We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE highlight of our trip to Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aguila de Osa Inn to your Saves list
Aguila de Osa Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MAY FREE NIGHT WITH MEALS
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE highlight of our trip to Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Friends had been to Drake Bay and stayed elsewhere but ended up on the deck of Aguila every evening for cocktails. They highly recommended that we stay here and we are soooooo glad we did. Flying down from San Jose gave us a great aerial view of the coastline. Landing at the small, quaint airport and being greeted by Carlos and his crew was a great welcome. We met some local Scarlett Macaws on the beach where we transferred to Aguila's small boat shuttle. A welcome cocktail and hike to our room, which was the highest perch on the hill, told us we were in for many treats. I photographed the produce bins first and learned that most of it was grown hydroponically on the property. The kitchen is open and the staff is extremely friendly. When I went in to compliment the chef on our first dinner and dessert, he offered to give me recipes.
We kayaked, snorkeled and ATE! The best tour, for us, was the mangrove tour. The photo of me is with some white-faced capuchins that climbed onto our tour boat. A BRAVE momma brought her baby on board to visit. Carlos instructed us on how to behave so that she would stay calm and comfortable.
Our only sad note was leaving. When we went to our next destination, it was such a culture shock. We wished we had saved Aguila de Osa for the last leg of our trip! We continue to communicate with the people we met there, one couple from Germany even! Meals became a time for rich sharing and planning. We are sharing photos now. We will go back!! And stay longer!

Room Tip: Every room has its perks. Ours was the highest up, so commanded the most spectacular view and had co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    34
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
76
166
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

To say that Aguila de Osa is everything you could want in a Costa Rican vacation is an understatement. On the short taxi ride from the Drake Bay air strip, my dad and I were taken to a beach and then traveled to the resort in one of their many private boats. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff, a cocktail, and a quick run down of what our week would be like. Our bags were waiting for us in our villa along with two red macaws feeding on an almond tree just outside.

The week was fantastic. The staff is superior and we never had to wait on anything. Every night your excursions are laid out for you and the next morning you are briefed and promptly on your way to diving, snorkeling, hiking, fishing, zip lining, whatever you feel like. Every excursion is top notch, and the guides make you feel comfortable with whatever you're doing that day.

Service at Aguila de Osa is some of the best I have ever experienced in a hotel stay. Everyone is very friendly, and will take the time to answer any question you might have. Every meal was fresh and promptly prepared. My favorite part was in the early evening when we were prepared with fresh appetizers, including guacamole and ceviche, and sipped on cocktails with other guests and discussed our day. The close knit environment provides you with an extended family for your stay, and it's fun to hear all of the stories from everyone's excursions.

So, if you're thinking about a trip to Drake Bay in Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. If you get a chance, track down the owner, Brad, and get him to tell you his story of building Aguila. It's definitely one you'll want to soak in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am an artist and nature photographer and Aguila de Osa was a perfect match. We had 4 days in this luscious location on Drake Bay, with great views, a spacious room with a wall of windows and rocking chairs on the porch. The garden is amazingly rich with flowers, butterflies and birds. Well prepared food and the freshest fish often caught that day. Tours, don't miss them. The mangrove boat trip was full of spectacular wildlife and guide Carlos is the best. Snorkeling around Cano island with turtles and numerous fish, Dolphins on the return and lunch on a great beach, this is hard to beat. My only regret was not taking a full day trip to Corcovado, half a day was not enough for me. The staff was wonderfully helpful and attentive and again my thanks to Carlos, an outstanding nature guide. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is hard to add more to what others have said about Aguila, but here goes. It is a beautiful setting on Drake bay with nature abounding at every turn. Brad the owner has obviosly put a lot into making this such a beautiful place to be.

Highlights were bird tours with Carlos, the mangrove tour with Carlos and most all interactions with him! What a guy. We were very focused on photography and it is a photographer's paradise too. He put us on magnificent birds, crocs, monkeys and vistas.

The other hightlight was dining and the service we received from everyone, but especially the guys who served meals. As mentioned before, meals are mostly preplanned except for breakfast and you eat at three or four large table so it is very socialble as well as delicious. The evening cocktail hour featured fresh fish and other tasty morsels. It was so nice to quickly meet other folks from all over the world with similar interests. Families there could not have been nicer or more well behaved. Rarely today do we see so much outgoing and respect by young kids amoung adults. They brought much joy to our visit.

You do need to know that getting to your room involves a steep climb of something like 150 steps or inclines. At 79, it took a couple of rest stops each time. It's certainly doable, but if limitations, be aware. The fact that it was very hot made that a little tougher in mid day. There was some breeze at times, but the large vegetation cuts it off depending on the direction of the wind.

Room Tip: This is a tough one since most are all the same and fairly close. There are 13 rooms with the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My parents (a very young 73 & 74 yo) and adult children (ages 20, 23, 24) spent 6 fantastic days at Aguila de Osa. The lodge and grounds are beautiful ... steep and rugged, lush and green, flowers and birds everywhere. We enjoyed tours in the AM (Sirena Corcovado hike, Canopy Tour, Mangrove Tour & the Night Tour with the Bug Lady). Beach time & kayaking in the afternoon. We especially enjoyed the front porch and the rocking chairs for reading & just hanging out. The staff was attentive, and the food was good, albeit a little over-spiced at times. We highly recommend this lodge, the staff and the overall experience. We had a wonderful time and priceless memories.

Room Tip: 6, 7 & 8 had a fantastic view of Drake Bay. These standard rooms are up high and get a nice bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My (adult) daughter and I stayed at Aguila De Osa in February 2013. We had had an amazing stay, location to die for, fantastic, friendly and attentive staff & a warm, sociable atmosphere. The hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere, meal times are incredibly sociable with guests sharing large tables where everyone can discuss the day's adventures and enjoy good, fresh food and a cocktail or two.Brad and his staff make this hotel a place I definitely want to return to.

Dorothy & Ruth, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Room Tip: The hotel is set on a hilly site, it is not a place for people who are not reasonably fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel and staff can not do enough for you to make your trip unforgettable. The Captain of the Tenacity and mate on the fishing boat is simply the best in the world.The diving and staff on the dive boat are the best. The food was incredible. The views breath taking. Just cant say enough good things. I think everyone should visit at least once in their life. Thank You for such a great trip.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguila de Osa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.