We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night Hike Adventure
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wow! Copa de Arbol exceeded our all of our expectations. Our adventure began as soon as we stepped off the boat into the warm ocean and onto the beach of Copa de Arbol surrounded by palm trees and blue skies in March with our daughter 23, her boyfriend 22, and our two sons 7 and 9.

We had 2 cabinas: Mango and Coco. Each "thatched" cabina is beautifully appointed and immaculately kept. We fell asleep each night to the sound of the ocean and the sounds of many night creatures and were awakened many mornings by the sound of the Howler monkeys all the while cool and comfortable in our air conditioned cabina! What more could you ask for! Nature and Comfort. True luxury in the middle of the jungle.

The resort is nestled on the hillside overlooking the ocean. At the center of the resort is the open air reception/dining with breathtaking views of the bay. White Face Capuchin monkeys visit often trying to steal food from the kitchen!

I can not say enough about the hard working restaurant staff, Mario, Dylan and Ronnie. Mario (the dining manager) was there everyday from 5 am to 11 pm to make sure that all of our needs were met! Not only do 2 of our children have food allergies, but we also have one VERY picky eater. This was never an issue. Mario was always so accommodating and more than willing to prepare something special for our needs. Dinner is typically served from 6pm on. During our first night our youngest fell asleep at the table before having dinner. Mario suggested that we have our dinner earlier the next few nights of our stay, "it will be better for our little friend" ,he said. From that night on he always had dinner ready for our children around 5:00. So thoughtful!

The meals, usually a choice of 2 entrees, were always delicious. Fresh fruits, vegetables and fish from the sea. One of the days we were there they caught a Tuna, which we ate fresh that night! Amazing!

There are no roads or cars here. You travel everywhere by boat. This was as much of an adventure as our scheduled tour for the day. Breath taking views and spotted dolphins on every journey.

We spent an amazing day hiking through Serena Corocovado National Park with Alberto, and a thrilling night hike through the jungle with Mauricio. I would highly recommend both! Alberto and Mauricio are so knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. Great with families! MANY animals!!

We also visited Cano island for a diving trip for the adults and snorkeling for the kids. The island is beautiful and we had such a great time we went back a second day! We were fortunate enough to see a Whale Shark which swam right up to our boat! AMAZING!

Of course, you don't even have to leave the resort if you don't want to. Relax by the pool with a drink from the bar, swim in the ocean, paddle board, kayak, or take a nap on the beach (just not under a coconut tree)!

The resort has it all. Beaches, pool, luxuriously appointed cabins, great dining, peace & quite, thrilling adventures, wildlife, and a wonderful staff. The staff: Julian, Angel, Mario, Dylan, Ronnie and the wonderful owners Jay and Mike really go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you want. If you need something just ask! They will make it happen if at all possible.

A very special place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Vacations are what separate our everyday lives from peak moments, truly special times. To be trusted with such a special time is a true honor that we appreciate and respect. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for all who visit Copa De Arbol, Your review reconfirms that we are on the right track. Thanks so much for taking the time to share and come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mrj138
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'll skip to the main point in case you don't want to read this whole review - if you are thinking about going to the Osa Peninsula, no need to look anywhere else - Copa de Arbol is a unique, amazingly beautiful and friendly place.

Even though Copa de Arbol is relatively new, you wouldn't know it by how amazingly flawless it is in every aspect. Beautifully appointed hardwood cabinas set on the edge of dense, wild, primary tropical rainforest each with a wonderful view of Drake Bay.

We were woken each morning by some combination of toucans, macaws, and howler monkeys. The days start early (the monkeys start each morning about 30 minutes before sunrise, well before 5:30am) but you will want to get up and start exploring this magical place (we also found ourselves going to bed pretty early each night (9:30pm was a struggle).

The beach is pristine and while much of it is rocky, there is a great sandy swimming area just down at the north end of the beach. Short, relatively easy hikes in either direction will lead to endless hidden beaches and swimming holes that you will likely have all to yourself.

We were there one of the busiest weeks of the year, and it never once seemed crowded. With roughly only 25-30 guests at a time and relatively few other hotels in the area you feel as though you have this whole paradise to yourself.

The wildlife viewing at the resort was unreal. Capuchin monkeys came through many days, right across the roof of our cabina on their way to the beach (where 20 of them played for at least 20 minutes). While the monkeys were there, we got to see whales breaching in the bay. We also so howler and spider monkeys, macaws, toucans, tree frogs, dolphins, a sloth, and a large number of birds, butterflies, and insects right on the resort's grounds.

The pool is beautiful and relaxing. The open air restaurant and small bar are great. Each meal was outstanding - especially the fresh-caught grouper, ceviche, and sushi.

There are kayaks and paddleboards available to explore the nearby coastline. We took one out at sunset - I highly recommend it.

I also recommend the tour to the Sirena Station at nearby Corcovado National Park, scuba diving at Cano Island, and night hike.

I need to end by discussing what truly sets Copa de Arbol apart - the people. Every person we met was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Everyone was interested in making sure you got the most out of your time there.

We stayed at Copa de Arbol for 6 nights, which I understand is a little longer than many who stay only 3 or 4 nights. My strongest recommendation is to stay for at least 6 nights (we really only scratched the surface of what this unique area has to offer). When we go back (and we are certainly planning on going back!) we will stay longer.

It is an adventure to get there (and that is part of the fun). We flew in and out of Drake Bay "airport" but next time we will definitely fly into Sierpe - I hear the trip down the river is amazing.

All of the other reviews are true - this is a magical place with amazing people. And for everything you get, it is very fairly priced. It is impossible to express how great this place is in a short review. We had high expectations based on all of the great reviews - and it exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Matt,
Wow, what can I say? We are glad that you had such a great experience here at Copa De Arbol. Our motivation for building the resort was a strong desire to share and help conserve an area we have known and loved for over 20 years. Thanks for taking the time to share your enthusiasm for our place with other future guests. We hope to see you guys back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There is a wide spectrum of service from perfunctory to genuinely caring. It is the latter that makes service outstanding and distances Copa de Arbol from other places. The resort has been in operation for 6 months and that's one reason for the effort. The other more important factor is selection of authentically nice staff. They go out of their way to make the stay an experience ensuring that you see the onsite peccaries, as well. as macaws and other birds. The cabinos are lovely; the food is fresh and nicely presented. Under the category of wish we knew--ask for a cabino with accessible views of the wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The people that make Copa De Arbol what it is, all share a common bond that brought them here to live, work and visit. A true love and enthusiasm for the Osa Peninsula and all the plants and animals that call it home. Thank you for recognizing and being a part of our dream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Copa de Arbol is the place to go for life's true adventures and promises met, it exceeds what it "says on the lid". This dream come true location and springboard for so many activities is the dream child of the on site, interactive creators of this extraordinary world. The setting is perfect, the beach landing and short walk to luxurious civilisation in the rainforest of Costa Rica sets the sane mind into a spin.....you would be forgiven for imagining you were in Jurassic Park or Avatar with a touch of Pocahontas.... everything is so vivid, so large, so loud and so unbothered by humble visitors. The interface with the wildlife is intimate and an experience that has to be witnessed to be believed. The quality of service is first class and personable, the staff are exceptional, and make all the difference between a good experience and an exceptional experience and are all such good people. Take part in everything on offer, let your hair down and just do it!!! you won't get a better life experience anywhere
A perfect venue for aging Gap Year students!!

Room Tip: all rooms have their individual charm, none are less than magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for such an outstanding review. We couldn’t have hoped for more than to have exceeded your expectations. To be fair, having a hotel on the Osa Peninsula is kind of like cheating. The area is so magnificent and rich in wildlife that most guests have their expectations exceeded just by showing up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

a very beautiful location and fantastic villas. a great vibe here which hopefully continues. I tend to avoid very upscale places but this is worth the exception. all the meals were perfect and don't forget the fresh baked cookies. if you can swing it stay more that the 4 nights we did.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I traveled to copa de Arbol over spring break. Daughter 10 and son 8. This place is wonderful but know where you are staying and what to expect.

1. Getting here take a bit of time but well worth the travel time, an experience which is fantastic.
2. If you don't like the water don't come, you need to take a boat to get here and to get to many of the activities, we loved this aspect.
3. If you love nature and the outdoors, this is the place. Birds, monkeys, snakes and much more in and around this killer resort.

4. The accommodations are Nice and simple but extremely well done. Room aren't huge but big enough for a family of 4, comfortable and very clean.

5. Food is great and plentiful. We had fish, meat, poultry, baked goods and much more. All was great and truly in incredible considering all comes in by boat, everything. Be understanding that sometimes they run out of things. The bar is great and the dining area is beautiful, clean and comfortable. All covered areas are shoe free, be prepared to walk around barefoot regularly, this keeps all in door areas clean as the paths are all gravel. Just bring sandals to take on and off, real simple. There is also a full bar with premium liquors. Breakfast and lunch are great as well. We often had lunch poolside.

6. Activities are plentiful with tons to do and no lack of adventure and exploration. For our kids allowed them to explore once they knew what to look for and watch out for...snakes and scorpions are prevalent but not to worry about, we never saw a scorpion and saw a beautiful bird snake and watched it for about 30 minutes, very cool. We also did horseback riding, fishing and the park tour, and the rio claro waterfall trip, all great. If you have to choose one do the park, worth the trip, plentiful with wildlife. Rio claro is great too, be prepared to climb but fantastic.

7. The beach is nice and safe, no real big waves and some rocks. Ok for kids and the water is great. There are paths that parallel the beach for miles in either direction, easy to,walk and explore.

8. Staff, nothing but excellent, some of the best hotels in the world could learn from the Costa Rican people and their hospitality.

Overall a great trip, we will go back, you can be on the go or chill and when I say chill, really chill, very quiet and relaxing with the opportunity to do as much or as little as you want. This place was a real find and glad I found it. The owners are on sight and oversee everything. Great guys who made a vision come true.

Mike and jay thanks for making your dreams reality as you made our family vacation one of the best we've had. Well see you again for sure.

Room Tip: All are great! We had coco 1, closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I wish there was a website called guestadvisor.com so that I had a place to express my gratitude to all of the wonderful, interesting people we have had the pleasure of meeting here at Copa De Arbol. Having families visit with children is one of the things I looked forward to during the decade that it took to complete construction. Nothing can compare to seeing the Osa through the eyes of an enthusiastic child. I will never forget that afternoon when both of your families were on the beach. The kids were going crazy watching the monkeys run around and jump through the trees while whales breached in the distance. It was one of those magic moments that happen here on the Osa Peninsula and build lifetime memories for us and the people who come to visit. Hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tired of the New York winter, a friend and I spent a little over a week in Costa Rica in late February/early March and stayed at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort for four nights. Our "cabin," one of eight, was nestled in green. quiet, well-appointed and lovely and it was wonderful to go to sleep and to awake to the sounds of waves hitting the beach a few minutes away. The main building afforded a wonderful view of the cove with its aqua ocean and beach and a chance to connect with other travelers if desired. Restaurant and boating staff were particularly solicitous and accommodating and the fresh food and water transport (necessary) and activities were excellent. (We did not see other staff, but the cabin and grounds were beautifully maintained.) Several small group tours were available from the same guide and although timid about snorkeling, I responded to his enthusiam for the water and thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling off Cano Island. Through staff, we learned of a walk/hike on a path that generally, but not always, ran parallel to the coast in the direction of a busier and more classic beach. We never got there since our exploration of beautiful beach coves and a boat trip up El Rio Claro to climb to several water falls took longer than expected. The latter was at the recommendation of fellow Resort guests and NOT Resort staff. The walk/hike and boat trip was more of an adventure/challenge than anticipated by dos personas mayores, but truly enjoyed. (It was also a chance to use my limited Spanish with our guide since everywhere else in Costa Rica people involved with tourists seemed very comfortable with English.) The time spent at the Resort was relaxing and enjoyable and a wonderful way to end our trip. It made for a great, but elusive, memory as our plane touched down in Jersey in the middle of a snow storm.

Room Tip: There were only 8 "cabins" and everyone met at the Resort seemed pleased with their accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your review of our little corner of paradise. Glad you got a chance to check out Rio Claro and it’s beautiful beach and waterfalls. The Osa Peninsula is still way off the beaten path and it’s nice when guests take advantage of the many wonderful options for exploration outside of the main draw of Corcovado National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Address: Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copa De Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort is an intimate, remote eco-conscious beachfront Drake Bay resort set among 70 acres of pristine rainforest reserve. Located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated between Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa De Arbol Beach And Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.