We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most beautiful location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aguila de Osa Inn to your Saves list
Aguila de Osa Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
South Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A most beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was at Aguila de Osa Inn in May 2013. Tho't I had given kudos already but, hadn't.
What a great place to stay on beautiful Drake Bay. Most exquisite. Staff was very helpful in helping when I needed transport.
Had a very great experience staying.
Attaching some pics to show what they have.
Wanting to return in a few months.

Room Tip: I happened to get room # 10. It had a great view and easy access. Be careful of the beautiful polis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    28
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
65
148
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved this hotel. Very comfortable and beautiful. You are in the jungle and on the water. You will see monkeys, Toucans, Iguana's and much more all from your room. The food and staff was excellent. There is not a beach at this resort, you have to walk about 10 minutes on a nice trail to a very nice beach. You can kayak up stream some distance right from the Inn. It is very easy to book other adventures right from the Inn and we took advantage of the mangrove tour, zip lining and snorkeling. It is a bit of an adventure to get there. Once we landed at the airstrip we took a range rover to a small river. There we had to forge the river on horses (normally they can drive through, but it was a bit high when we were there), then we took another van to a beach where we took a boat around the bend to the Inn. All of that only takes about 20 minutes and added to our adventure. I was with my wife and teenagers and we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If the spirit of adventure and comfort are mixed in the perfect proportion, one would have to select Aguila de Osa Inn has one of the sterling examples for this type of vacation. Bradd Johnson has created over the past 20 years a lovely boutique bed and “breakfast”(qualified B & B) inn in the middle of the jungle. Accessible by boat over open ocean, you know that once the boat has landed at the dock you are in for something special. Recall the opening segments of “Fantasy Island,” if you are of that vintage. A very, very competent staff that is bilingual greets you, and in our case Eduardo was our first contact and begins by addressing you on a first name basis. The rest of the staff is quick to recall all of our names and greet and serve us in this familial tone for the rest of our stay. Eduardo reviewed with us the overall operation of the place including the 3 meals a day (more than a breakfast) as well as describing the available activities each day, including a visit to the local rain forest, a must, and other eco adventures i.e. snorkeling, fishing, etc. Golf is not an option! The hotel offers free kayaks for the guests, and the river that opens into Drake Bay offers many options for paddling, including following the local crocodiles. Up river is more serene, but can only be negotiated during high tide, otherwise be prepared for some mild white water rafting but can still tip you over, speaking from personal experience.
The rooms are simple and well appointed. Hooray no TVs and no windows, just screens. The night sounds of animals, birds, crickets, and teeming rain provides plenty of entertainment. The bathrooms are modern, at least in our room. Our son and daughter in law were in an older unit that will soon be refurbished, according to Bradd. The amazing thing about the rooms is the wood construction, open and high ceilings and the very uniquely carved front doors. The porches have a mix of rocking chairs, Adirondack chairs and fantastic hammocks with views of the treetops and the bay ahead. By the way, the property, approx. 30 acres, had a pretty good sampling of the local wildlife including our best citing of macaws, capuchin monkeys, and various lizards. Also, additional fauna is brought up to the dock in the form of local catches of the day that eventually become the evening meal. During our stay, some remarkable specimens, including 72 lbs. yellow tail tuna, as well as other local water fish were being filet before our very eyes, with the local fisherman providing us with lots of info about the various species.
The meals are wonderful and yet not overwhelming. Dixon presides over an immaculate and open kitchen, and prepares a series of excellent and wholesome meals. It could be that the setting has something to do with enjoyment of each meal. All guests, and in our case we numbered around 20 most days, eat at large bbq type tables in an open dining room looking over the bay. You get to be quite familial with each other over the course of a few days. We were not the only family with our 8 yr. old grand daughter so these other parents are all eager to give their children a unique perspective of the meaning of nature and wildlife. Breakfast menus offered multiple choices and always included a fruit smoothie, an addictive habit. Lunch was equally satisfying but no menu was provided. It was the chef’s special. If you were out on an excursion, a box lunch was provided with a lovely sandwich, fruit, and a drink. Dinner included two choices, which you selected at lunch from options written on a white board. Typically a fish dinner or a meat dish. Not sure what would happen with vegans, but I am sure Dixon would rise to the occasion with no problem. Dinner is served around 7 following a cocktail hour where appetizers are served. These could be enough for dinner. Ian, Mike or Luis masterfully mixes cocktails…. A fabulous set of young men who greet you and share their stories with you as if you were old friends. Some live on the property and always seem to be ready to serve you, whether it is getting a cup of coffee off hours, or a towel for the beach, or simply sharing their photos of their wild life experiences, which are vast and unique.
The Shangri-La is not for everyone, but for those who want to be near the jungle and enjoy first class accommodations when they return from their field trips, I cannot think of a better place on Earth than the Aguila De Osa Inn. It is unforgettable experience on so many levels and we can only thank Bradd and his staff for their overwhelming attention to making the guests feel at home and provide each and every one of us with the very best memories of this oasis in the forest. I hope they will continue to maintain the high standard they have already achieved and keep this little bit of paradise going for a long, long time. I am already starting to save my coins for the next time, realizing that it will take several coins to make it happen. But it is well worth every penny of it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms. Room 7 was, Room 8 was not as yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed this exquisite destination for one week. Perfect get away for everyone from honeymooners to families. We brought our 11 & 15 year old children. There was plenty to do! We enjoyed a mangrove tour, horseback riding, zip lining, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, and hiking through the rain forest. We felt like we learned something new on every excursion. We saw amazing sights and wildlife every day. Staff were all professional, yet friendly and knowledgeable. The food and the service were among the best I have ever experienced.
Thank you Brad for an incredible adventure that we will always cherish!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed for three nights. During the wet season. Staff were absolutely superb, we felt really well looked after. I had room nine, overlooking the bay, with a nice private balcony and hammock.

Food is really excellent and catered for one vegetarian really well.

We saw an incredible amount of wildlife in and around the hotel, the whole place was alive! Beautifully tended gardens around the property with just the right balance of tending whilst retaining a natural feel.

Highlights were the kayak trip up the river, our horse riding tour (galloping on the beach) and best of all our night hike with two local experts (ask for the night tour with Tracy and John). We saw so much wildlife on that tour including whip scorpions, trapdoor spiders, tarantulas and snakes....and only a few hundred yards from the hotel!

I would go back in a heartbeat - big thanks to Brad and his team for a wonderful trip

Room Tip: Ask for one with a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There are lots of reviews that concur with our impression. With only 11 guests on average during our entire stay, it was intimate and friendly. I was there with my two sons, 16 & 18, focused on scuba diving. The great joy turned out to be the Corcovado Hikes, Canopy Tour and an overall very relaxing stay .. during the rainy season.

I also did the birdwatch tour and the three of us did the night bug tour with Carlos - whose enthusiasm alone is worth the price of the tour.

We stayed in rooms 1 & 2, and felt like we had our own private villa / tree house. There are some pics, so check them out. Food was tasty, happy hour was convivial and everything always seemed very relaxed.

It's a special place. I've visited 45 countries, rarely write reviews, but feel I have a perspective that makes my compliments meaningful

Tom

Room Tip: All places are great. Lower numbered rooms require less uphill walking. Parties of 3-4 should re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. This hotel was AMAZING! It truly is in the rain forest and offers the best seclusion. Staff was friendly and always available to assist. The entire hotel was impeccably clean. Our room had a gorgeous view, amazing windows, and the clearest view of the stars at night that I have ever seen. We did the snorkeling excursion and our tour guide was very patient with me while I adjusted to breathing underwater. She also was very knowledgeable of the best spots and wildlife. The hotel also offers kayaking and many paths to hike. Overall an exquisite hotel that really exceeded all expectations. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants to truly experience the beauty of Costa Rica to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguila de Osa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.