from fresh ingredients using recipes from Terje's family, chefs who have cooked for a season there, and those from the local queen of cuisine, Concepcion. Dinner is family style, with lively conversation, candlelight, flowers, all part of the experience. The value-to-dollar ratio is so high I can't recommend VL enough!

Room Tip: We had 12 people, and I stayed in the suite #5 near the dining room with a large veranda looking rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Initially on arrival at the dock of the small village of Jaibalito we were a little concerned that perhaps Vulcano Lodge wasn't going to be right for us. However as soon as we arrived and settled in our concerns completely disappeared. It is a little remote but that is exactly what is so lovely and peaceful about staying here. The rooms are set amongst beautiful and lovingly maintained gardens and are clean and spacious with volcano views, comfortable beds and a decent bathroom with a powerful hot shower. The food is fresh and plentiful - the fresh bread made daily is so very hard to resist and delicious. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.
A lovely place to relax with accessibility to the other islands and a variety of day trips and activities. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon Territory
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are looking for an isolated experience on Lake Atitlan Terje and his staff at Vulcano Lodge in Jaibalito will provide the perfect environment for you. Jaibilito is a twenty minute ride on one of the local launchas from Panajachel. Local kids will meet the boat and help you with your luggage up the cobblestone path to the gated entrance onto the property. You then climb another hundred yards through cactus and floral gardens to the office, which is at the back of the communal dining room. On the way up you will have passed several of the gardened duplex accommodations, each with outside patios with chairs and a side table, the perfect place to enjoy a ron y Coke at the end of the day as you wait for dinner, At the top of the walk is a four-plex, the upper two of which provide the best view of the lake. I had the opportunity to visit several of the suites and all were roomy and equally well appointed. The lower duplexes apparently were noisier due to their proximity to the school but the guests residing there only commented, not complained.

Once you have checked in, you will never have to identify yourself again. We never signed for anything; all drinks and meals were automatically (and correctly) assigned to us. Breakfast and lunch are from an adequate menu but dinners are fixed and by reservation. All meals were excellent, well prepared and neither too spicy nor too bland. Every dinner had a soup and salad and all vegetables were stated to be washed and "disinfected."

Wi-fi Internet is available but works best from the dining patio.

Terje even assisted in arranging private transportation from Panajachel directly to the airport in Guatemala City, even including making sure we caught the correct launcha. The best example of Terje's attention to his guests was when the driver of the taxi received a cell phone call for me from Terje informing me that I had overpaid my bill and he would take care of the correction. (His assistant had neglected to subtract my deposit from my final bill.)

In summary our experience at Vulcano Lodge was nearly perfect in a beautiful setting in an incredible part of Guatemala. I would recommend the facility to anyone who is looking for great accommodation in an isolated environment.

Room Tip: Upper rooms in the four-plex give the best lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vulcano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcano Lodge

Address: Jaibalito, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small details often make all the difference. Warmth, atmosphere, leisurely meals with delicious food and refreshing drinks. We do our very best to ensure your satisfaction and try to add that little extra... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vulcano Hotel Jaibalito
Vulcano Lodge Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulcano Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.