We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Save
You added Tranquilo Lodge to your Saves list
100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best time ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent one week at Tranquilo Lodge in July and had the best time ever! My husband and I stayed in Room 8, which is a separate bungalow with AMAZING views of the ocean and sunsets (and macaws, iguanas and parrots). My 18 year old twins stayed in a basic room in the lodge that was very adequate. I'd have to say the best part about staying at Tranquilo is the people. We had a couple nights when we were the only family at the lodge, and we had a fabulous time visiting with Mary, the manager. She's a lovely person! Mary's son, Joseph, gave us a tour of the beach and went swimming with us too - what a great kid! When swimming, my daughter got stung by a jellyfish and Joseph rushed her back to the lodge and performed first aid. He was so professional, and did I mention he's 8 or 9 years old?! Also, one day Emilio drove us into town to get some things at the local market. Joseph came and translated, so I was able to get everything I needed. Rafa, Emilio ,and Marisa worked at the lodge and they were wonderful people too! Mary took my husband and I on a tour of the additions that were being built above the lodge. Talk about extraordinary & first class! When those villas are done, we'd love to come back and stay in one! While we were there we enjoyed tours with Carlos Pacheco. We loved him! He's native to the area and knew every little spot in the jungle to find monkeys, tapirs etc. He even mimicked their sounds and we were able to see so many animals (all three types of monkeys, peccaries, tapirs, an anteater, & so many birds)! He was also incredibly knowledgeable about animals and plants. We went river floating, hiking in Corcovado, and snorkeling with Carlos and learned so much! One night my son was ill, and Carlos came by and asked our chef, Rafa to make a tea out of some plants that Carlos had brought from the jungle.- How thoughtful is that! Also, during that time, we had gone on another day trip with Carlos, and my son stayed back at the lodge. Mary took great care of him - bringing him drinks and meals and making sure he was comfortable. I'm not exaggerating when I say that the people at Tranquilo are just genuinely caring, loving people! I was sorry we didn't have a chance to meet Herb, the owner, as so many other reviews spoke so highly of him. One last note, we loved the dogs! Blackie lives at Tranquilo - he's a cute little sausage! And Rescue and Sasha came by to visit - they even walked into town with us one day. These dogs are so loveable! Mary, Joseph, Rafa, Emilio and Marisa thanks for the best time ever! We were so sad to leave, we miss you guys!

Room Tip: Room 8 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and where picked up from the airstrip by our hostess. After a short drive we arrived at this amazing place. Our hostess told us that we got the room with the view and that was not a lie. The view was great and the room was very nice as well. Good beds, clean and airconditioned. Breakfast, lunch and dinner where included and the cook would make the same for everybody. The food was delicious every time and they would ask you about any allergies. After two nights we where going to sleep a night in the jungle and it was absolutely no problem to leave our backpacks there. Upon returning we where greeted cheerfully and received a nice cold drink in return for our stories. We absolutely love this place and would love to stay here again! If anybody of the lodge gets to read this we would like to say we love you guys.

Warm greetings from Elsa and Arne.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic personal service. The fresh homemade food menu changed every day and was delicious. We stayed in room 7, a spacious, prettily decorated room with a large veranda, hammock and rocking chairs; sit here in the morning and watch pairs of scarlet macaws arrive in the nearby trees to feed. A couple of minutes walk down to a deserted 5k sandy beach! Our host, Mary, organised our activities while we were there; all fantastic experiences. Take a look at the upper level cabanas with infinity pool and bar, they are stunning. We had a fantastic time all thanks to Mary and her team. Much appreciated Mary. Ian, London

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tranquilo Lodge for a week in July and absolutely LOVED it. I can’t say enough good things about our experience in Drake Bay and at the lodge. The view was breath-taking, our room (a top-level cabana) was perfect and private, the staff was superb, and Drake Bay had so many fun activities to offer. We will definitely return! My husband is an off-shore fishing enthusiast and so we went several times during our stay. The hotel’s boat captain, Jorge, was so much fun to be around and made sure we were successful catching tuna, marlin, snapper, wahoo, dolphin, and rooster fish. We also got to see a whale and tons of dolphins. We did the Corcovado Canopy Tour where we zip-lined through the canopy and it was amazing! We had fun exploring the beach and river in front of the hotel and went to town a couple of afternoons. We spent the remainder of our time lounging by the pool and at the palapa. I loved the food! It was delicious and healthy! We also got to see monkeys, Scarlett Macaws, and Toucans while sitting on our front porch in the mornings and evenings. I can’t stress enough how wonderful the staff was. The manager, Mary, arranged all of our fishing trips, tours, and transportation to and from the airport. I can’t think of a negative thing to say – it was truly an amazing trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The day came ….we had to depart Drake Bay and the Tranquilo Lodge. What a week we had , accompanied by two close friends, we opted for a charter flight in to Drake Bay airport from San Jose. When the plane touched down we knew we were in for not just a vacation but an adventure also . The lush jungle rain forest swallows you up from that moment on. The Tranquilo Lodge, which is situated out away from town provided all we were hoping for, the rooms and beds were very comfortable, and they provided 5 star meals an great service. The staff was very professional yet there was a real laid back, friendly atmosphere and it felt as you the guest could set your own parameters. We participated in the canopy tour (zip lining) this we considered doing twice but ran out of time, kayaking and fishing (which was very productive). In my opinion this is a great alternative to the many resort towns located in Costa Rica. Thanks to Mary and staff at the Tranquilo Lodge …..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for a few days during the first part of our trip to Drake Bay. Mary was wonderful, and even though we arrived late because we had decided to drive in to Drake Bay, she was able to arrange a private scuba diving trip for the next morning. Mary was very accommodating, and made us feel comfortable and welcomed. The reality of this lodge however, is that it is on Drake Bay Road. There isn't a lot of traffic on the road, but there is traffic all day and night, which mostly consists of mopeds and trucks with either no mufflers or muffler problems. I was really surprised by the noise, which was loud enough to hear over the air conditioner. The beds were also much harder than we were used to. It looked like they were doing some road work in town, which I'm sure accounted for most of the truck traffic. They are building additional rooms at the top of their property, which will hopefully be subject to less of the traffic noise and will have even better views of the ocean. We ended up cutting our stay here short to move to a resort that was located just past the end of the road, due to the above issues and also because we wanted to see wildlife while we were in Drake Bay, and the only wildlife we saw at this lodge were leaf cutter ants and a large frog. This is a clean, basic lodge. It does have air conditioning, and seemed like the best lodge on this side of Drake Bay.

Room Tip: I would ask for the individual cabin, it costs a little more but you're farther from the road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryMaria33, Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Yes, unfortunately they were doing road construction on the entire road entering Drake Bay during your stay, which as you mentioned probably accounted for most of the noise . It is completed now and the road is smoother now, than it has ever been. Almost all hotels in Drake Bay are located next to the main road except for a few that are only accessible by boat or walking. As for the mattresses we have chosen medium firm type orthopedic pillow top variety . Being outside of town we do have wildlife frequent the lodge on a regular basis, like Capuchin Monkeys and Scarlet Macaws etc. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review it will help us be more aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The moment we landed in Drake's Bay Airport (if you can rally call a shack and an unpaved runway that) for our 4 day honeymoon in the Osa Peninsula the beauty and remoteness of this location really hit us, you are literally dropped off in the middle of nowhere. Thankfully Mary and Emilio was there to pick us up and welcome us. I cannot emphasize enough about the great staff at this lodging, for the next four days they went out of their way to drive us around and made sure all our planned activities went smoothly. Our food were always home cooked, fresh, clean and delicious! We also stayed and dinned at Nayara Springs Hotel in Arenal and I will take Mary and Rafael's home cooked food over that any day of the week! The lodge is small enough that you will get to know the other guests and we met some great people here over breakfast and dinner. We stayed in the honeymoon sweet and it was very private, clean, comfortable and air conditioned. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here it really feels like a home away from home because of the size of the lodge and friendly staff, especially Mary who really went out of her way to take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.