We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiences to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Bay Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drake Bay Backpackers to your Saves list
Drake Bay Backpackers
Corcovado Foundation, 25 Meters West of the Rio Tortuga | El Progreso de Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Experiences to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Drake Bay Backpackers is an ideal hostel for travellers wanting to experience Costa Rica's natural beauty, culture and wildlife. The hostel is also the camp for the Corcovado Foundation's sea turtle program, offering the best chance of seeing nesting sea turtles in the area. During my stay the hostel on request organised activities such as snorkelling Isle De Cano, sea turtle patrols, horse back riding, fishing trips and transportation to near by towns, making it hassle free. Meals are available made from fresh local ingredients that are flexible to your preferences, or you can use the kitchen area to prepare your own meals. The hostel works for people traveling alone or in groups as there is a social atmosphere. I felt welcome as a friend rather than just a guest wether its socialising in the hammock area or going out for drinks and dancing at the local bar with locals, volunteers and other guests. The location is secluded but definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had such a wonderful time at Drake Bay Backpackers-- all thanks to hosts, Rob and Charlotte, and the community of El Progreso. This hostel is the perfect fusion of adventure and relaxation-- an amazing spot to go for a longer morning hike and then chill out hammocks for the afternoon. It was an amazing opportunity to learn about sea turtle conservation along the way with the volunteers and play volleyball until sundown each night! The fact that this hostel actively engages the community in Costa Rican tourism is something that makes it very special. I loved the community-based tour I went on (poison dart frogs!). Definitely go here if you seek adventure and are interested in experiencing Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. Rob and Charlotte do everything that they can to make sure you feel at home in this paradise (from arranging tours to asking if you'd like to eat together at night). I hope to return here someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte R, Manager at Drake Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks so much for this great review Maddie! We miss you around here! I hope returning to work wasn't too painful for you. Come back and visit ASAP!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was one of my favourite places during our month in Costa Rica. My partner and I stayed for 4 nights and had a great experience; Rob and Charlotte went out of their way to make us feel like home and help us make the most of our time in Drake Bay. The hostel is excellent value for the area and had everything we needed. The day trip to Corcovado is a must! And best of all the money made from the hostel goes towards sea turtle conservation :) thanks for an awesome stay guys!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was happy to stay in this hostel as my fees went towards turtle conservation. Additionally, I had a great time speaking with Charlotte and Rob about their cause, and Rob made sure I was on the boat early morning to Sirena (which was the cheapest way I could find to get to Sirena). Before hoping on that boat, the motorbike ride down to the Bay (from the jungle) was absolutely thrilling and picturesque. Additionally, Rob helped me with all the logistics to get from Puerto Jimenez to Drake Bay, which otherwise may have been daunting. I'm very glad I stayed there and met these two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

A long overdue review from my stay back in April. This hostel is absolutely excellent!! Rob and Charlotte, who run it, are both unbelievably friendly and welcoming, and ready to help out with any query, tour booking or adventure you can think of! The great thing is they can also organise local tours which are both cheaper and all the money goes to the local tour guides. They have a fully equipped kitchen, but also cook fantastic and cheap family style meals - which I took full advantage of! The dorm is really clean and comfortable (although private rooms also available), with the dorm bunk beds separated by curtains to give more privacy - and still at such a budget price. A great place to explore one of the most beautiful and untouched places in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Natales, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I liked this hostel a lot. Charlotte and Rob made me feel welcome immediately and had lots of good advice to offer. The hostel was very clean, the bunks comfortable, and the hammocks just wonderful. The howler monkeys in the trees behind the hostel were an added bonus. The two motorcycle taxi drivers Rob booked for me were very safe drivers and the day tour to Corcovado was excellent. Ask Rob to book your boat to Sierpe, when I went we did a detour through a very narrow channel in the mangroves; great for close up views of the plants.

I would definitely return to Drake Bay Backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had a great stay at Drake Bay Bakcpackers. It's the best option for budget accommodation in the area! They offer they same tours as other hotels but for less money because they are a not-for-profit hostel since it doubles as a turtle conservation center. Great rooms, nice kitchen, free coffee, fun dogs to play with, hammocks in a nice community area, and the owners are great company! Also, a big bonus is that they are connected with local fincas, which are inexpensive with a local tour guide of local private properties to discover. We went on a great hike, visited the tour guides home/farm, and visited a fantastic waterfall where we swam and explored the area for a good hour or more. Only 25$ and directly helps the local community. DO IT!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Backpackers

Address: Corcovado Foundation, 25 Meters West of the Rio Tortuga | El Progreso de Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drake Bay Backpackers is a non-profit hostel offering affordable accommodation, food and community-based tours. Drake Bay Backpackers is run by The Corcovado Foundation and all income is invested directly into environmental programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Drake Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Backpackers Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Bay Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.