We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Suite room 20 which although was a bit small was an amazing room. Please note this hotel has many many steps and might not be ideal for people with physical impairments. Make sure and reserve the hot tub it is an unforgettable experience. The meal was good but know that it is served at a big table with the rest of the guests so if you don't want to get to know the rest of the tenants don't eat dinner here. Renting private boats to bring you back at night is extremely easy. The scenery is well worth the money. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the hot tub and scenery at La Casa del Mundo. It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    52
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
176
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

All good things mentioned in other reviews are true. Our five day stay at La Casa Del Mundo was the highlight of our Guatemala trip. Lovely views, sunsets, meals, staff, owners, rooms, and grounds. A great place for interaction with other guests enjoying this fantastic place. Made many new friends. The owners gave us what turned out be the best onward travel advice we had during our trip. The staff was very helpful in making phone calls for us to secure our next set of travel accommodations overcoming any language barriers. We loved the food. Breakfasts were perfect with fresh fruit. We had to bring back a pound of their homemade granola made from all seeds and nuts. Every cup of coffee made fresh with their espresso machine. Candle light dinners were magical, with lots of great after dinner conversations. Just a really cool place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are very happy to hear from you again, and hope you are doing great! Thank you for the wonderful comments; we are glad that you liked meeting and sharing with new guests and exploring the surroundings of Lake Atitlán. We will let our staff know about your wonderful comments, and hope you had a great time with the rest of your trip in Guatemala. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon here at La Casa del Mundo again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We didn't stay here but stopped in for lunch, and I would gladly go back to stay or even recommend it to a honeymooning couple. It's beautiful, remote, romantic, and immaculately cared for. We loved the food--a generous, fresh fruit plate with yummy homemade yogurt, and my enchiladas Chapín were unique and super-tasty. My favorite menu item, though, was the lemonade with strawberry and mint. Order it and you'll see why!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments Kathryn! We are happy to know you had a wonderful time visiting La Casa del Mundo. We will let our kitchen staff know the wonderful things you said about the food, and we hope we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Amazing views, excellent service and unbeatable prices. Personnel was kind, warm & friendly. Rooms were clean. Manager of this hotel top notch got nothing bad to say but GREAT things about him; keep up the EXCELLENT work. Definitely going back with my family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed everything at the hotel. We will let the manager and staff know about you wonderful comments, and we hope we can see you soon here with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Set perfectly on lake Atitlan with it's private dock. secluded but within easy access to Pana and San Pedro. You can relax here for days and not get bored of the food, the water, the view and location. So silent and peaceful at night - a great getaway for the mind. Extremely friendly staff and environmentally concerned owner (sustainable materials and water heating system). Great breakfast, caters for all tastes (we stuck to a vegetarian and seafood diet). Of course great coffee and desserts. Though it may be regarded as a little more pricy than other hotels around the lake it is well worth the few dollars more for the service, cleanliness and peace of mind.

Room Tip: Spend the few dollars a night more and have a time to remember, All rooms and cabins have lake and V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Owner at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for you wonderful comment! We are happy to hear you had a great time relaxing and enjoying Lake Atitlán. We are glad that you enjoyed our vegetarian and sea food options; we will congratulate our staff on your behalf. We hope to see you again, and we wish the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights at La Casa del Mundo and I didn't want to leave at the end. It was perfect! The location is absolutely amazing, with stunning views of Lake Atitlan and the volcanoes from all over the property. The rooms were lovely and all had their individual style, the customer service was faultless, the food amazing (great range and great prices, with the communal candlelit dinners being a highlight for me) and all credit to the garden staff who keep this place looking like the garden of Eden. Sublime!
Aside from taking a kayak out on the lake and having to take a water taxi to go and get cash out, I didn't leave the property during my whole stay, and I could easily have spent four times as long there. It is the absolutely perfect place to relax and switch off from the world, whilst still having wifi access if you want it. Go there - it will be a highlight of your time in Guatemala for sure!
Thank you to all at La Casa del Mundo for such a wonderful stay - it was an absolute pleasure!

Room Tip: Room 10 is a gorgeous little wood cabin up amongst the trees and flowers with a hammock out on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Propietario at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are very happy to know you had a great stay in room #10. Thank you for the wonderful review; we are very happy to hear that you liked the gardens, food and our customer service, we will let our staff know about you review so they can know what a wonderful job they do. We hope to see you soon here at La Casa del Mundo in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria., VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have only been in one other hotel in my longish life whose location and accomodations I have liked this much. I could not take my eyes off the view from our window. I loved our not large but rustically and appropriately furnished room, with a stone wall with a large window and portholes as well, showing the lake and mountains. The value, according to Western standards, was excellent. After teaching weeks in mountain Guatemala, I was thrilled to find in the Cafe (lunch and breakfast) many delicious sounding vegetarian options and the ones I ordered lived up to the description. At dinner, there is a fixed menu with options for vegtarians and other special diets determined in advance and this was more pedestrian but still fine. Hot water was lovely and plentiful (not always the case in these mountains). A few caveats and quibbles: this hotel is not for people who have more than minor trouble with stairs; for others the cliffside location is more than worth it. My husband, an avid kayaker, was looking forward to availing himself of the kayaks for rent--but was quite disappointed in their quality (no seat backs, configuration not suitable for steering on the somewhat rough lake). IMHO the hotel would do well to add a few dollars to their overall rate and resist the urge to charge (asking each time for room number) for each refill of coffee (excellent by the way) or tea. None of these minor things will keep me from going back on our next yearly trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamundo, Propietario at La Casa del Mundo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are happy to hear about you wonderful stay at La Casa del Mundo. Thank you for the wonderful review and suggestions. We will take them into consideration. We are glad you enjoyed our vegetarian food options and we will let our kitchen staff know, so they can see the wonderful job they do. Hope to see you soon hear at La Casa del Mundo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list