We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I only gave it all "fives" because the scale didn't go up to "six!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aguila de Osa Inn to your Saves list
Aguila de Osa Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
free night with meals!!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I only gave it all "fives" because the scale didn't go up to "six!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in a beautiful, well maintained resort. Everything was first class--the facilities, the tours, the food--BUT especially the staff. You may find equivalent places to stay, but I doubt you will find any better!! AW

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    28
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
64
145
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We're traveling throughout Costa Rica for five weeks and spent our first five days at Aguila de Osa, a gorgeous property under the outstanding helmsmanship of Bradd Johnson, or as we like to call him," the Commodore". We stayed in the beautiful honeymoon cabin, which is more like the most luxurious treehouse you can imagine, looking out over the property's wild rain forest landscape. The woodwork of the gleaming polished floors and beams is astonishing.This truly feels like the middle of nowhere, and for us that's always a good thing! Every detail has been considered in making this hotel blend into the surrounding environment, and Bradd and his staff's commitment to sustainability is very impressive --- indeed, he pretty much wrote the book on environmentally conscientious hospitality in this part of the world.

We can't say enough about the calibre of service of the entire staff, who nonetheless keep it real with a warm and easy-going vibe. No stuffy or pretentious "boutique-ness" here! Two especially noteworthy residents are Chef Dixon, who went the extra mile to whip up delicious gluten-free dishes for me (Thank you, chef!! Still dreaming of those banana pancakes ...) and the undisputed divine hostess of Aguila de Osa, Coco, whose warmth and constant attentiveness added immeasurably to our delight during our stay.

Needless to say, there was an abundance of wildlife on site every day --- scarlet macaws, monkeys, toucans, giant grasshopper, lizards, frogs, a cayman, two and three-toed sloths, giant morpho butterflies --- and in the water, white tip sharks, giant schools of brilliantly colored fish, moray eels, puffer fish, dolphins, turtles, and many, many others. All dive trips and hikes were perfectly organized and conducted by very enthusiastic and well-trained naturalists (special thanks to our two wonderful dive mistresses, Gabriela and Sandra!).

We were happy to meet The Commodore, so muchas gracias, Bradd, Coco, and the oustanding staff at Aguila de Osa for an unforgettable stay --- we'll be back! Pura vida!

Room Tip: Cabin 11, the honeymoon suite, is heavenly and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What paradise! My new husband and I were the first guests when Aguila re-opened after the green season. We were greeted by a friendly and attentive team, Coco (the owner's dog), and the most delicious passionfruit daquiris. The room was awesome with a beautiful view of the bay, iguanas, macaws, monkeys, and two rainbows! I loved birdwatching from the shower!

Things NOT to miss in Drake Bay....The Night Tour with Tracie and Gian, Sirena station (or really anywhere in Corcovado), horseback riding on the beach, snorkeling at Cano Island.

A few shout outs....Hats off to the chef who managed to make us mmm and ahhh at every meal. A special thanks to Claudio for "party rockin" with us! And of course to Bradd, who we loved getting to know and can't wait to see again. Thanks for running an amazing hotel and ending our honeymoon on the highest note possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place all was good, food service,room,transfers to site was flawless. located at Drakes Bay, Costa Rica, rooms are up overlooking the bay and it is short climb.The room was beautiful with a great view of bay, monkeys in the trees for entertainment.The food was prepared by Dixon a trained chef did great job and all meals were very enjoyable.Bradd the owner is very helpful and fun to interact with,Claudio makes great gin and tonics to enjoy at cocktail hour.The tours sre fun and we enjoyed a nice beach that was a 20min walk.The service is top notch and the staff is friendly and helpfully.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The tours were wonderful, including snorkeling, hiking through the rain forest (Corcovado) to a waterfall and seeing monkeys, crocodiles, sloths; then of course there was the zip line tour. All of those are planned seamlessly. The best part is the remoteness and feeling of adventure getting to and being in the area. We flew in on a small plane, were met by a van and driven on a dirt road to the river. They loaded our bags onto a small boat. We went ten miles or so down the river to the ocean and then drove directly to Aguila in Drake bay. The rooms are large, airy and open, no glass anywhere but screens on the windows in the room. It was the most spectacular feeling when it rained at night and we could hear it all around but stayed perfectly dry. When it didn't rain you could hear (and see) the ocean from the rooms. We also had a hammock from on our deck from which we could span the bay and the forest around us. The food was excellent. We had fresh fish every night some of which my boyfriend caught himself. The staff was always very friendly but not overbearing. Claudio made the best gin and tonics! Homemade chocolate chip cookies were always available in the dining area, not to mention the homemade breads and desserts. What more could anyone want.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were excellent. There are only 14 of them. They all have a view of the ocean amid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In Costa Rica if wildlife excursions are your thing then this is where you want to be! Three full days minimum!!! Drake Bay is exceptionally beautiful and rich with wildlife!! You wake to the sounds of Howler monkeys in the rainforest and macaws flying overhead. Do not miss the mangrove tour!! If you enjoy deep sea fishing charter a boat for the day as the area waters are the best in the world for catch and release sail-fishing. If you like creepy crawlies take the guided nighttime bug tour!! Ask the manager about other tour options best suited to you including guided rainforest hikes. If you are an experienced scuba diver or snorkeler you may be disappointed in the visibility and lack of colorful corals, although there pelagic species in the area.
The rooms are comfortable in their simplicity, open and airy..no phones, no TV, no AC trust me you won't miss them! Dining is communal which may seem odd until you start discussing your days adventures with you new friends. The staff are friendly, tour guides professional and knowledgable and the service is fantastic!!! The food is great and freshly prepared to order. If you go fishing you, and the other guests, will likely be eating something you caught!
This is NOT the Ritz so if you want a sterilized vacation experience don't stay here! You need to be moderately fit as you will be active and it does get hot during the day!! Be aware of your surroundings even on the hotel grounds it is not unusual to come face to face with monkeys or an occasional boa.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day stay at Aguila de Osa. Bradd made us feel like welcome friends. The architecture and ambience of this remote and gorgeous small resort are remarkable. All of the logistics seem to go like clockwork everyday. Bradd has made his hotel an employer of the local population and he has developed a well oiled machine. Day trips are included and are well run by competent and knowledgeable guides. We did the scuba diving at Cano Island and the guided nature hike in Corcovado park plus we used sit on top kayaks available at the lodge to explore the river and shoreline near the resort. When we left we forgot out passports and did not realize it until we were about 30 minutes by boat from th e lodge. The crew made no fuss and turned us around while calling someone at the hotel to get th e passports and start out to meet us. What incredible service! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to the lodge and it is a steep climb up to the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguila de Osa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.