We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful cliff side hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaibalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Peaceful cliff side hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

La casa del mundo

This little hotel sits on beautiful lake atitlan. Typically, our reviews split pros and cons but depending on the traveler perspective you may have, our observations can go either way. Here's some of our thoughts on the hotel:
1) it's remote! It took us about 2.5 hours from Guatemala city to the docks in Panachel. From there, we grabbed a private water taxi (200Q for 4 of us) or you can grab a public taxi (about 20Q per person). 
2) beautiful views! The views from the hotel are spectacular. Overlooking the lake, the rooms hang out from the cliff. Surrounded by foliage and wildlife, it's very peaceful. However...
3) it takes a lot of stairs to reach the main lodge and beyond. You are literally walking up stories of stairs. Some stairs are steep, some shallow, some flat. We are both out of shape and we felt it. Our calves were sore and the size of ships by the end of our stay. Luckily, luggage is carried by the waitstaff.
4) The private rooms are lovely. We stayed in room 11, while our family stayed in room 12. Very large room, comfortable bathroom, hammock on the porch. We couldn't ask for anything better. Our family's room was just as nice. They had a larger room but much smaller porch. Our only beef is that our room was directly under 12 and you could hear them walking around. Honestly, it was like they were performing gymnastics it was so loud so be forewarned.
5) The food was cheap and delicious. Dinner is served family style. Everyone staying at the hotel eats at one time for dinner. if you are looking for a quiet romantic dinner, this won't be it. Our first night we had a choice of beef, chicken, or tofu. Second night the choice was between tofu teriyaki or fish teriyaki. Both meals were delicious. The breakfast menu is extensive and also delicious. We recommend the breakfast burrito.
6) We found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. They were fluent in both English and Spanish .  They helped us with our travel plans and exchanging currency. They do not take any credit cards but do accept travelers checks (Have your passport number handy when signing travelers checks with an identical signature). 

All in all, we would recommend this hotel as its remote location and peacefulness very much appealed to us. We found the prices to be extremely affordable, even for the private rooms. We enjoyed the amenities of the hotel (wood fire hottub, boardgames, drinks, food) and its proximity to the local town. Next time, since it is so remote, we would spend a longer time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the expanse of the private rooms, worth the small extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    52
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
175
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a preternaturally beautiful spot with a beautifully appointed hotel that did everything to respect the environment. The kitchen is absolutely outstanding too; who expected that when everything has to come in by boat? Beyond that, when we arrived with a group of nine young, somewhat rambunctous Habitat volunteers, the staff were endlessly tolerant, patient and helpful. Hugo in particular went many many extra yards above and beyond. My husband and I truly grateful for his tireless assistance; we're dreaming of going back there alone.

Doug Holmes and Kathy Gilbreth Holmes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at Casa del Mundo with a friend last year and we wish we had found it sooner. The moment the boat pulled up and we caught a glimpse of the terraces and balconies set into the rocky hillside above the lake, we knew we had found a one-of-a-kind place.

A few things, though: The place is a high-end hostel decorated in charming Guatemalan accents, so don't go expecting a luxury resort. Rooms are small, cozy and the beds are simple. Each has a view of the lake. The shared bathrooms are clean and adequate. (Like most hostels, they may also have rooms with private baths.)

The hotel is built into the hillside. On the one hand, this provides the opportunity for many different delightful areas in which to relax, such as a sunbathing terrace, a balcony strung with hammocks, etc. But the many levels also mean you will be climbing stairs, particularly, if like us, you get a room at the top. Also note, they are stone steps, so people with bad knees beware!

The family-style dinner by candle light was a nice touch, too. We got to meet travelers from all over the world while eating in a dining room that seems to float over the lake.

The service was good, the views were beautiful. La Casa del Mundo is a great place to stay. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The rooms close to the top require a good deal of climbing of stone steps, so beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Wow ,totally breathtaking ,high up on the cliffside looking out at 3 volcanos ,amazing views ..Only accessible by boat and candlelit evening meal served family style ,great vegetarian options ...Book the hot tub ahead of time as it takes 8 hours to heat up by wood burning stove !! Stunning view of the stars ...
Cute charming rooms decorated with authentic artifacts, beds abit lumpy but fantastic views of the lake and volcano ..
Thanks to the most friendly staff Oscar ,Hugo and Sebastain for their incredible hospitality and thanks to our guide Anastasio but keeping us save on our incredible hike to San Marcos ..A beautiful gem in the mountains manicured grounds and a total heaven on earth we will visit again ....Soon

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every area! Beautiful location with views of the lake from every room - and every detail thoughtfully planned. Since the hotel is accessible only by boat, meals are ordered with the room reservation. The quality of the food was excellent, and we really enjoyed getting to know the other guests in the candlelit dining room. The breakfast was a highlight - a fresh egg scramble with locally grown vegetables, perfectly prepared, along with a glass of fresh pineapple juice and coffee from the adjacent coffee farm. The rooms are very inexpensive considering the overall quality of the hotel. The front desk personnel are very helpful and friendly. One note: no credit cards accepted when we visited, but do take quetzales or dollars. Highly recommended! You will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake - no bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just got back from three amazing nights at this hotel. It far surpassed our expectations, especially for USD $37/night. We stayed in their most basic room, with a shared bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. The budget rooms are small, of course, but cozy and the views look right out over the gorgeous lake. Our days were spent exploring the lake, but I wish we'd had one more day to just relax on the grounds of this beautiful hotel. The only (very small) downside for me is that it did get hot at night as there are no fans or a/c so I did have trouble sleeping, but it was well worth it :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last month, we (myself and two girl friends) stayed at Casa Del Mundo for 6 nights. We started by booking one night in advance and then continued to add additional nights because we just couldn't leave this wonderful spot. The staff is extremely helpful with planning local activities as well as with offering advice on other parts of the country. I highly recommend reading the information in the notebook in your room upon your arrival. It includes helpful information about the hotel and surrounding area. We did the 6 hour highland tour (listed in the book) and absolutely loved it - it was a highlight of our three week trip. The owner's son, Sebastion, led us up the mountain and through different villages telling us about the history of the area. If you are up for a challenging hike with amazing views and information - do this hike! The other villages around the lake are all unique and are worth exploring. And last but not least, the food was incredible (and affordable). We looked forward to the family style candle lit dinner each night and continued to crave the food as we journeyed to other parts of Guatemala. You will not be disappointed in your stay at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list