We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar's Jungle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaguar's Jungle
Save
You added Jaguar's Jungle to your Saves list
Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DO IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Staying at Jaguar's Jungle was like staying in the Garden of Eden. The primary jungle, on the ocean right next to Corcovado park is teaming with wildlife. It was great to see coatis, macaws, and monkeys come by and visit while we ate our meals. Of course there's lots of options for adventure seekers to explore the surrounding trails and visit Corcovado in depth.

The vibe is laid back, and casual. I met some great friends while visiting. There's options for sleeping in dorms, or private cabins. The common areas are comfortable and welcoming.... like a family cottage on the ocean. Really liked the food, especially fresh-caught snapper. Oh, and there's a Yoga studio in the works....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
8
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

What a place ! Lot's of rooms and different choices. A large property with magnificent Ocean Views and just steps away. A water Taxi practically drops you at the front door and there are always happy faces to greet you and help manage your bags. The property has amazing rolling grass lawns. Coconut trees line the ocean with both beaches and rocky landscapes. Monkeys often jump from tree to tree! The snorkeling right there is amazing with every fish imaginable. The wildlife is the best I've seen. Excellent staff and closest land mass to Cano Island. The meals are freshly prepared and caters to your needs. If you want to experience this area of Costa Rica in it's native environment - this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It was fate that my friends and I stumbled upon Leo and Jaguar's Jungle, as we hadn't even planned on staying in Drake Bay, but we are so glad we did. It is such a special place. There is a perfect little beach where we arrived by boat and it was so beautiful. You can see the ocean from the bunk beds. The sleeping area was comfortable and clean. Each bed has a name, it's cute. I slept so well there, in the middle of the jungle with the sound of the waves. The food was delicious and fresh. I loved the design of the hostel. It's simple but the details make it really nice. Leo is awesome too, so fun to hang out with. He took us on a hike and was an excellent guide. I'd love to go back and stay longer!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After 4 months of traveling through Central America, I have to admit that this is probably my favorite place. I've been twice on the same trip.The beauty is surreal and the vibe is super, super laid back. Time kind of stops and the days blur together here. Take the kayak out, go snorkeling, go hiking, enjoy some really nice meals and watch the sun melt into the ocean. Also, book Leo for a tour of Corcovado, it's beautiful and full of wildlife. Part of me doesn't want to review this because I don't want other people finding it. I like it that much. If you go to Costa Rica and skip this place, you're missing out on the best spot in the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furstenzell, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Best place for relaxation and adventure at the same time in the jungle and the sea. Bring enough cash and everything else you need like special food and drinks, the nearest shop is a few kilometers away. For me the food was absoulut perfect, healthy and delicious. Pluck and eat as much coconut and mango you want :) Sharks and turtles while snorkeling on Cano island. Monkeys, snakes, tapirs, sloths, and many other wonderful animals right outside your door or at hiking in the Corcovado National Park right next to.
I had so much fun with the people there and every day was a new little adventure together.
I can not describe how happy I was at this place, I would have loved to stay much longer. Absolutely the most beautiful place I had ever been in my life and to which I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This place might be at the top of the list of most beautiful places I have ever been. If you're looking for nature and animals, love the the ocean, and enjoy night after night of spectacular sunsets- go here. Super chill atmosphere (time behaves differently over there), combined with endless potential for adventure (once you've spent enough time in the hammock ask leo about activities) Yummy healthy food and great people always coming through. Remember, there is no road or stores nearby, if there are some things you cant live without or special food you'd like to have- bring them with you before getting on the boat. Leave the world behind and go spend some time in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A beautiful hostile in the Corcodova Jungle. With private beaches and hike entrances there is always something to do. The people are lovely and genuine. It's a gem on the coast on the jungle. I went with a group of UCSB students and I can say we had a trip of a lifetime. We snorkeled, hiked waterfalls, swam in Rio Claro, relaxed at the hostile, hiked in the Jungle and even camped! I would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaguar's Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar's Jungle

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungla del Jaguar is a hotel, tour company,, and retreat center nestled deep within 130 acres of Corcovado rainforest of Costa Rica and a stone's throw from the Pacific. We offer dormitory style accommodations as well as private rooms. All of our facilities are located on the beach. Find water falls and sea caves, go on night hikes, pick exotic fruit and take a tour to Cano Island for the best snorkeling in Costa Rica. In addition to our incredible guided tours, you can explore the rainforest on your own. We will provide you with a trail map of nearby beaches, waterfalls, lagoons, and even a bat cave that comes alive at dusk. Hike to world-class surf breaks or snorkel in our bay. If you're lucky, you may even witness something utterly new; something so rare that no one has ever witnessed it before. Every day is an adventure. You will form unforgettable experiences, meet great people, and have more fun than you ever thought possible. Come experience the rawness of Costa Rican beach jungle paradise! We are geared towards travelers looking for adventure and fun that bring a positive attitude to share with others. All of us are looking forward to meeting you soon! Please note : Cancellation policy: 72h before arrival. In case of a late cancellation or No Show, you will be charged the first night of your stay. Flexible Check time in up to 23:00 . Check out before 12:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash. Taxes included. Breakfast not included, but free coffee from 6:00am to 10:00 am. No curfew. No pets allowed. Child friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jaguar's Jungle Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar's Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.