We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and view of the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and view of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Mundo for 4 nights. We stayed in two rooms due to availability, and both rooms had amazing views of the lake. This hotel really does have the most amazing view of the volcano across the lake. The family style dining was delicious and it was lovely dining with other guests staying at the hotel. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and a fantastic location. We received exceptional service from 'Juan' during our stay. His friendliness, and helpfulness deserves a mention in this review. The owners should be happy to know the hotel guests are in good hands with Juan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    54
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
189
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent New Year’s Eve at La Casa del Mundo Hotel. It a very nice hotel, clean and well maintained. The hotel is on Lake Atitlan in Jabilito village. The only access from San Pedro, where we were based, is by public (25Q or $3.5/person) or by private boat. The boats drop you off at Casa Mundo’s private dock. The hotel it’s self is located up steep stairs. There is a sun bathing swimming patio directly on the lake. It a 15 minute walk in to Jabilito. We ate one lunch and one dinner. The food was very good. Breakfast is included. The service was good the waiters were much more responsive to our needs than most places in the Lake Atitlan area. They have free Wi-Fi with a good signal. Since we stayed during New Year’s we paid US$85/night, which is expensive for the area. They only take cash and I’m not sure if Jabilito has an ATM so bring cash. Beautiful setting. When we we were there in Jan the weather was sunny with highs in the 70's and low in the 50's (F).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went here for breakfast so can not say anything about the hotel. Lovely setting, access by boat. VERY good breakfast on a terrace overlooking lake Aititlan. Stay for a swim and sunbathing in a very peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Certainly some of the best views of Atitlan, packaged with great service and charm. Our room (number 12) was a cute as could be, with it's handmade decoration, hammock, and balcony. My only word of very minor caution is that there are a lot of stairs, so be sure you're in acceptable condition for "hiking" around the hotel. :)

We would stay here again in an instant, and in fact are already contemplating a return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is just breathtaking.... Stayed 3 nights, you cannot underestimate the view of the volcanoes from your cabin window. Amazing! They have a communal dining option which you should do every night anyway. The food is very tasty and it is a good chance to meet other travellers. The breakfast menu was also very good. Factor in that you will probably end up spending a fair bit of money on drinks and meals if the room price seems good value. You'll end up spending double your accommodation cost, but completely worth it while you sip on cocktails and watch the sun set over the lake and volcanoes. Staff are very helpful, professional and friendly. Follow all the good reviews advice and stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel a few years ago after several recommendations from Peace Corps friends living in the area. This was a fantastic and peaceful retreat after a long summer of working in Guatemala. Though the sun never came out during my 4-day stay, it was still such a magical place. (I did wake up before dawn one day in the hopes of seeing the sun rise over the lake and volcanoes but only caught a glimpse of sunlight. Still pretty amazing and something I'd recommend especially if you are visiting outside of rainy season!)

The food was excellent and I really enjoyed the communal dining. The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. I loved being able to swing around in the hammocks and explore the multiple terraces of the property. Unfortunately it was too cold to swim when I was there but it was certainly tempting. All in all I would highly recommend this place - in all my travels this ranks among the best accommodations I've experienced.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Casa del Mundo is perched up above Lake Atitlan. The property is beautiful!! The view is incredible! I wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed a community style dinner with other guests. The rooms all seem to have great views. The rooms are certainly not deluxe, but comfy.
Reserving the hot tub for an after dinner soak is a must.
Also, ask about hiring a boat to take you to the area where you can leap off a deck into the lake below. Our family loved doing this.
Getting to the hotel was definitely a challenge. We drove all around Guatemala. The road we took to get there was so bumpy and narrow, but the scenery and culture along the way was fun. By the time we go there though, I was ready to not drive again for a while! You can only get to the hotel by a boat. Look into all of the details before you go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.