We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jinetes de Osa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We moved here for two nights after discovering that our previous choice of accommodations had no running water. I had attempted to book us into Jinetes prior to our departure from the U.S but they did not have availability for all of our dates.

We found them immediately after our arrival to Drake Bay whilst walking along the beach. Had a drink at their little bar and a lovely chat with one of their volunteers, Kate, who was such a great spokes-person for Jinetes that we joined hotel guests for lunch and dinner on our first night in Drake Bay. When we subsequently discovered the extent of the water problems at our guest-house, we had no hesitation in coming to Jinetes. They were so helpful and accommodating. Rolando, their in-house guide, was an absolute gem, finding us a perfect room facing the water and getting us settled in as quickly as possible. We learned a great deal from him about the region and his culture.

Jinetes serves meals in a community-style dining room - meaning that you sit at long tables with other guests. What a perfect way to have your guests become friends and be more like family than strangers staying in the same hotel! We met wonderful people and formed great friendships because of this setup so we are very grateful for this dining style.

The layout of our room was lovely and very clean although the hotel is in need of some repair and polishing-up. The bed/pillows were comfortable and the ceiling & floor fans kept us cool in the evenings.

The meals were a mix of local & international cuisine - all very tasty with perfect portion sizes. The breakfast is quite elaborate with fruits, bread, egg station and a variety of juices, coffees & teas. The fresh fruit juices with lunch & dinner were much appreciated as was the large bottled water station in the dining area where we can refill our water bottles throughout the day.
The hotel staff were very professional in offering numerous services such as laundry and they cleaned my husband's dive gear at no charge even though we had previously booked our dives with another dive center. Absolutely excellent customer service all around!

The constant presence of volunteers who will connect you with a manager immediately to resolve any issue gives a great sense of confidence that these hosts care about your experience staying with them.

The restaurant and bar face the ocean and the sunsets are breathtaking in the evenings. Above the restaurant, there is a little lounge with hammocks and lounging chairs which we made use of to read and relax on a day when we were not feeling well. Carlos, the general manager, allowed us the use of their laptop so we could use internet to advise family of our change of accommodations. Lovely, helpful fellow who is always available to answer questions or offer guidance. There is truly not one thing we didn't like about our stay at Jinetes!

If you are in a rush when you depart, simply ask the manager to have your bill ready for you by a certain time. That is the only thing we found a little slow.
There is no question that we would recommend Jinetes to anyone visiting this area and it will be our only choice when we return to Drake.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room if you want a better breeze and you enjoy the sounds of waves crashes bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    54
    17
    13
    3
See reviews for
48
104
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! It was a really exotic location, we even saw crocs swimming on the sea from our balcony and a scarlet macaw came to eat from a tree right next to our room two morinings in a row. The food was fantastic! Kate makes the best Caipirinha in the world and I lived in brasil. There is always fresh bread yummy! The rooms are clean, there is no sound barriers so every room is conneceted in a way that was not so great. Also it needs a bit of an upgrade when it comes to sheets and towels. But other than that the service was outstanding and the trip to isla del cano incredible. Every oone who works at Jinetes de Osa was helpful and friendly. I would stay there a million times more, best experience ever!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is located on the water within walking distance to the town. The rooms are simply furnished with a fan, some with a bathroom and some sharing which is never a problem as it is always clean. The hotel is simplistic in its design allowing you to connect with the beauty of the Osa Penninsula; falling asleep and waking to the sound of ocean waves is perfect for anyone seeking to escape the fast pace of life in the city. The staff are very friendly, knowledgable and accomodating, always seeking to meet your needs as best they can and to offer advice and/or organize excursions. The food is delicious, smiles abound as do the insects so come prepared with repellent and sunscreen :) I would highly recommend this hotel for nature lovers: hiking, swimming, scuba diving, snorkeling ..... just a few of the options available! The manta ray I saw while scuba diving was one of my highlights, absolutely SPECTACULAR! Be prepared to walk slowly, see much wildlife and plan your days 'ahorita' (as the Ticos would say). Muchas gracias Giovanni, Rolando, Carlos y Osito. Besos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The owner was very understanding when I had to move my dates for our stay due to an ear infection. According to their cancellation policy he could have charged me 100% of the room but agreed to just move my dates. Very grateful for that. Just like the owner the staff is also excellent. They are super friendly and helpful and make your stay at Jinetes de Osa a very pleasant one. The food was OK for me but my wife loved it (I'm more picky). The bed covers, sheets and towels were quite worn out and needed replacement. There was no sound isolation between rooms so pretty much no privacy in your room. The cleaning service is great, they left the room sparkling. There is no A/C anywhere and it's very hot and humid. The rooms have a ceiling fan and a standing fan but you still sweat quite a bit. The Wi-fi for internet doesn't work at all. The scuba diving made it all worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Jinetes de Osa. The room was comfortable. The sound of the waves down below was so loud that we needed ear plugs which we used throughout our trip in Costa Rica because it gets loud at night with all the wildlife around. There is no swimming off the beach there; not that you would want to if you are doing excursions that Jinetes de Osa are very skilled at doing. They have a large catamaran that is comfortable on several hour long trips in the open waters. One nuance we did not enjoy was the sounds of a drum beating at the local school. Jinetes is located very close to town and you could hear the drum very well. The children were practicing for the national holiday of Costa Rica, which is a beautiful thing. However, since we were on vacation to enjoy peace and quiet the noise was pretty annoying as it was repetitive and you could not escape from it.

Jinetes de Osa is located on the road that on one side has a steep hill and on the other side the bay. The only walking you can do is along that road. The food was just ok like everywhere else in Costa Rica with the exception of a few places where we thought the food was delicious. On the way back we were transferred to the airstrip in an old pick up truck and the door was so heavy and hard to manipulate especially on the uneven road that I accidentally crushed my foot with it, so badly that I had to be in a wheelchair for the next 3 days. Needless to say I couldn't hike anywhere. I think Jinetes de Osa should provide better transportation to its guests to the air strip, especially when the guests are paying top dollar for it. Also, the place was so boring that we were glad to continue to our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The team was very welcoming and well informed of our stay. My boyfriend and I were able to get our diving certificate here also. The food is AMAZING! I loved the idea that everyone ate together at the same table. We met so many lovely people! For me it was like summer camp all over again. Everything was well planned, and had alot of wonderfull options as to what to do. Thank you so much for this memorable vacation!

Rebecca Longridge

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

As soon as we arrived at the hotel the owner met us and reviewed the details of our stay. He knew we were going on the night bug walk that evening, snorkeling the next morning and that we needed to catch the afternoon water taxi back to Sierpe the next afternoon. They accommodated our schedule beautifully. They scheduled an early dinner for us so we could go on the night bug walk. They scheduled an early breakfast so we could catch the boat to go snorkeling. When we got back from snorkeling they had lunch ready so we could catch the water taxi. They were organized and on top of their game.

The rooms were clean, not fancy, no air conditioning but we didn't need it. No bugs at all, no mosquitos, flies, nothing.

Take the short walk through the jungle to the beach around the corner from the bay. It was beautiful. We crossed a small hanging bridge over a natural turquoise pool along the way. We also saw capuchin monkeys on the walk.

There was a beautiful macaw in the trees outside the door of our room.

This is a special place if you want to get off the beaten path and still have a comfortable bed, clean water and a hot shower.
Ken S
Omaha, NE

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms. We had a room on the beach and enjoyed it very much. It was close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinetes de Osa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Address: 200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see Costa Rica as you always imagined; wild, beautiful and unexplored. Be one of the lucky few to scuba dive in the pelagic rich waters of Cano Island or explore one of the last remaining virgin lowland tropical rainforests of Corcovado National Park. Splendidly isolated in the tiny community of Drake Bay, Costa Rica, Jinetes De Osa Hotel is a friendly beachside retreat one hours boat ride down the jungle lined banks of the Sierpe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jinetes de Osa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jinetes De Osa
Jinetes De Osa Drake Bay
Jinetes De Osa Hotel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinetes de Osa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.