We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Aguila!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aguila de Osa Inn to your Saves list
Aguila de Osa Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go Aguila!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

We stayed at the Aguila de Osa for four nights and can definitely recommend it. As for the rooms, we enjoyed many long hours on our veranda birdwatching and soaking up the spectacular ocean view. We also had a great time kayaking, hiking, and birding the area. Since we were there mainly to bird, we didn't do any diving or fishing, so we can't comment on those. But the resident bird guide (Carlos), who took us on a number of very productive birding trips, and on the mangrove tour, was passionate and top notch. Also, the owner of the lodge, Bradd, is a laid back guy who takes very good care of his guests. He was always around to chat with during the evening cocktail hour, and cooked up a seriously good lentil soup for a few of us vegetarians. Yep, even the owner jumps into the kitchen now and then at Aguila! In fact, all of the food was excellent (including the meat and fish dishes according the carnivores in our party!). Finally, Bradd and his lodge are highly active in regional conservation projects (including Corcovado) and in local education programs. But he can tell you all about that over a cocktail when you get there.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    28
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
65
148
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

My husband and 2 adult children recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica beginning with 3 days at the Aquila de Osa Inn. We arrived at the Palmar Sur airport from San Jose then transferred to a van for a 20 minute ride to the boat dock and another hour by boat to the lodge. There is a new airport at Drake Bay which would be a quicker journey to the lodge, but flights are very limited at this point and the airstrip is basically just a strip of dirt! Worth checking into if you plan on coming though.
Agree with what everyone else is writing for the most part. We found the area and lodge very charming. Long walk up hill to rooms that overlook the beautiful bay and ocean. Rooms are basic but roomy with screen windows and ceiling fans that provide some respite to a very hot, muggy climate with little breeze. (A swimming pool would have been nice) We were in rooms 6 & 7 and had problems with erratic hot water which I heard is an ongoing problem. Not that I minded a cold shower but it's the principle when you're paying fairly steep prices. Meals were very good, served family style which provided a great opportunity to meet people from around the world and share stories. The hike into the Corcovado Rain Forest was good although challenging (slippery) to the waterfall. In addition to hiking boots try to bring a pair of water shoes to change into as you get closer to the fall. The animal viewing was just OK at Corcovado. Nature is so hit and miss. People the day before saw the sloths but we never saw them. Saw monkeys at the inn and also along the river while kayaking, which is a must-do activity. The trip to Cano Island on day 2 was great. The snorkeling was very good and my husband and son had 2 great dives. For the Pacific Ocean they thought the visibility was quite good and saw mantas, turtles, sharks and loads of fish. I was fascinated by the millions of hermit crabs on the shore of the island. Yes, the boats do come with the tourists mid-morning but it's not out of control and there were quieter areas to relax in. After Drake BAy we continued on to Manuel Antonio and to Arenal which was great but our favorite place was Drake Bay and Aquila because of the quaint and unique experience. But it may not be like that in 5 years so go soon! We can't wait to return to Costa Rica!

  • Liked — hard to get to
  • Disliked — hard to get to
  • Tips/Secrets — Look into flying into Drake Bay instead of Palmar Sur
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Location could not have been better- was an absolutely gorgeous setting in the jungle along Drake Bay. However, you have strict meal times that begin to feel a bit like summer camp. I was enjoying the last few days of my vacation with my boyfriend and would have preferred to dine alone with him, instead of with the other guests (who were mostly friendly, so that worked in our favor). Even dinner alone would have been sufficient.

Diving near Cano Island was interesting- the guide wasn't particularly knowledgeable but was still helpful and friendly. Visibility was only 30-40 feet but we managed to see enormous southern stingrays, a manta ray, and many white tip reef sharks. Bring some Dramamine for the boat ride- takes about an hour to get there from the resort.

Corcovado park is beautiful- highly recommend hiking and getting there as early in the morning as possible!

The highlight of our trip was lounging around outside of our room in the hammock. We saw toucans, macaws, green conure parrots, hummingbirds, and on the last day- white faced monkeys stealing our coffee sugar! While cute to watch, this happens nearly every day and the owners should make the effort to put the sugar INSIDE the rooms so the monkeys don't have access to refined human sugar. Can't be good for them :(

Overall, the food was great, staff was friendly, and we loved the area. Would recommend the hotel for people who feel like being social on vacation!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a little over a year ago for our honeymoon. I was reading some of the reviews and was amazed that anyone could say that the service was horrible. It was truly and absolutely a fantastic experience with excellent service. Drake Bay is incredidibly beautiful, and all of our tour guides were great. We both cannot wait to go back, for the amazing food, beautiful scenery, and fantasic service. I most definitely reccommend this hotel!!!

  • Liked — the service and amazing environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — experience all that you can, definitely go to the Rainforest!!!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

This hotel is not for everyone, but if you want a laid back experience -one that reminds you that you are on vacation to relax, in an underdeveloped country , then this is for you.
To get to Aguila de Osa you have to fly a puddle jumper 40 minutes from San Jose and then take a boat down a river, into the ocean and across the bay. By then you should be relaxed and ready for anything. Along the way, your skipper will point out crocodiles, monkeys, birds, dolfins, whatever is around -and a ton is around.
The rooms are large cabins on top of a hill, almost in the canopy.
The staff puts coffee outside of your room around 5am -and you may wake up to monkeys stealing the sugar from the cups.
look forward to lounging in your hamock while watching iguanas and toucans in the trees. (request a cabin w/a hamock -not all have them)
Try deep sea fishing -we caught tuna, wahoo, a 6 foot shark (which was cut loose) & mahi-mahi.
Great snorkeling around Cano island -my husband lost his wedding ring there -however, it was recovered underwater weeks later and returned (wild but true, and that is how small and friendly the community is).
Food was good -someone was always fishing, so fresh fish every night. enjoyed the free wine with dinner.
We were there for 3 nights, I would do 4, but 5 would have me wanting to get back to civilization.
Went in early December -had a some rain & clothing will not dry out if cotton.
I would 100% take kids there.
-It is not the Four Seasons, but a different kind of luxury.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

The hotel was amazing. Everything was divine from the magnificent diving to the food. I found the staff were very efficient and friendly. Our room was beautiful it had breath taking views over the pacific ocean. While we were there we did the diving trip twice, the sirena trip and the canopy tour. They were all of a really high standard. If you are a diver or thinking of learning to dive this is the place to come. We saw some great sealife here. We have dived in a number of places including the Great Barrier reef but this has been the best ever. The dive instructor was very proffessional and informative so learning to dive there would be great. We really recommend this place it is fantastic. We guarantee you a memorable experience if you go there. We hope this was helpful.
Kevin,Nat and Lara, ENGLAND

  • Tips/Secrets — Go diving
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

The place is magical, it is situated in a beautiful tiny bay, surrounded by luscious nature, but the service couldn't be nastier, What a SHAME! We were a group of 8, two couples with two teenagers each, and tried to get a lunch, but the girl in the restaurant had no interest in giving us any service, the manager was drunk in front of our eyes, we asked for two cocktails from the menu and were not available because they run out of the ingredients (no wonder). It was really a bitter experience, because the nature around is incredibly beautiful, but the management of the hotel ruined our intent to spend a nice afternoon there.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguila de Osa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.