We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing! This place is a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Save
You added Cabinas El Mirador Lodge to your Saves list
Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 14-8150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Peterborough
1 review
“Absolutely amazing! This place is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I just returned from my stay at Cabinas El Mirador Lodge. My boyfriend and I stayed for two weeks and we could have stayed two weeks more! We loved it! It was exactly what we were looking for, cabins amongst lush beautiful scenery.

El Mirador is on a hill side giving you the best views of Drake Bay. We saw beautiful sunsets every night from our cabin. The beach is down the hill, just steps away. The food at El Mirador is superb! Home cooked healthy and plentiful! You will never go hungry here. If you want to venture out for the day they will pack you a bag lunch to go. They have beers and cokes to buy for $2 each and you can get white or red wine for $12. You can just add the beers to your tab and pay at the end so it's easy. We enjoyed a nice cold Imperial Silver in the afternoons after our treks. The owner Michael can arrange all your tours for you and give you all the information you need. He makes you feel right at homes and loves to joke around. He is quite the character and we will miss him and his laugh. All the staff at El Mirador are extremely professional and helpful, I was very impressed. The cabins were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. You are higher up than the other hotels in the area so you can easily see toucans, scarlet macaws, humming birds and butterflies right there. There is also a sloth that hangs around in one of the trees at the bottom of the hill although he is quite high up.

I highly, highly recommend the snorkeling tour to cano island! The snorkeling was spectacular! All the guides we had in Drake Bay were extremely knowledgeable, professional, friendly and they really cared about the environment and were passionate about the area.

The town is just up the road and has a few restaurants, an ice cream shop and two small grocery stores. Most stores and restaurants accept US dollars and Colones. Most shops do not open until the afternoon.

We did the San Pedrillo trek, Sirena, Canopy tour, Snorkeling twice, my boyfriend did one day of diving with Drake Divers and we also took the night tour with Traci the bug lady.

If you are used to staying at five star luxury hotels then this place wouldn't be for you, there are other places in Drake that would suit. However if you want an amazing view, friendly staff, a superb host, great value for your money, fantastic food, a relaxing vacation in a tropical paradise then look no further than Cabinas El Mirador.

We really discovered a gem when we found this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Outstanding place to live, El Mirador has the most wonderful view of the bay and an uncompared service. Mikael the owner works hard to make your holiday unique. He prepares lunch when you leave for a tour, he changes hours of lunch when you go earlier, everything was just fine. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent value, good food, lovely hosts, and fabulous views over the bay including sunset (which many other hotels do not have). We were really impressed.
We are 2 adults and 1 child and stayed 3 nights but wish we could have stayed 5. We were in cabin 6 which was lovely and the shower had an amazing view over the bay.
The cabin was basic but had electricity, a fan, and comfy beds, which is all we needed. A lot of the cabins (including ours) looked like they had been recently refurbished. We often saw scarlet macaws flying overhead, and the first morning at breakfast a troop of white faced cappucin monkeys came and played in the trees next to us.
It is only a few minutes walk up a steep driveway to get there (5 mins if we went slow), and another 2 minutes to the lookout. All our bags were taken up on arrival and brought back down on departure in an atv. The food was yummy, especially when they made local dishes. There was filtered drinking water on tap in the dining area.
There is a new cafe at the bottom of the hill called tortuga drake kitchen (I think) which is nice for an afternoon smoothie/icecream/beer. And it's not far to walk into town.
The Corcovado & Isla de cano tours are great, but the boat to get there can be choppy. although the visibility wasn't great at the time for snorkelling, we still saw lots of colorful fish. And the Corcovado tour to sirena was packed full of animals - we ticked everything off our bucket list of animals to see, and more.
There is a beach for swimming just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel, but the water isn't clear. Apparently it's a 40 minute walk around to the next beach which is clear and good for snorkelling but we ran out of time.
We would definitely recommend el mirador and would come back and stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from Costa Rica trip which included a stay at Cabinas El Mirador Lodge. The scenery combined with Miguel and all his crews kindness where the best. The new cabinas in which our children stayed are just perfect. Good job -Miguel. The food prepared by miguels super crew are deliscious and served at longtable for all guest... Just the right way.
We will for sure recommend Cabinas El Mirador lodge to anyone travelling to Bahia Drake.
Gracias Miguel &co.
La familia Danese... Stayed late july 2013?..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent just two night in a cabina at Mirador Lodge. I wish we could have spent more...
The location of the place overlooks the Drake bay, perfect for sunset lovers. The cabinas are basic, very clean, the beds are quite comfortable.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner are exceptional. These were some of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. Our host was very friendly with a nice sense of humor :) - do not be late for dinner - it is always served at 6:44pm.
Michael can also arrange all kind of activities and day trips - horseback riding, boat trips, visits to Corcovado park, etc.

Once again, thanks for the great time. I hope to visit Mirador Lodge again... see you next week ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a few days simply driving around Costa Rica and seeing the sights/animals at our own pace. On the road towards Puerto Jiminez so we can get into Corcovado we happened by Cabinas El Mirador. What a great place! The cabins sit on a ridge top providing great views of the rain forest and are nice, clean, and very relaxing. Great food & full bar in the restraunt. Food was reasonably priced and eating outside provided great views of the rain forest & animals/birds. We saw our first toucans while sitting outside our cabin in the morning. We stayed only a single night but would love to return. One of the best places we stayed while in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 3. All cabins have good views from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lodge for 5 nights and it was by far our favorite place in Costa Rica for many reasons: the view from our lodge was beautiful and we got to see many animals at that very spot (toucans, monkeys etc), the family is so nice and go out of their way to give great service, the tours are amazing and the guides were very good, the 3 meals served (included in the price) are delicious and very filling and they even made me vegetarian food. If you decide to go on a personal day trip they even suggest to pack you a lunch! As the lodges are built out of wood it is normal to have some insects in your cabin especially at night if you leave the lights on. would not even think of staying any where else if I go back to Drake Bay! Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 14-8150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge has one of the most spectacular views in the Osa Peninsula. Spend the day hiking in Corcovado National Park, snorkeling on Cano Island or relaxing on a hammock watching the sunset over the prestine waters of Drake Bay.Our rustic installations is located 80 m of the sea level, and the hotel have 3 hectares of land with 200 m of beach front in Drake´s Bay, with and amazing view to the South Ocean Pacific , the bay have and amazing beaches and tropical forest as well as its flora and fauna that´s is carateristic of the Corcovado National Park, which is ubicated 8 miles south and the Caño Island is 12 miles West of Drake Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Mirador Hotel Drake Bay
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Mirador Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.