We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you could want and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Save Saved
You added Aguila de Osa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aguila de Osa Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free night with meals!!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Drake Bay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“everything you could want and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Brilliant location, the tours were very well run and well worth it. The food was lovely and staff very helpful. We had room 11 which was definately the best as you have most privacy and amazing views over the bay. Nice to have free access to the kyaks which we made the most of. The wildlife was so accessible and just stunning. We stayed 4 nights which was the perfect length of time to do 2 tours and have one relaxing day on the kyaks. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: room 11 is the most private with best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    26
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
58
138
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our stay at Aguila de Osa Inn was an unsurpassed vacation experience. Spectacular location overlooking Drake Bay on the edge of the rain forest. Wildlife galore. Enjoyed viewing monkeys, scarlet macaws, dolphins, sloths, and even a sea otter while kayaking on the river next to the Inn. Woke up every morning to the sounds of birds and the beautiful bay views. Remote location makes the area very uncommercial. Getting there is part of the adventure.

Owner Brad Johnson makes you feel right at home and has put together an outstanding team. Olman, Luis, Ivan, Karen are so attentive, courteous, and take care of your every need before you even know you have one. Tony, Carlos, Gabriela, and Sandra were fantastic and knowledgeable guides.

Our stay was made even more pleasurable by the unexpected bonus of resident dog, Coco, who was our regular companion on hikes and walks. Enjoyed meeting other guests from around the world. Room was immaculate, and beautiful grounds are well-tended and manicured. Delicious organic produce is grown in on-site greenhouse.

This place is a gem. Go there and treasure it. We'll definitely be returning.

Laura A

Room Tip: Master suite was wonderful, but you can't go wrong in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I spent four days at Aguila de Osa with four other members of our extended family. I have never had a better ocean stay.

My soul was refreshed by the natural beauty--gorgeous flora, beautiful birds and animals in their natural habitat. The rooms are situated on a hillside--our family had three, and they felt like little tree houses with ocean views. We watched scarlet macaws eat in the trees from one of the decks. Because of the steep walk, we came home fitter and thinner than when we left (not the usual post vacation experience!).

The staff were friendly, well-informed, and highly attentive. The bar staff were so gracious, and Luis always seemed to be at my husband's elbow just when he needed a club soda. The tour guides--Sandra, Tony, and Carlos and the staff who assisted them--knew their respective subject matters and greatly enhanced our stay. The boat driver, Dennis, was as skilled as any I've ever met. And the rooms were immaculate.

Finally, the food was spectacular. The chef, Dixon, and Lily and the other staff skillfully served fabulous meals every single day. The ingredients were very fresh. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests and sharing our experiences of the day during dinner.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Can't wait to go back! Gorgeous spot, lovely people, great accommodations, lots to do, like an English countryside house party set in the tropics. Food was too good, views are breathtaking. These people know how to entertain and make you feel comfortable. Crazy birds, snakes, spiders, porpoises, incredible plants. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I absolutely loved this place. The location is absolutely gorgeous, the guides were great, tours were incredible, staff were friendly and helpful; meals were tasty; communal dining was fun. I went with my husband and teenage son for five days and we had an amazing time.

(Yes it is hot, yes there are a lot of steps up to the rooms, yes you will get your feet wet getting there! Getting to the beach involves a fairly strenuous hike on a muddy trail and over a suspension bridge. It's not for everyone. We thought it was awesome.)

The one and only (minor) complaint I could make is that they do not bring coffee up to the rooms in the morning. I asked and was told that they used to do that, but stopped because people asked for it but didn't drink it. So it's a long walk down from your room to the dining area in the morning to get some coffee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Wonderful experience, from the pick-up at Drake Bay airport (already waiting when we got out of the plane) to the drop-off by boat at Sierpe and everything in between...

Awesome views, good food, nice drinks, great staff, fun tours and good tour guides. The starters at 6.00 pm and cocktails before dinner were very good.

You can grab a kayak and paddle on the river or to the ocean...Sit back on your porch and enjoy the porch. Scarlet macaws, many hummingbirds and butterflies - amongst others - right in front of your room.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Drake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our family of 4 recently spent 3 nights at Aguila de Osa Inn and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Cabin 8 which is a longer hike from the dinning room, but worth it as the view is magnificent. We were greeted frequently by humming birds and macaws as we sat on our porch. They frequent the almond tree on the grounds, I believe. I would recommend the higher # Cabins with the better view if you don't mind the uphill hike. We did 2 excursions which were absolutely wonderful. First we went to Corcovado NP to Sirena station and had a guided hike. We saw a fair amount of wildlife, including a mother and baby Tapir (what a treat!). I would recommend the longer trip to Sirena as the wildlife is more abundant compared to San Pedrillo. It is worth the extra time in the boat, and that time gives you opportunities to see dolphin and whales (if in season). The second trip was the mangrove tour with Carlos, who knows exactly where the wildlife is and we saw incredible diversity, including boas, owls, caimans and of course many monkeys and birds. He is very entertaining as well.
The food was superb and probably the best part of the Inn, with the exception of the very friendly, attentive and accommondating staff. They were great. I think Aguila is a wonderful place to stay when you visit Drake Bay and would return in a minute. Thank you Aguila de Osa for making our visit to Drake Bay wonderful!

Room Tip: I would get a room higher up on the hill with the better view, if you don't mind the uphill hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguila de Osa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.