We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Save Saved
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Pretty special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night as the hotel was booked fully the next day for the wedding. However, even for that 1 night, we were able to appreciate how special that place is. The location and the views are amazing. The design and the layout of this place are sight to behold. We stayed in the room #10 which was very nice with great views of all three volcanoes. The dinner part was a pleasant surprise - I guess it all depends who you end up dining with. We had a great company and spent the evening drinking and having a good time. By the way, the food was pretty good. All in all, this was the best place we stayed in Guatemala and, come to think of it, one of the best we've ever stayed at in general.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time in room #10 and that you enjoyed the family style dinners with fellow guests. Thank you for considering us as one of the best places you have stayed in and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    53
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
180
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A friend who has lived in Antigua for 14 years recommended Casa Mundo. We checked it out and it looked fine on the Web. I called and talked with them and found their Spanish and English excellent.

We stayed in one suite and 2 standard rooms - we extended our stay two times. Suites are great for us - a little more spacious room, but standard rooms are also clean and well kept. Would highly recommend it to a friend.

There are a lot of steps, but they will gladly take your luggage from the dock up to your room. Give them a quick call when you arrive and they will be there.

Hugo is very knowledgable of the area and helped many of the guests with questions from hiking to ferry trips to things to do in nearby towns to...... His English is outstanding!

We will definitely stay here on our next visit. I will just book the room well in advance. It is difficult one room for more than 2 or 3 nights unless you book well in advance. We only had two weeks to set it up.

The lack of credit card acceptance is a little hassle, but you can pay some in advance to get it out of your pocket. There are ATM's within 30 minutes or so. We found ourselves there anyway for something about every day.

I asked to use a kayak early one morning to paddle out for a different view of the sun rise. They met me at the dock at 6:15 with all of the gear ready - great service for me.

Good luck with your choice!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are very happy to hear from you and to hear that you had a wonderful time at the hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff helped you everything and that you enjoyed our suites and standard rooms. Thank you for visiting us! And we will let Hugo know about your wonderful comments. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Words cannot even begin to describe the experience of a stay at Casa Del Mundo.
The attention to detail is astounding. Every nook and cranny is filled with something to see or a space to relax. Never mind the endless views!
The food is great, service spectacular.
We spent 4 nights here and definitely could have spent 2 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are very happy to hear that you had a great time exploring the property, enjoying the views, the service and the food. It makes us very happy to read reviews like this one; we will let our staff know about your review so they can see the wonderful job they do. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful spot to stay that is tucked into the side of a mountain with gorgeous vistas everywhere you look, Casa del Mundo is your place. Their staff is incredibly helpful and patient and definitely go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Each room is unique, comfortable, and boasts a beautiful view of Lake Atitlan.

We recently had our wedding at Casa del Mundo and cannot rave enough about the wonderful experience we had. They were far more than accomodating, patient, understanding, creative, etc. etc.

Casa del Mundo is truly unlike any other place I've ever stayed. It is gorgeous AND eco-friendly!! They are totally afforable and make it a home away from home. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are very happy to hear from you and we really appreciate you review on TripAdvisor. We are truly happy to hear that you had a great time at the hotel, and that everything was perfect with your wedding. It makes us very happy to know that you would consider us a “home away from home”. Thank you again for the wonderful review; and we wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am from Guatemala, so i ve been several times in the area, my first in Jaibalito, and i would not stay somewhere else from now on in Atitlan. All the rooms have amazing view of the volcanos so sunrise, sunset in your window is amazing. The service is perfect, kind, and efficiant. The food is delicious and good price. Casa del mundo encourages the villages, and ecological ways in the area. The breakfast with a view, and has guatemalteco recipes, supper was very good, tasty, but i was reading someone stating will be good guatemalan food, good suggestion.
The only thing was not always as nice is the one table in evening time since you dont feel like chatting all the time with other turists, but then again would not stop me from return at these beautifull hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We were very happy and it put a smile on our faces when we read the title on your review “simply the best place for Atitlan”; we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the hotel, enjoying the food, the views, and the scenery around the lake. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the family style dinners every night, but being located far from other villages makes it a little hard to serve dinner in a different way. We will keep your suggestion in mind for the future. We hope to see you soon, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is simply breathtaking, waking up in the morning to that view is amazing. Beautifully kept property and lovely areas to relax. Water is cold but refreshing. Staff very helpful.

You can walk to the other villages, bit of tough work but a boat is also available and very cheap. The breakfasts are A-grade. The dinner was probably the only thing that wasn't as amazing as everything else, I thought the food was OK but not outstanding, and the one table thing is a bit annoying if you have some loud guests! But given the location you don't have much choice but to eat dinner there. But the view...wow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views around the hotel, breakfast and relaxing around the property. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the dinners, but being located far from the other villages makes a little hard to serve dinner in a different way. We apologize for the noise of the other guests at dinner and we will keep this in mind for the future. We wish you the best and hope we can see you soon here at La Casa del Mundo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Incredibly beautiful, like a labyrinth with a great surprise after each corner, great views, great rooms. Maybe it´s even too perfect:) It´s highly adjusted to tourists' taste, so maybe the only thing i would change is to make the menu a bit more Guatemalteco and a bit less US/european style.

It´s located in a marvelous place, very calm and reserved, still you can easily reach other villages around the lake by public boasts, especially if you´re not afraid of the sea (I really mean "sea", not "lake", since it really looks like sea in the afternoons).

We spent there 3 nights but we would definitely stay longer, if we had more time.
Great value for the money.

Room Tip: We took one of the cheapest rooms with private bathroom, nr 18. it is not big, but really beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review, we are happy to hear that you had a great time relaxing at the hotel and enjoying the surrounding villages. We also enjoyed reading your quote “maybe it’s too perfect”, which put a smile on our faces, specially knowing you had a great time. We also appreciate your suggestion on our menu and we will keep it in mind. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.