We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the best for my First review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna | Accesible Solo en Lancha, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Saved the best for my First review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

An incredibly amazing place! By far my favorite weekend spend during my month in Guatemala! It has the most breathtaking views and the pictures on their website doesn't even do the views justice. It is rare to have a website that shows the rooms and views just as they are once you get there but this was even MORE incredible. The staff are super friendly. The food was INCREDIBLE, fresh, clean, and so delicious and healthy! Some may say that a downside is that you have little flexibility in where you want to eat dinner considering that the hotel is a good 20 min boat ride from the main town but I wouldn't have wanted to eat anywhere else! I still miss the food and the views. My only complaint is that are are bugs and the windows do not have screens so just make sure to bring bug spray. I am an extraordinarily picky traveler and have very particular taste but this place was simply stunning and incredible. I recommend it to anyone going to Lake Atitlan.

Room Tip: Look at the room options on the website before choosing one- they give good descriptions and have gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jess, we love the title on your review!! Thank you for this wonderful review and we are glad that our staff took really good care of you; we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, our food and the beautiful views of Lake Atitlán. We apologize for the inconvenience with the screens, but we would like to let you know that we have screens in all the windows of our rooms now. We hope you are doing well and hope to see you soon here at La Casa del Mundo again! Take care!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    62
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
66
211
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although we've lived in Guatemala and been to Lake Atitlan several times, we'd never stayed at L Casa del Mundo. Now I know what we missed. Superbly trained and attentive staff, mind boggling views, wonderful food (especially the evening family style meal where we met many interesting new friends), and great/free wi-fi across the property. We used the wood fired hot tub one night under a full moon -- fabulous. We also rented the hotel boat one day for a three hour trip to Santiago which was enjoyable. Seeing we had our own boat, we swung by the Posada de Santiago for a great lunch, then back for some quality hammock time. I highly recommend this hotel -- take my word you're going to love it. My only footnote is the hotel is built up alongside a steep mountain. You don't have to be an athlete to negotiate the many steps, but it is a consideration if you're not reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Our party stayed in rooms 15 and 17 -- both are close to the main house and have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at our family style dinners meeting new people and that you had amazing time at our fire wood heated hot tub. Thank you for sharing this amazing review, we will let our staff know about the wonderful things you said so they can see the wonderful job they do. We are glad to know that you had a good relaxing time at Lake Atitlán resting in hammocks and visiting Santiago Atitlán. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon at La Casa del Mundo again. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in (Room 12) but having to climb 163 steps from the jetty was challenging but it did keep our fitness levels up. We tried the hot tub and would recommend it to anyone, situated right by the lake and the water is heated by a wood stove situated in the tub itself. One minor challenge was the family dinners, OK but menu was non-optional and timings are fixed. As the hotel is so remote there are no alternatives unless you eat your main meal during the day.

Room Tip: Great views from Room 12 with beautiful furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for you review, we are very happy to hear that you loved room #12 and that you enjoyed your time at the hot tub. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great time at our dinners, but being located far away from the villages it’s harder to server dinners in a different way. We will keep this in mind thought, for the future. We are glad you had a great stay and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I am trying to curb my superlatives here, but this is really a special place.

First you travel to the shores of Lake Atitlan (Panajachel town is a fun, touristy place, full of back-packers, smoothies, and tie-dye t-shirts). Then you get a skiff-taxi to take you onto the lake.

Lake Atitlan is jewel-toned, volcano-rimmed, and full of legends.

The hotel is a dozen or so individual cabanas built stair-step up the mountain side, filled with local artisanry and surrounded by green. Take a moment to realize the complex beauty of the gardens.

Visitors share a meal and conversation at a long table - I recommend the hot tub (fueled by wood) in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Lake Atitlán and that you enjoyed our gardens and the surrounded scenery of Lake Atitlán. We are also glad to hear that you had a great time in the hot tub as well as sharing and talking with fellow guests. We hope to see you soon at Lake Atitlán and La Casa del Mundo! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St jean sur Richelieu
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a beautiful place!!! This beauty of a hotel is just spectacular! Our room 17 was facing the 2 volcanoes and sunrises and sunsets are just breathtaking! We found everything here to be just right, not overdone and the staff here was really nice. Dinner is served for everyone at the same extended table so exchanges with other travellers is very interesting. The food is of high quality , always with the guatemalan flavor!! Just great! Breakfast in front of the lake and the volcanoes and a beautiful sunny morning,,,,can you just see it? I will never forget it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review, we enjoyed reading your comments and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time enjoying the scenery of Lake Atitlán and sharing with fellow guests at our family style dinners. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is such a special hotel. Lake Atitlan is stunning, but this was the best place we stayed around the lakes (in fact the best place in Guatemala). We found San Pedro a bit grubby, and San Marcos way too weird!

We loved: how peaceful it was, the service, the food was some of the best on our trip, value for money, the beautiful clear lake water for jumping in, stunning views of Lake Atitlan, staying in room number 12 with the hammock across the room and views of sunrise and sunset, group dinners, the weather was the best we had in all Guatemala, the gorgeous cats who will lie in a hammock with you, and the jacuzzi / swimming pool bar two doors down from here - Club Ven Aca - where you can spend the afternoon enjoying a few beers and jumping in and out of the pool, no fee just buy a few drinks, it was fantastic.

Just a few things to note:

if you want to explore the rest of the lakes it is a bit far away from everywhere and there didn't seem to be anything in Jaibalito. You can visit the other places on day trips, but it's quite good combining this place with a stay elsewhere so you can do a few more activities and explore some more, although I wouldn't know where to recommend as we didn't love anywhere as much as here.

Budget for 10-15% tip on top of your whole bill at the end, it didn't matter to us and was definitely worth it, but if you were on a tighter budget and this was your 'splurge' place then it would be good to take that into account. It would also be great if they accepted card so you didn't have to worry about it at the end of your stay, so don't forget to go to the cash point at Pana before you get on the boat.

Thanks so much for having us, one day we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Room 12, like everyone else says, is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We loved reading your review and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the hotel and Lake Atitlán, doing a little bit of everything. We are very glad that you had a wonderful time in room #12 and that you enjoyed resting in your hammock enjoying the scenery of Lake Atitlán. Thank you for this wonderful comment and we will take your suggestions into consideration. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night as the hotel was booked fully the next day for the wedding. However, even for that 1 night, we were able to appreciate how special that place is. The location and the views are amazing. The design and the layout of this place are sight to behold. We stayed in the room #10 which was very nice with great views of all three volcanoes. The dinner part was a pleasant surprise - I guess it all depends who you end up dining with. We had a great company and spent the evening drinking and having a good time. By the way, the food was pretty good. All in all, this was the best place we stayed in Guatemala and, come to think of it, one of the best we've ever stayed at in general.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time in room #10 and that you enjoyed the family style dinners with fellow guests. Thank you for considering us as one of the best places you have stayed in and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna | Accesible Solo en Lancha, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 19 Rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.