We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise At Drake Bay Wilderness Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Drake Bay
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise At Drake Bay Wilderness Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family had the most wonderful visit at Drake Bay WR. We flew into Drake Bay with a little plane, picked up by a rover, taken to the beach where we climbed into a small boat amongst the waves which took us across the bay to DBWR. We had daily excursions with very professional and knowledgable guides. We'd return to appetizers on the beautiful bar veranda overlooking the ocean. We'd play games until dinner. Dinner was always delicious & Costa Rican. Everyone was professional, friendly, helpful and happy! My kids loved it. It was the beginning of the rainy season so we had the place to ourselves & it was amazing. Very natural & felt rustic & true Costa Rica. Corcovada National Park is wonderful & easy to get to from here. Horseriding on the beach was amazing & swimming in waterfall pools & climbing up & hiking to waterfalls, snorkeling, kayaking. All was very fun. We really felt like we got away and really felt like we got to experience the REAL Costa Rica. It is a quality family memory we will never forget! We all were so sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had a choice of two areas, two rooms or one large. We chose the one large with kids near the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemble, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great ending for our 6 weeks in Costa Rica! The staff were all very friendly, client-focussed, and there to make our trip the best it could be. Adrien, his staff, and the guides were knowledgeable and flexible and they went out of their way to work around the weather to make the tours outstanding.
Great diversity of activities available. Exceptional stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for the second time within one year. This 'resort' (too artificial a term for such a beautiful, natural place) is the perfect place to stay for couples, families with kids old or young. Just wonderful. A family owned business, with wonderful staff. The tours are amazing. When you are there ask about the 'Pelagic Dolphin Tour' with Shawn Larkin if you are serious about wanting the ultimate dolphin experience with a very knowledgeable marine biologist. The mangrove tour is the best bang for your buck to see the most with the least amount of effort (soooo many critters reside in the mangrove forests!). Cano Island snorkeling, whale watching, hikes in Corcovado park from San Padrillo and Sirena ranger stations), zip lining, horse back riding (we did not do the riding but heard it was great). Guides Tico and Manuel are awesome and know a lot. remember to tip these guides and the boat captains. they put in a lot of effort and know a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without air conditioning if you want to hear the outdoor sounds. Unless you cannot sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a perfect place for familes and travelers to experience the rain forest, but in a very comfortable way. The accommodations are fine for informal travel, with many trips and activities on offer, including good rainforest walks with very experienced guides. Be sure to confirm the price of each tour before going, and check to be sure some other guest did not give your room number when they ordered something from the bar.

We found the climate very hot and humid, but most people did not mind, especially because the resort is right on the ocean, so you can swim or enjoy and saltwater pool.

The staff and owners are very accommodating, even offering free laundry and boot cleaning service. We had to leave a day early, and they gave us a partial refund, even though they did not have to.

If you are a birder, get Manuel for your rainforest walk guide. He is great!

You wil lhave a good time here, but be prepared for the climate.

Room Tip: Some rooms have air conditioning, but we found the nights very comfortable. Even needed a light bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family spent Christmas with the folks at Drake Bay this year. Great way to celebrate the holiday. I'd like to thank Adrian, Manuel, Andre, Sam, and all the great people who made our stay memorable. The location is incredible. The self guided kayak trips up the river outside the resort were a highlight as were the resident crocs in the bay. Our rooms opened to the sound of surf and birds and howler monkeys. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and flexible. We enjoyed the lack of AC. Although hot water for showers was hit or miss we found it a pleasure to stay in a "green" lodging with solar panels. Laundry service was included, a big plus in a place where nothing dries and mud from jungle excursions is unavoidable. Pura vida!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Everything we read in the reviews was accurate.
Getting to and from the resort to the village of Drake Bay requires a wet departure and landing. Bring sandals or appropriate foot wear and shorts.
We had a room with A/C and it did a good job of keeping the room cool. Bathroom does not have A/C (screens for ventilation).
Our room was well appointed, clean, and spacious. Ours was the farthest from all the other communal buildings. But it was not a problem and good walk.
Food and meals were excellent and everyone at the Resort took GREAT care of us.
When I returned from a tour through Corcovado NP completely dehydrated and ill, the staff helped out by coming to our room with a special electrolyte beverage that had me quickly up.
Tours with Manuel was super and he took pictures with our point and shoot digitals through his excellent spotting scope.
Tours were excellent and well organized along with food and beverages.
Internet by the office was far superior to the bar internet that uses a 3G phone connection.
Be aware it is very warm and humid there. We were soaked whenever we walked outside.

Room Tip: If you need A/C, reserve early. They only have a few units with this accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

These is one of the best places to stay in town is really nice and comfortable places to stay in Drake, take have different rooms some with AC and also they have a nice swimming pool in from of their bar. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Address: Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Wilderness Hotel Drake Bay
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Bay Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Drake Bay Wilderness Resort to your Saves list