We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-la” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Night Hike Adventure
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
San Jose
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shangri-la”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excelent food, friendly service, very nice rooms. Location is perfect, beach front. Nature is all around with its incredible colors and sounds. I love that this is a friendly enviromental hotel. It was a real nice experience visiting Copa de arbol.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Copa De Arbol. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
116
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our family (5 of us plus a friend) visited Copa De Arbol Resort in January of this year (sorry for the late review, but it shows you that I am still dreaming of it!). We had a mixed group of young and older adults, including our special needs daughter. Everyone was incredibly welcoming, thoughtful and kind! Mike and his ENTIRE staff were fantastic! We had three cabins and each one was gorgeous and unique! We will definitely be back! THANK YOU for the fantastic experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Elizabeth,

Having your family here was a true pleasure. One of the greatest things about being here is that we get to meet really interesting & cool people from all over the world. I really enjoyed Jim’s stories from his military career and his times spent in the jungles of the Philippines. That map of the Osa you guys left us was such a nice gift!! Thanks for sharing here on Trip Advisor. Come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife Nancy and I stayed at Copa de Arbol in early March. No need to repeat all that has been well said in the other reviews. Mike and his team do a terrific job and deserve commendation. Our villa was beautifully appointed and the deck space, with love seat, table and hammock, was huge and private. It amazes us that they could build such a wonderful resort with pool yet no road access. Just a great holiday we would love to repeat.
Mike and Nancy Reynolds
Edmonton Alberta Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Mike and Nancy,

We are honored that you chose Copa De Arbol as the place to stay on the Osa Peninsula. We are extremely honored that you would like to return. It was great meeting you both and we hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This resort is located near Drakes Bay, Costa Rica, and the nature experience is wonderful, and the resort experience is 5 star. The food and the service was outstanding, and the individual villas were private, and the amenities included: polished hardwood floors, air conditioning, nice bathrooms and a nice porch. The restaurant is on the second floor and every table has a great view of the ocean. We went on three tours: Corcovado National Park, Cano Island and the night tour of the jungle. Each tour had their high points. Corcovado NP is an hour away by boat, and we saw porpoise, turtles and many sea birds during the boat trip. While at Corcovado we saw all three types of Costa Rica monkeys, tapir, parrots, macaw and many other unique animals. I also learned that you never stand under the monkeys because they drop things on you, bad things. The Cano Island tour was mostly a snorkel experience, unfortunately the water visibility was only 10 feet. The water visibility varies from season to season. We saw many birds and marine life. The night tour of the jungle was my favorite; the guide took us into the jungle behind the resort. The guide showed us spiders hunting small fish, frogs, crawfish, 4 inch spiders, peccary, etc; the night time ecosystem is a unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Reading your review brought back memories from my first day on the Osa. In our early 20’s, Jay and I bought a van and began a journey that resulted in many years of extensive exploration of the entire coastline from the California border to Panama. On our first day visiting the Osa Peninsula we saw more wildlife in one day than we had after half a decade of roaming all around the region, It was one of the most amazing days of my life and I am still fortunate enough to be reliving that day and that feeling 20 years later. Thanks for helping to make our dream come true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wow! Copa de Arbol exceeded our all of our expectations. Our adventure began as soon as we stepped off the boat into the warm ocean and onto the beach of Copa de Arbol surrounded by palm trees and blue skies in March with our daughter 23, her boyfriend 22, and our two sons 7 and 9.

We had 2 cabinas: Mango and Coco. Each "thatched" cabina is beautifully appointed and immaculately kept. We fell asleep each night to the sound of the ocean and the sounds of many night creatures and were awakened many mornings by the sound of the Howler monkeys all the while cool and comfortable in our air conditioned cabina! What more could you ask for! Nature and Comfort. True luxury in the middle of the jungle.

The resort is nestled on the hillside overlooking the ocean. At the center of the resort is the open air reception/dining with breathtaking views of the bay. White Face Capuchin monkeys visit often trying to steal food from the kitchen!

I can not say enough about the hard working restaurant staff, Mario, Dylan and Ronnie. Mario (the dining manager) was there everyday from 5 am to 11 pm to make sure that all of our needs were met! Not only do 2 of our children have food allergies, but we also have one VERY picky eater. This was never an issue. Mario was always so accommodating and more than willing to prepare something special for our needs. Dinner is typically served from 6pm on. During our first night our youngest fell asleep at the table before having dinner. Mario suggested that we have our dinner earlier the next few nights of our stay, "it will be better for our little friend" ,he said. From that night on he always had dinner ready for our children around 5:00. So thoughtful!

The meals, usually a choice of 2 entrees, were always delicious. Fresh fruits, vegetables and fish from the sea. One of the days we were there they caught a Tuna, which we ate fresh that night! Amazing!

There are no roads or cars here. You travel everywhere by boat. This was as much of an adventure as our scheduled tour for the day. Breath taking views and spotted dolphins on every journey.

We spent an amazing day hiking through Serena Corocovado National Park with Alberto, and a thrilling night hike through the jungle with Mauricio. I would highly recommend both! Alberto and Mauricio are so knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. Great with families! MANY animals!!

We also visited Cano island for a diving trip for the adults and snorkeling for the kids. The island is beautiful and we had such a great time we went back a second day! We were fortunate enough to see a Whale Shark which swam right up to our boat! AMAZING!

Of course, you don't even have to leave the resort if you don't want to. Relax by the pool with a drink from the bar, swim in the ocean, paddle board, kayak, or take a nap on the beach (just not under a coconut tree)!

The resort has it all. Beaches, pool, luxuriously appointed cabins, great dining, peace & quite, thrilling adventures, wildlife, and a wonderful staff. The staff: Julian, Angel, Mario, Dylan, Ronnie and the wonderful owners Jay and Mike really go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you want. If you need something just ask! They will make it happen if at all possible.

A very special place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Vacations are what separate our everyday lives from peak moments, truly special times. To be trusted with such a special time is a true honor that we appreciate and respect. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for all who visit Copa De Arbol, Your review reconfirms that we are on the right track. Thanks so much for taking the time to share and come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrj138
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'll skip to the main point in case you don't want to read this whole review - if you are thinking about going to the Osa Peninsula, no need to look anywhere else - Copa de Arbol is a unique, amazingly beautiful and friendly place.

Even though Copa de Arbol is relatively new, you wouldn't know it by how amazingly flawless it is in every aspect. Beautifully appointed hardwood cabinas set on the edge of dense, wild, primary tropical rainforest each with a wonderful view of Drake Bay.

We were woken each morning by some combination of toucans, macaws, and howler monkeys. The days start early (the monkeys start each morning about 30 minutes before sunrise, well before 5:30am) but you will want to get up and start exploring this magical place (we also found ourselves going to bed pretty early each night (9:30pm was a struggle).

The beach is pristine and while much of it is rocky, there is a great sandy swimming area just down at the north end of the beach. Short, relatively easy hikes in either direction will lead to endless hidden beaches and swimming holes that you will likely have all to yourself.

We were there one of the busiest weeks of the year, and it never once seemed crowded. With roughly only 25-30 guests at a time and relatively few other hotels in the area you feel as though you have this whole paradise to yourself.

The wildlife viewing at the resort was unreal. Capuchin monkeys came through many days, right across the roof of our cabina on their way to the beach (where 20 of them played for at least 20 minutes). While the monkeys were there, we got to see whales breaching in the bay. We also so howler and spider monkeys, macaws, toucans, tree frogs, dolphins, a sloth, and a large number of birds, butterflies, and insects right on the resort's grounds.

The pool is beautiful and relaxing. The open air restaurant and small bar are great. Each meal was outstanding - especially the fresh-caught grouper, ceviche, and sushi.

There are kayaks and paddleboards available to explore the nearby coastline. We took one out at sunset - I highly recommend it.

I also recommend the tour to the Sirena Station at nearby Corcovado National Park, scuba diving at Cano Island, and night hike.

I need to end by discussing what truly sets Copa de Arbol apart - the people. Every person we met was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Everyone was interested in making sure you got the most out of your time there.

We stayed at Copa de Arbol for 6 nights, which I understand is a little longer than many who stay only 3 or 4 nights. My strongest recommendation is to stay for at least 6 nights (we really only scratched the surface of what this unique area has to offer). When we go back (and we are certainly planning on going back!) we will stay longer.

It is an adventure to get there (and that is part of the fun). We flew in and out of Drake Bay "airport" but next time we will definitely fly into Sierpe - I hear the trip down the river is amazing.

All of the other reviews are true - this is a magical place with amazing people. And for everything you get, it is very fairly priced. It is impossible to express how great this place is in a short review. We had high expectations based on all of the great reviews - and it exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Matt,
Wow, what can I say? We are glad that you had such a great experience here at Copa De Arbol. Our motivation for building the resort was a strong desire to share and help conserve an area we have known and loved for over 20 years. Thanks for taking the time to share your enthusiasm for our place with other future guests. We hope to see you guys back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There is a wide spectrum of service from perfunctory to genuinely caring. It is the latter that makes service outstanding and distances Copa de Arbol from other places. The resort has been in operation for 6 months and that's one reason for the effort. The other more important factor is selection of authentically nice staff. They go out of their way to make the stay an experience ensuring that you see the onsite peccaries, as well. as macaws and other birds. The cabinos are lovely; the food is fresh and nicely presented. Under the category of wish we knew--ask for a cabino with accessible views of the wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The people that make Copa De Arbol what it is, all share a common bond that brought them here to live, work and visit. A true love and enthusiasm for the Osa Peninsula and all the plants and animals that call it home. Thank you for recognizing and being a part of our dream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Address: Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copa De Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort is an intimate, remote eco-conscious beachfront Drake Bay resort set among 70 acres of pristine rainforest reserve. Located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated between Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa De Arbol Beach And Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.