We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Save
You added Drake Bay Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved it so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We came 5 people to the osa peninsula, we called the hotel ,asking to pick us up just to see the rooms before we decide if we stay or not, as soon as we arrived
We decided to stay , adrian was super nice and helpful

The rooms are clean , and cleaned every day, the food was delicious , adrian arranged us a fresh makarel fish and made us an amazing dinner

They also arranged us the tour to the corcovado park , with our guide manuel, who was super nice as well

They also have free kayak all day
And you can paddle into an amazing river with crocodiles


We recommend this hotel to all of you when you visit osa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
66
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our four nights spent here proved to be the highlight of our holiday. This was our final destination after a two week tour of Costa Rica. We were greeted with refreshing cold towels and cold drinks before being offered superb accommodation; a beautifully appointed air conditioned room, with the most stunning views of the Bay and the Pacific Ocean. Marleny, Marvin and all the staff were welcoming, happy and helpful. Kenneth presented us with the most delicious meals and Nellie and Cinnia made sure we were well looked after in the dining room. Manuel and Memo were excellent and passionate guides. During our amazing trips to Corcovado, Cano Island and the Sierpe mangrove swamps we were so fortunate to see tapir, all four species of monkey, numerous Humpbackwhales and Scarlet Macaws aswell as a wide range of of other colourful birds and animals. Thanks to Marleny finding a spare memory card, I was able to return with underwater photos, taken by Gustavo our snorkelling guide, of myriads of colourful fish, aswell as a Hawksbill turtle...one of many dreams fulfilled throughout our holiday. Thankyou Marleny and to Zac for your technical support! We have already recommended this wonderful place, with its gorgeous gardens and seawater pool, to family and friends, and would not hesitate in returning in the future.
David and Jane - from United Kingdom

Room Tip: We were in Room 45...accessed by 50 steps, but the views were well worth it. Other rooms are at grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Drake bay resort in mid August, the weather is fine, with only one afternoon short period of rain fall. We took a boat at 11:30 from Las Vegas restaurant from Sierpe, after 1.5 hours secenic and adventuous boat ride, we were greeted by big smiles, welcome drinks, and cold towel. We were quickly checked in, and told lunch is already prepared for us. Then from there, we had 2 days of best meal we had in costa rica, and the best part of the meal is the vegetable, yes, you don't many times find vegetable tasty, yet, it tasted so good we asked for more. The room amenity is very simple, basic but super clean. Housekeeping changes the sheet even for the bed we do not sleep on. Daily laundry service is a huge plus. The location of the resort is perfect, the ocean is in front of you, the back is the river flowing through. We had many crocodile and monkeys encounters while kayaking in the river. The tour organized by hotel is also wonderful, Manuel is very knowlege, patient, and new happy dad. On the way to canes island, we even spotted mama and baby whales, dolphins. The experience is surreal. Drake bay resort is a place you don't find all the high tech and modern, sleek feel, but a home. We talked to volunteers coming from US just because they completely fell in love with the place. We feel the same, the grounds, people, setup, stories how food is produced, picnics in the tours, you feel like you are very comfortable and at home. We will come back with kids for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 6 with AC, its closest to the dining room. overall rooms are all facing ocean, hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A big thank you to Marleny and her team who made our last days in Costa Rica a perfect end!
The guides (Manuel and Tico) were very knowlegeable and gave us some great encounters with the wildlife in Corcovado and the Pacific (all 4 Monkey types, tapir, Boa, whales, dolphins, macaw, tucan and many more).
The hotel service was excellent with lunch boxes during trips and a great variety on diners. Also the free laundry service, use of kayaks and homemade cookies (Marleny) were very welcome!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are to be prefered over the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wonderful place to visit! I've been 5 times and will keep going back! The food is some of the best I've had in Costa Rica. They also have snacks at 3pm and you can get ice cream any time you want to from the kitchen. A big plus is that they do your laundry for free so it's a great place to visit mid-trip.

Room Tip: They have a room with 5 beds and 2 baths that is perfect for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Drake Bay Wilderness Resort provides excellent value. Marleny and Adrian and their staff are very helpful and friendly. The accomodations are comfortable and clean. Some rooms have air conditioning, which is not needed at night. All are reached by easy walks with no more than a gradual rise. The food was good and plentiful, and the service was excellent. The seaside salt water pool is delightful after a hot, humid Corcovado hike, and cheerful Nellie offers all sorts of beverages and complimentary munchies at the adjacent bar. Complimentary same-day laundry service is a nice amenity. The grounds are attractive and well maintaned.

Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has the best location on the Pacific side of the Osa Peninsula. It fronts directly on Drake Bay, with views and sounds of the waves, but its entrance is just around the corner in a little inlet (complete with resident crocodile) where a small river enters the bay, south of the town of Drake Bay. It shares the inlet with one other hotel, and these two are the only ones I know of on the Pacific side of the Osa Peninsulaf that have docks. Boat access for the others is through the surf. The location makes it farther from Corcovado than most of the others, but that is a minor consideration for which the convenience a dock more than compensates. There is no beach as such, except for small patches of sand at low tide. The closest proper beach is reached by a path behind the property which requires going up and down some steep steps. There is also a trail to the little town.

I recommend Drake Bay Wilderness Resort without reservation. My only regret is not staying longer than just three nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our very sincere thank you to Marleny, Adrian and the Drake Bay Wilderness team for sharing their home in paradise with us. The fact that it is an hour long boat ride - departing from Sierpe town, is the tip to prepare oneself mentally for the adventure into a remaining remote part of Costa Rica. Our stay at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort was the last leg and absolute highlight of our holiday. The visitors we met from all corners of the world while there, all shared a passion & interest to experience this remote part of CR natural beauty. In everything the Drake Bay Wilderness Resort team did, we experienced their respect for the natural environment in which they live & therefore expertise in what they do. Whether it was the "captain" of our boat guiding us out of the river through the breakers into the ocean, our guide Manual educating us on the wildlife & flora in Corcovado, tracking the dolphins en route to Cano Island; or the preparation of delicious food served in this remote location - Marleny, Adrian and their team have mastered the balance of providing a very comfortable, in many ways luxurious stay, yet maintaining the rustic, natural beauty of the wilderness we came to explore. The food was delicious. Remember - we arrived by boat - our luggage side by side with bags of watermelon & other fresh supplies. Somehow - DBWR conjured 3 fresh meals a day, each day varied. A favourite was our picnic in Corcovado - fresh salad, chicken, ham, cheese, fruit, ice cold water and juices - all served on a table cloth -in a setting of howler monkeys, tropical forest and crashing waves. The DBWR team exemplified the generosity & kindness of CR. After hiking & boating excursions, you may hand your muddy, soaked laundry to be washed for free; Nellie awaits you from 4.30pm in the bar area, ready to serve drinks and chit chat with you as we rode out a heavy rain shower. With laughter, she corrected our spanish, shared her university learning on first aid in wildlife (how to identify a venomous vs non venomous snake); while Manual was ever patient not only educating us on our trips, pointing out beautiful school of jacks, parrot fish - but also teaching our 7 year old son how to crack open a coconut & drink fresh coco water - later used to make pina colada's for our sundowners. From the hammocks set up around the property, to the salt water pool & natural tidal pools, the communal bar area, path to Cocolita beach, it felt as if attention was paid to every detail to ensure you as the guest, may savor the unspoiled natural beauty of Drake Bay and Corcovado.The family have been doing this for almost 30 years - their expertise & warmth created an unforgettable, magical 80th birthday holiday for my father and our family. We do hope to make it back again some day. Highly recommended for those who love & respect nature.

Room Tip: Our trip was in July/August - rainy & cool ocean breezes at night. Our rooms had windows with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Address: Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Wilderness Hotel Drake Bay
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Bay Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.