We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting, great for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Save
You added Tranquilo Lodge to your Saves list
100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing setting, great for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our family (parents and 8 year old twins) had a wonderful stay at Tranquilo Lodge for 5 days in April 2015. Tranquilo has an amazing setting, on a hillside away from most other hotels, crested with a small but perfect pool overlooking a panoramic beach and coastal vista. The lodge has a limited number of rooms that makes for a cozy sense of community. The pricier cabins are simply beautiful with full windows, great views and hammocks on the porches. We stayed in a room that was more utilitarian but still had comfortable beds and could be easily darkened, which was good for letting the kids sleep late; far enough from the road so noise was not a problem. Meals are served together, simple but very tasty and healthy food. Everyone uses the infinity pool at the top of the hill. There were only a few other groups during our stay, so it truly was tranquil.

The staff was extremely friendly, and responsive to the kids, for instance preparing them snacks or alternate food they liked –Kimmie was always helpful. Mary was very accommodating, picking us up from and taking us back to the airport, arranging tours, and giving great advice. We had a miscommunication about the best way to pay for tours (bring cash to avoid a 10% surcharge), but Mary worked out a way to help us avoid some of the extra charges.

For activities: The nighttime walk with the "bug lady" is a must - the two guides are passionate and knowledgeable about not only insects but all sorts of other animals. The snorkeling at Cano Island is really nice - the water is a perfect temperature and we saw schools of fish, rays, turtles and a moray eel, as well as dolphins en route. The day trip to Corcovado is the other natural thing to do: we saw a tapir, wild pigs, a caiman, a pit viper, squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, and whitefaced monkeys. Most activities had an early morning start (breakfast was always timed appropriately) and a mid-afternoon return, so the rest of the day was spent lounging at the pool. And we spent a day just enjoying the Lodge and Drake’s Bay!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Drake's Bay during the third week of April, which marked the transition between the dry and the wet season. It proved to be a happy medium, as the roads were not washed out, the rain was light and intermittent, and the frogs were beginning to emerge and enter their mating season.

Tranquilo Lodge served as an excellent staging ground, with a lovely overlook of the bay, and fairly easy access (by Drake Bay standards) to diverse activities. The owners have developed several high-end cabanas situated high a sloping embankment above the main lodge and dining area, with a wonderful infinity pool and combination bar / kitchen, offering fantastic views of the sunsets and distancing their occupants from the unpaved road, where motorcycles and trucks can be traveling during the early morning hours, sometimes gunning their motors, sometimes honking their horns (so beware!).

We stayed at the 'Deluxe Villa Cabina' for 145 per person / night, which provided one queen size bed, a twin bed, a shower and toilet (which was often malfunctioning) and a covered porch with a hammock. The other standard rooms, which are attached to the main lodge, are situated close to the road, and therefore subject to the noise of traffic. We should add, that the cell reception and the WiFi signal were outstanding, especially considering the remoteness of Osa.

The food was well prepared, with breakfasts often starting with fresh fruit and dinners being capped with wonderful deserts. Our only complaint was that the kitchen staff often played music loudly, during the dinner hour, which seemed ironic for a lodge called 'Tranquilo' and disturbed the ambient sounds of nature --- frogs and crickets and other creatures.

Mary, the manager, is bilingual and is well-connected to the community of Drake's Bay. She was extraordinary --- she arranged the guided tours, accommodated our food preferences, was prompt with her replies to our e-mails and responsive to our concerns and questions on site. We was congenial, good humored, accessible, and laid back.

All in all, we highly recommend Tranquilo Lodge, with only a few, fairly minor qualifications, and anticipate returning, but opting for the deluxe cabina on the top of the hill rather than the accommodations located closer to the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at this Lodge 2 years ago when it was under different ownership. We had such a wonderful time previously that we decided to stay again and see if it was as good under the new ownership. We booked the "Honeymoon Suite" for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. The managers, Mary and Kimmie, were so accommodating and very sweet. They made you feel so comfortable around the property like you were at home. The food was very delicious and they ensured to have breakfast or dinner ready due to the excursions we had booked. There are four new suites added at the top of the hill since the last time we visited with an amazing bar area and infinity pool with an unbelievable view of the pacific. We chose not to stay in one of the new suites because the honeymoon suite is more private but it too has an amazing view of the ocean. Love the Drake Bay area and can't wait until our next trip to Costa Rica. Will stay at this Lodge again in the future!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is more private and has a great view of ocean. Newer suites on top of hill have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are already ready to go back. We stayed in a cabin at the top of the hill with a view that was heavenly. We felt like we were in paradise. We are definitely going back and would make this Lodge are stopping place. Not only were the accomodations incredible, food delicious and the staff friendly and attentive, but it was a great launch point for other adventures. Don't even get my husband started on the fishing! It was awesome and the boat captain, Jorge, took excellent care of our group and got us on some amazing Sail Fish and Marlin. Thanks for sharing your paradise.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It seems that everything that the staff does is just to make your experience memorable.
They help you out with tour reservations, food is home made (and delicious) and most important they make you feel al home.

Highly recomended

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights at Tranquilo in early March. We took the mangrove tour from Sierpe to Drake bay which was a wonderful adventure. Eric, who is one of the best guides I've ever had, was our guide on the mangrove tour and on 2 subsequent trips(to the Sirena ranger station) and on a float down the Rio Claro river. We highly recommend Eric! He's very knowledgeable, personable, speaks English well and takes amazing pictures. We coordinated with friends who were staying at another lodge in Drake Bay. Eric and the staff at Drake Bay coordinated our trips with our friends superbly.

Tranquilo itself is such a quiet retreat with a view beyond beautiful of the pacific ocean and sunsets. The food was amazing. We travelled with our adult children and 3 of 4 of us are vegetarian. They prepared delicious vegetarian meals and the one non vegetarian among us was also totally happy. It surpassed any expectations i had. I loved the casual atmosphere and friendliness at Tranquilo. Herb was always friendly and offering rides to the infinity pool or back. Mary and Kimmie also made sure that everything was going well and took care of all the organization of trips and morning breakfasts timed with daily tours. We spent one day just relaxing at Tranquilo the whole day, walking on the beach and relaxing in the infinity pool on the hill overlooking the pacific. I highly recommend reserving a day for tranquility at tranquilo.
The rooms are comfortable and lovely. The only thing i'd recommend is some kind of curtain for privacy in our bungalow. This place goes straight to the heart. Felt like family in the very best way thanks to Herb, Mary, Kimmie and Eric!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We are a family of 4 ( 2 adults, 2 kids (ages 13/10) that spent 3 nights at Tranquilo Lodge. We loved every minute of it. We flew from San Jose to Drake Bay. We decided last minute to change to an earlier flight and with very little advanced notice Mary was waiting for us at the Drake Bay airport.
We stayed in a cabin at the top of the hill with amazing views. The room was spacious for our family: king bed and a bunk bed for the kids tucked into the wall. The outdoor shower was refreshing after a hot day.
Mary organized our excursions: snorkeling Cano Island, Sirena : Corcovado, Night tour with the bug lady. In the afternoons we swam in the beautiful pool and lounged on the bean bags and chaise lounges. We couldn't get enough of the views. Just hanging out in the pool we saw more birds than we did when we hiked in Corcovado.
The food was delicious. The fresh fish dishes and wok cooked vegetables were the best dinners we had on our 2 week trip.
My birthday celebration at Tranquilo Lodge was memorable. In addition to a fantastic dinner with a bottle of wine I was surprised by favorite music playing during dinner and an amazing birthday cake.
Herb, Mary and Kimmie went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and ensure we had a great vacation.
During our visit my son sustained a cut on his leg requiring stitches. Mary orchestrated the visit to the medical clinic, arranged transportation and accompanied my husband and son so she could help with translation. We were grateful for her help.
We had such a great time we hope to come back and visit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.