We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center

Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center
Center of Drake Bay, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
+506 6198 5899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
PT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just go there and enjoy it! Enjoy your meal and just ask Curt why is this PARADISE! ;-) You'll know what I mean! After the conversation, you'll want to stay there FOREVER! ;-)
And, by the way, the food is GREAT!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    26
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food & very nice owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Small menu but fresh tasty food. I usually don't eat fish but Curt made me changed my mind. The fish here is so good, perfectly grilled in banana leaves. I loved it. The fruit cocktail is also delicious. Curt, the owner, is very nice and THE source of information for Drake Bay and activities around. I warmly recommend you go there on your 1st night in Drake bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only time I had vegetables in Costa Rica!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I love Costa Rica, but I'm a veggie and after 6 weeks I was pretty tired of rice and beans. I decided to meet some people for dinner and they recommended this place. This is quite a limited menu and only one veggie option, but it was fantastic. A huge portion of Vermicelli style pasta with vegetables. So tasty and so big that I took a doggy bag home with me. I was pleased I went here as the service was excellent and the food was great. Much needed vegetables. In addition, it was pretty cheap for the size of the meal. I think I paid £3 for my food and it easily could've been shared between two people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommend!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful! Loved the food (delicious, inexpensive, ginormous helpings of fresh fish and vegetables); Love the view (amazing birds (blue gray tanager, Passerini's tanager, motmot, ed legged honey creeper, and many more)eating bananas on feeders in close to the deck); Love Curt (a wealth of information on the area); Love the outstanding array or stunning images of flora and fauna of the peninsula on auto advance on a large screen easy viewing from tables; Love the yummy pineapple, papaya and banana smoothies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent and simple food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went twice for dinner at Curt's restaurant. He is charming, and he gave us so many advices about the region. It was great having him telling us interesting things while we eat his delicious dishes. If you ask for one dish, two persons will eat. Try the banana-pineapple- papaya rhum shake... Amazing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.