We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa del Mundo Hotel to your Saves list
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed here at the end of a 3-week trip around Guatemala, fully intending to use it as a base to explore the Atitlan area. However the location was so gorgeous (I think it was Aldous Huxley who said that Lake Atitlan was the most beautiful lake in the world, so who am I to argue) that we just stayed on the spot for 3 days. Our room was sublime - lying on the bed you seemed to be floating above the water with two magnificent volcanoes for backdrop.The atmosphere is very low-key and friendly, the rooms are tastefully decorated with local fabrics and objets d'art and even the communal evening meal (not normally my thing) was pleasurable. This place is unforgettable - I hope I'll get back there one day!

Stayed August 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    54
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
189
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

I have been to this hotel 3 times and recommended it to others (who have been much more recently than my last trip) and they have all enjoyed it as much as I did. It is a relaxing retreat with beautiful views of the lake and a friendly atmosphere away from the crazy touristy Panajachel.

  • Stayed March 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I loved everything about this place. When we arrived we had one of the best rooms in the hotel complete with a view of the lake and a balcany. The family style meal we had for dinner was one of the best ones i had during my stay in Guatemala. I loved the hamocks they had spread out all over the place. its a great place to relax and get away from everything.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmoshere
  • Disliked — I liked everything I guess the hot tub was a little hot
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Casa del Mundo has been a consistent favorite of mine for its excellent value. Great views, great rooms, and friendly staff. This year we decided to try something different since we were traveing with friends who hadn't done the 'backpacking' thing before. We found Lomas de Tzunana (right near Casa del Mundo) at [--] where there were a bunch of other great suggestions for Lake Atitlan, Antigua, and other parts of the country. Lomas is a bit more expensive, but has a less crowded feel to it. The views are spectacular and a bit more private. The owners, Thierry and Maria, are excellent hosts... the most interesting people I have come across in my travels! If you are looking for something a little more private and secluded than Casa del Mundo, look up Lomas de Tzunana.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

La Casa Del Mundo is by far the BEST hotel around Lake Atitlan. It is absolutely beautiful - great views, great food, great rooms, great location. You can swim, kayak, hang out in the several hammocks around the area, hike, and simply enjoy the moment there! You can hike from this hotel to Santa Cruz and/or San Marcos. It is also a neat experience to hike into the small village of Jaibalito. Taking trips on the boat to other villages is also a must experience.

The best room is #3 - Great location.

Several steep steps are required to hike up after you get out of the boat - but the views are spectacular and worth the bit-o-hike.

EVERY night, you will be able to dine with everyone else staying at the establishment - and you will meet people from all over the world! They place the tables together and serve a delicious community meal. Brilliant!

I love this hotel - it is surely a favorite of mine - and a MUST stay whenever I am in Guatemala.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — uh - nothing! It was absolutely divine!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

A bit of a delayed review, but the memories are still fresh! Myself and a friend spent three days at this hotel over Christmas 2006. My friend had been at Spanish school for a few weeks and I had had a busy time at work and this was the perfect place to relax.

A beautifully located hotel, with stunning views and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in one of the budget rooms with shared bathrooms. Only three rooms were sharing the shower rooms, so no problem with overcrowding as you get in some shared bathroom places. And there are beautiful views from the top too! It's true that there are a lot of steps...but then there are also a lot of rest spots on the way up! And we did have help with our bags.

There are plenty of little nooks and crannies and different patios all around the grounds, so there is no problem with lack of privacy or space. The patios are a real sun trap and the lake presents a perfect cooling off opportunity.

The food was great and the communal dinners are a great opportunity to socialise and meet fellow guests. There's not a big social scene in the evenings but that just means lots of early nights and more sleep and relaxation.

This was somewhere we just didn't want to leave so apart from kayaking for an hour or two we did little else; we did feel a little guilty about this but as we checked out the owner said "you come here to undo not do". I couldn't have put it better myself!

  • Liked — Stunning views and opportunity for total relaxation.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I did not like!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I have worked in Guatemala for over 7 years and found this place about 5 years ago. It is amazing. Truely amazing. I just got back from my honeymoon, were we spent 10 days at the casa del mundo. Quiet, private, and perfect. Always ask for room #13. The best view the place has. As for getting sick like the other reviews said, people its Guatemala. Be prepared. I always bring cipro and pepto with me. Some people are affected differently.

One draw back are the stairs. You are wiped out after about 120 steep steep stairs. But my Grandmother did it! She's 77, of course she was holding on to me the whole way and complaining that their were no hand rails. People go to the Casa del Mundo because of the view. I can stress enough how beauiful it is.

I have been to this place over 10 times. And loved it. Highly recommended. One of the best hotels in my opinion in the world.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Address: El Jaibalito, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Jaibalito, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 17 rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Mundo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.