We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot away from the average towns of lake atitlan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Save Saved
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely spot away from the average towns of lake atitlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights in room 12. Really nicely located about 10 to 15 mins from "Pana". Nothing really around it, so you are going there for the isolation and quiet but are well catered for in terms of food and drink. Food was excellent inc veggie options for my girlfriend. Meals were excellent value. room 12 was good with an excellent indoor hammock. Balcony was disappointing in this room as it was tiny, and doesnt make the best of the lake view. Overall however really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are glad to hear about your experience at La Casa del Mundo, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, the rooms, and the natural surroundings. It was a pleasure to hear from you and hope to see you soon here at the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    53
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
180
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. Rooms lovely and clean. I have a neck problem and could have used a better pillow. That said, I didn't ask for a different one which I am sure they would have given me. Staff friendly and attentive - even charming! Balcony views spectacular - otherworldly. Grounds gorgeous and pristine. There are many steep steps to get to your room - a possible problem for those not in good shape. There are hammocks to relax in, the lake to swim in. We didn't use hot tub or kayaks but they are available. One of the conveniences is the boats come by every half hour making it easy to get to Panajchel, the main town and to the other villages on that side of the lake. Dinner is served at a communal table which was an opportunity to compare notes with other travelers. Breakfast food was terrific but dinner food a disappointment. Only gripe is one of the desk staff members, who shall remain nameless, came to my room asking for an extra tip and asked me not to tell management about it. Luckily I only had a small amount of money to give him which I later regretted - it sullied the experience for me.
Have no hesitation about staying here. It was grand.

Room Tip: I was in room 15 which was great but am quite sure the others were great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we love hearing about our guests experiences and their time at La Casa del Mundo. We are happy to hear that you had a great time exploring and enjoying the beautiful balcony views. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t like our dinners, if possible could you let us know which dinner you had? We are doing our best to better our dinners and your feedback would be very helpful. Also we are very astonished about the incident with the tip requested by one of our staff members, I would like to apologize and hope this didn’t damage your view of the hotel, if possible could you tell us who it was that asked for the extra tip? We have a tip system at the hotel where all our employees receive a tip at the end of the month, and we encourage our staff members NOT to ask for any tips directly from our guests; at the hotel our customer service is very important and knowing who it was will help us better our service. We would appreciate if you could send us any feedback from these two incidents to the managers email address casamundo@gmail.com. Thank you! And we hope to see you soon here at the La Casa del Mundo, take care!!

Sincerely,
William Fogarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me start out by saying I am more of a "backpacker/hostel" kind of traveler and not used to accommodations this nice. When given the chance I generally prefer clean cheap and spartan. That said, this place is wonderful. Reading some of the reviews, it seems some folk expect to be "pampered" While it is not that type of luxury resort, they really really do go out of their way to accommodate you in every area. The rooms are immaculate, water is hot, the food is great, the service is friendly, responsive, and amazingly helpful. The views of the azure/emerald lake, the low clouds, the volcanos the roosters in the morning all combine to create a sense of awe, if not humility and worship, if i can be so bold
We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed immensely the group dinners. It brought back memories of interacting with interesting people from around the world. The staff seem to delight in accommodating butchered/incipient Spanish but will immediately switch to fluent English if you are stuck. They took us on short notice after a disaster in panajachel (there is nothing there worth spending more than 30 mins), and restored my sense of wonder at the lake, flora, culture, and mountains I remembered from hitchhiking through Guatemala 35 years ago. My wife was enchanted and delighted.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time at the hotel and that our staff took really good care of you. We love hearing from our guests and their amazing stories. We are glad that you had a great time at our family style dinners sharing and talking to other guests and that you had a great time relaxing and enjoying the hotel. Thank you for visiting us, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Awesome location with breathtakinmg views of Lake Atitlan and numerous volcanoes. Brunch was included here on our land excursion with 15 day Pincess Panama Canal transit cruise. Food was excellent including deserts and beverages. If at all possible take a tour of the lake with one of the local boat operators, a photographers' dream.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had a great time at the hotel and that you enjoyed the food and the natural surroundings of Lake Atitlán. We are happy to hear that you had a great time on your boat ride seeing the scenery and taking beautiful pictures. Thank you for the wonderful review and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having backpacked around Central America, La Casa del Mundo was an amazing place to just relax on an amazing lake with spectacular views. The communal dinners are great and really good for socialising (and picking up tips about where to travel next!). Tip with the dinners that no one seemed to realise is that you don't have to have all courses (which is quite a lot of food), and can just ask for a few of the courses, a lot cheaper.
This place overall is great value. If you fill out the survey online you can get a freebie - we rented kayaks for an hour and went around the hotel. The lowers balcony levels of the hotel were actually flooded during the earthquake so it actually an interesting place to kayak and snorkel around.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, but obviously still fairly basic in comparison to say a city hotel. This is a place to come to if you are looking for that type of holiday - don't expect air con!
Overall our time was spectacular. We actually left our gopro at the hotel when we moved on, and the staff managed to send it to us to another area of Guatemala, which I think just shows the level of service and helpfulness you can expect.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment! We are glad to hear that you had a great time at the hotel enjoying the natural surroundings, the food, and sharing and talking with guest at our family style dinners. We are really happy to hear that our staff took really good care of you and helped you retrieve your GoPro; it was a pleasure to have you at the hotel and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel location is amazing, the views spectacular, and the food delicious. We were initially unsure about the boat ride to the hotel, but quickly found out that it was inexpensive and easy. We also were unsure about the group dinners, but also found those to be delicious and a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time at the hotel enjoying the views and sharing and talking with guests during our family style dinners! We are glad that our staff was friendly and that they took good care of you. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you here at La Casa del Mundo soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

View and location can't be beat. Staff were very pleasant, helpful when asked, and tried hard. The food was more than adequate but not great. I found breakfast better than dinner. I'm not a fan of a fixed time to eat dinner and "family style". There is somewhat a sense of "nickle and diming" for items - even for what are usually typical services. "Sure, we'll be happy to clean your room, if you ask us!" For the prices, including accommodation and food, more services and flexibility should be offered, not simply delivered when requested. For an interesting food and drink option, you can walk a 100 m along the shore to Club Ven Aca. All of food, drink, and atmosphere were good, although I found the much lauded Jaibalito Mojito overrated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
“Very Nice - but not Outstanding”

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and the natural surroundings of Lake Atitlán and that our staff took really good care of you! I’m sorry to hear about the food, being isolated makes it a little harder to prepare dinner, which is why we can’t offer many options; but we are working with a new chef to better this service for all of our guests. We have kept the “family style dinners” because we always get good comments about it, guests love sharing and talking with other guests about their experiences. About our food we are very well known for our breakfasts and have constant groups coming to the hotel; we are categorized as one of the best restaurants for breakfast around the lake, and we would truly appreciate it if you could give us more feedback regarding our food and what exactly you didn’t like? Regarding the “cleaning of the room” we ask our guests’ everyday if they want their rooms cleaned or if they need anything in their rooms; we do it this way because our guests prefer that we ask them for permission before we enter their rooms and we like respecting our guests privacy. Thank you for your recommendation and comments, we hope to see you at La Casa del Mundo soon!

Sincerely,

William Fogarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.