We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting and Staff Set This Resort Apart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   , Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 nights 5th is free
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Setting and Staff Set This Resort Apart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There is a wide spectrum of service from perfunctory to genuinely caring. It is the latter that makes service outstanding and distances Copa de Arbol from other places. The resort has been in operation for 6 months and that's one reason for the effort. The other more important factor is selection of authentically nice staff. They go out of their way to make the stay an experience ensuring that you see the onsite peccaries, as well. as macaws and other birds. The cabinos are lovely; the food is fresh and nicely presented. Under the category of wish we knew--ask for a cabino with accessible views of the wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The people that make Copa De Arbol what it is, all share a common bond that brought them here to live, work and visit. A true love and enthusiasm for the Osa Peninsula and all the plants and animals that call it home. Thank you for recognizing and being a part of our dream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
124
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Copa de Arbol is the place to go for life's true adventures and promises met, it exceeds what it "says on the lid". This dream come true location and springboard for so many activities is the dream child of the on site, interactive creators of this extraordinary world. The setting is perfect, the beach landing and short walk to luxurious civilisation in the rainforest of Costa Rica sets the sane mind into a spin.....you would be forgiven for imagining you were in Jurassic Park or Avatar with a touch of Pocahontas.... everything is so vivid, so large, so loud and so unbothered by humble visitors. The interface with the wildlife is intimate and an experience that has to be witnessed to be believed. The quality of service is first class and personable, the staff are exceptional, and make all the difference between a good experience and an exceptional experience and are all such good people. Take part in everything on offer, let your hair down and just do it!!! you won't get a better life experience anywhere
A perfect venue for aging Gap Year students!!

Room Tip: all rooms have their individual charm, none are less than magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for such an outstanding review. We couldn’t have hoped for more than to have exceeded your expectations. To be fair, having a hotel on the Osa Peninsula is kind of like cheating. The area is so magnificent and rich in wildlife that most guests have their expectations exceeded just by showing up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

a very beautiful location and fantastic villas. a great vibe here which hopefully continues. I tend to avoid very upscale places but this is worth the exception. all the meals were perfect and don't forget the fresh baked cookies. if you can swing it stay more that the 4 nights we did.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I traveled to copa de Arbol over spring break. Daughter 10 and son 8. This place is wonderful but know where you are staying and what to expect.

1. Getting here take a bit of time but well worth the travel time, an experience which is fantastic.
2. If you don't like the water don't come, you need to take a boat to get here and to get to many of the activities, we loved this aspect.
3. If you love nature and the outdoors, this is the place. Birds, monkeys, snakes and much more in and around this killer resort.

4. The accommodations are Nice and simple but extremely well done. Room aren't huge but big enough for a family of 4, comfortable and very clean.

5. Food is great and plentiful. We had fish, meat, poultry, baked goods and much more. All was great and truly in incredible considering all comes in by boat, everything. Be understanding that sometimes they run out of things. The bar is great and the dining area is beautiful, clean and comfortable. All covered areas are shoe free, be prepared to walk around barefoot regularly, this keeps all in door areas clean as the paths are all gravel. Just bring sandals to take on and off, real simple. There is also a full bar with premium liquors. Breakfast and lunch are great as well. We often had lunch poolside.

6. Activities are plentiful with tons to do and no lack of adventure and exploration. For our kids allowed them to explore once they knew what to look for and watch out for...snakes and scorpions are prevalent but not to worry about, we never saw a scorpion and saw a beautiful bird snake and watched it for about 30 minutes, very cool. We also did horseback riding, fishing and the park tour, and the rio claro waterfall trip, all great. If you have to choose one do the park, worth the trip, plentiful with wildlife. Rio claro is great too, be prepared to climb but fantastic.

7. The beach is nice and safe, no real big waves and some rocks. Ok for kids and the water is great. There are paths that parallel the beach for miles in either direction, easy to,walk and explore.

8. Staff, nothing but excellent, some of the best hotels in the world could learn from the Costa Rican people and their hospitality.

Overall a great trip, we will go back, you can be on the go or chill and when I say chill, really chill, very quiet and relaxing with the opportunity to do as much or as little as you want. This place was a real find and glad I found it. The owners are on sight and oversee everything. Great guys who made a vision come true.

Mike and jay thanks for making your dreams reality as you made our family vacation one of the best we've had. Well see you again for sure.

Room Tip: All are great! We had coco 1, closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I wish there was a website called guestadvisor.com so that I had a place to express my gratitude to all of the wonderful, interesting people we have had the pleasure of meeting here at Copa De Arbol. Having families visit with children is one of the things I looked forward to during the decade that it took to complete construction. Nothing can compare to seeing the Osa through the eyes of an enthusiastic child. I will never forget that afternoon when both of your families were on the beach. The kids were going crazy watching the monkeys run around and jump through the trees while whales breached in the distance. It was one of those magic moments that happen here on the Osa Peninsula and build lifetime memories for us and the people who come to visit. Hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tired of the New York winter, a friend and I spent a little over a week in Costa Rica in late February/early March and stayed at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort for four nights. Our "cabin," one of eight, was nestled in green. quiet, well-appointed and lovely and it was wonderful to go to sleep and to awake to the sounds of waves hitting the beach a few minutes away. The main building afforded a wonderful view of the cove with its aqua ocean and beach and a chance to connect with other travelers if desired. Restaurant and boating staff were particularly solicitous and accommodating and the fresh food and water transport (necessary) and activities were excellent. (We did not see other staff, but the cabin and grounds were beautifully maintained.) Several small group tours were available from the same guide and although timid about snorkeling, I responded to his enthusiam for the water and thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling off Cano Island. Through staff, we learned of a walk/hike on a path that generally, but not always, ran parallel to the coast in the direction of a busier and more classic beach. We never got there since our exploration of beautiful beach coves and a boat trip up El Rio Claro to climb to several water falls took longer than expected. The latter was at the recommendation of fellow Resort guests and NOT Resort staff. The walk/hike and boat trip was more of an adventure/challenge than anticipated by dos personas mayores, but truly enjoyed. (It was also a chance to use my limited Spanish with our guide since everywhere else in Costa Rica people involved with tourists seemed very comfortable with English.) The time spent at the Resort was relaxing and enjoyable and a wonderful way to end our trip. It made for a great, but elusive, memory as our plane touched down in Jersey in the middle of a snow storm.

Room Tip: There were only 8 "cabins" and everyone met at the Resort seemed pleased with their accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your review of our little corner of paradise. Glad you got a chance to check out Rio Claro and it’s beautiful beach and waterfalls. The Osa Peninsula is still way off the beaten path and it’s nice when guests take advantage of the many wonderful options for exploration outside of the main draw of Corcovado National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I shared the two story Cabina 5 with our friend, Lynn, in late February, early March. I think we hold the record for longest stay at this resort (9 days). It was absolutely fabulous! The length of our stay allowed us to genuinely relax and forget about stresses at home/work, and explore the Osa Peninsula.

The staff at Copa de Arbol are the best I've ever encountered. Keeley is always cheerful and willing to help you with whatever you need. Mario is the sweetest man (kitchen manager, I think), who brought me tea, home-baked bread, and a coconut with a straw in it to our cabina when I was feeling a little under the weater. Ronnie Utah (as he calls himself) was a pleasure to interact with as he served us delicious food in the dining room. Alberto was our wonderful and accommodating guide to Corcovado. The mother-daughter team who cleaned our cabina every day were friendly and thorough. I really have nothing bad to say about any of the staff at Copa de Arbol.

You also have the opporturnity to meet many interesting people at this resort since you eat your meals in the same dining room and go on excursions together.

Wildlife and hiking at the resort were plentiful. We had the pleasure of seeing monkeys storm the dining room and then escape to the roof of our cabina, pausing long enough for us to take great pictures of them while they ate fruit from a nearby tree. The cove was great for swimming and paddle boarding.

The only complaints we had, and they were minor, were that the lovely wood lounges by the pool and chairs on the cabina decks were not very comfortable and could benefit from cushions, and there needs to be a place to put your clothes in the cabina.

We would return to Copa de Arbol in a heartbeat. It was a truly pleasurable trip at a great new resort!

Jeni, Frank, and Lynn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
You’re right, you guys hold the current record for longest stay at nine days. We are always honored to have people trust us with their hard-earned, irreplaceable vacation time. We are especially honored that you chose to spend your entire stay in Costa Rica with us here, at Copa. Many of our guests divide their time in Costa Rica between several stops. I can’t tell you how many times people have expressed that they wish they had stayed their entire time here, exploring Costa Rica’s true wilderness on the Osa Peninsula. As many reviewers have expressed, Copa was built with a great attention to detail. That said, one thing that we overlooked was closet space. We have since added space to store clothes to help accommodate that need. Thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The four of us spent a week here, and had a completely wonderful time. Mike and Jay spent the last decade building this place with their friends, and it's not been open long, but runs very well. They have eight small, airy cabins and a central building that's primarily a front desk/open air lobby downstairs and a beautiful open air restaurant upstairs. All meals are here, and there isn't much choice, but everything we ate was either very good or really delicious - a lot of just-caught fish and fresh fruit. Plus freshly-baked breads and cookies. It's very much in the middle of nowhere, I can't say enough about the people - extremely friendly and helpful, with a vibe more like you're staying with some cousins you don't know well, rather than strangers. The cabins are maybe fifty yards up a slight hill from a magnificent cove with great swimming. Even though it hasn't been open long, it seems very well run and there were few glitches.

The area is spectacular, with monkeys and parrots and various other animals sharing the grounds with you. Four very minor suggestions/things to watch out for

- You're not supposed to wear shoes inside anywhere. I'd like to have benches or chairs by the restaurant entrance and maybe some other places, so people can put on or take off their shoes.

- Internet was slow and intermittent. Not their fault, but frustrating anyway.

- It'd be nice to have a small store, or at least a few shelves, where they could sell toiletries, maybe extra teeshirts or something. They were great about going into town to pick up stuff we'd forgotten, but a little store would be better.

- This place is a bit expensive. First trip to Costa Rica, so I don't know how it compares, but still, it felt like I couldn't recommend it to friends unless they're pretty well off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hey Matt,
I hope all is well. Thanks for this informative review. Most of the staff at Copa De Arbol lives on site so a visit to Copa is a visit to our homes. We are more of a family than a staff and we couldn’t be more pleased than to have guests recognize our commitment to making those that visit feel like a part of the Copa De Arbol family. We always appreciate our long lost cousin’s feedback, and have already added the benches you suggested and the shop for basic items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
La Paloma Lodge
La Paloma Lodge
#3 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Corcovado National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Address: , Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copa De Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort is an intimate, remote eco-conscious beachfront Drake Bay resort set among 70 acres of pristine rainforest reserve. Located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated between Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa De Arbol Beach And Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.