We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center

Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center
Center of Drake Bay, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
+506 6198 5899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Curt makes a mean dinner. We tried everything on the menu and enjoyed it all. His sauteed veggies are to die for! One thing I would like to warn people about is a tour that Curt recommended to us, a hike in the Tamandua primary forest. The hike itself was excellent, although there was not much wildlife to see here, it is a primary forest ie. not as much wildlife. The beauty is in the trees and plants. We did this with our 3 kids, 11,9 &7. We loved the tour but the price was rediculous. It is a rip off. We paid $300 for a half day trip. The ATV's from our hotel to the jungle cost $100 (no problem) and the guide we met at the Tamandua center was paid $20-40 (I cannot exactly remember as we paid in colones, but it was a very fair price). This means our guide Pedro made $160 for a half day and he had no expenses (no gear, refreshment, nothing). We felt jilted and were disappointed we didn't do a canopy tour instead. We highly recommend the Rio Claro tour. The best tour ever. Much less money, more interesting and they provide you with water shoes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    34
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hope you can get a table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. There are three dishes, my favorite was the fish taco. It's absolutely massive. Curt certainly makes sure everyone leaves there full. Full of food and information! Occasionally liquor too.
"Pura Vida"

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An absolute must !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Curt who run this place is a fantastic person. If you like to know something about Drake or Corcovado National Park or Costa Rica for that matter , go to Curt !

And he makes delicious fish as well...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good information, laid back atmosphere, food was in large enough portions for two people to share one plate. Awesome tasting dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent. This guy is great and knows what he is doing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is a pleasant surprise in Drake Bay after some below average and just average places here. Fish is fresh. Menu is simple and small so this place is not attempting to do a lot poorly. Veggie pasta with fish, fish taco, mahi mahi. All three entrees were excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.