We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Save Saved
You added Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night Hike Adventure
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Drake Bay
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Place Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I shared the two story Cabina 5 with our friend, Lynn, in late February, early March. I think we hold the record for longest stay at this resort (9 days). It was absolutely fabulous! The length of our stay allowed us to genuinely relax and forget about stresses at home/work, and explore the Osa Peninsula.

The staff at Copa de Arbol are the best I've ever encountered. Keeley is always cheerful and willing to help you with whatever you need. Mario is the sweetest man (kitchen manager, I think), who brought me tea, home-baked bread, and a coconut with a straw in it to our cabina when I was feeling a little under the weater. Ronnie Utah (as he calls himself) was a pleasure to interact with as he served us delicious food in the dining room. Alberto was our wonderful and accommodating guide to Corcovado. The mother-daughter team who cleaned our cabina every day were friendly and thorough. I really have nothing bad to say about any of the staff at Copa de Arbol.

You also have the opporturnity to meet many interesting people at this resort since you eat your meals in the same dining room and go on excursions together.

Wildlife and hiking at the resort were plentiful. We had the pleasure of seeing monkeys storm the dining room and then escape to the roof of our cabina, pausing long enough for us to take great pictures of them while they ate fruit from a nearby tree. The cove was great for swimming and paddle boarding.

The only complaints we had, and they were minor, were that the lovely wood lounges by the pool and chairs on the cabina decks were not very comfortable and could benefit from cushions, and there needs to be a place to put your clothes in the cabina.

We would return to Copa de Arbol in a heartbeat. It was a truly pleasurable trip at a great new resort!

Jeni, Frank, and Lynn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
You’re right, you guys hold the current record for longest stay at nine days. We are always honored to have people trust us with their hard-earned, irreplaceable vacation time. We are especially honored that you chose to spend your entire stay in Costa Rica with us here, at Copa. Many of our guests divide their time in Costa Rica between several stops. I can’t tell you how many times people have expressed that they wish they had stayed their entire time here, exploring Costa Rica’s true wilderness on the Osa Peninsula. As many reviewers have expressed, Copa was built with a great attention to detail. That said, one thing that we overlooked was closet space. We have since added space to store clothes to help accommodate that need. Thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The four of us spent a week here, and had a completely wonderful time. Mike and Jay spent the last decade building this place with their friends, and it's not been open long, but runs very well. They have eight small, airy cabins and a central building that's primarily a front desk/open air lobby downstairs and a beautiful open air restaurant upstairs. All meals are here, and there isn't much choice, but everything we ate was either very good or really delicious - a lot of just-caught fish and fresh fruit. Plus freshly-baked breads and cookies. It's very much in the middle of nowhere, I can't say enough about the people - extremely friendly and helpful, with a vibe more like you're staying with some cousins you don't know well, rather than strangers. The cabins are maybe fifty yards up a slight hill from a magnificent cove with great swimming. Even though it hasn't been open long, it seems very well run and there were few glitches.

The area is spectacular, with monkeys and parrots and various other animals sharing the grounds with you. Four very minor suggestions/things to watch out for

- You're not supposed to wear shoes inside anywhere. I'd like to have benches or chairs by the restaurant entrance and maybe some other places, so people can put on or take off their shoes.

- Internet was slow and intermittent. Not their fault, but frustrating anyway.

- It'd be nice to have a small store, or at least a few shelves, where they could sell toiletries, maybe extra teeshirts or something. They were great about going into town to pick up stuff we'd forgotten, but a little store would be better.

- This place is a bit expensive. First trip to Costa Rica, so I don't know how it compares, but still, it felt like I couldn't recommend it to friends unless they're pretty well off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hey Matt,
I hope all is well. Thanks for this informative review. Most of the staff at Copa De Arbol lives on site so a visit to Copa is a visit to our homes. We are more of a family than a staff and we couldn’t be more pleased than to have guests recognize our commitment to making those that visit feel like a part of the Copa De Arbol family. We always appreciate our long lost cousin’s feedback, and have already added the benches you suggested and the shop for basic items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

For us, traveling from Colorado for a brief warm-water getaway, one of the best gauges for predicting the quality of our experience is how long it takes to feel really relaxed and ON VACATION. Copa de Arbol holds our personal record. We felt virtually instantly relaxed, and realized immediately that the effort spent getting there would be well worth it. Geographically isolated on a 70 acre parcel of jungle , some of which is primary growth, hence spectacular trees. Trails are fun, some challenging, well maintained and always rewarding, whether along the coast to isolated beaches or up into the hills. The beach in front of the resort is beautiful, easily accessible with warm, placid water. Seakayaking we found to be excellent.

OK- to the resort itself-just opened, and clearly dedicated to providing an outstanding experience for their guests. Their staff choices, from the "concierge" Keely, who greets you with a drink and a smile, to the wait staff , the bartender and overall administrative guy Francisco (special kudos for the Margs) to Mario, Kitchen manager, to the Chef Miguel, couldn't be better. The service was first class, always with a smile. The food was plentiful, incredibly fresh, and outstanding.

Accommodations-cabins are comfortable, as are the beds, roomy, and AIR CONDITIONED.

OK, we are raving. We are relatively well travelled, active folks who also like to be comfortable, well treated, well fed, with endless opportunity for self or organized exploration of a beautiful, remote and unspoiled part of Costa Rica.

Yay to the owners, who jumped through many hoops and work hard to create this "little piece of heaven." See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Copa De Arbol with others. The fact that we earned the number one spot on your relaxometer is a true compliment that we are very proud of and helps to confirm that our dream of creating a place to relax, unwind and enjoy the Osa Peninsula has come true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our family stayed at Copa de Arbol this past February and had such a wonderful experience. We were there with my parents and children. The staff there was very accommodating and friendly. The made sure we had everything we need to enjoy our stay. The grounds and beach are beautiful and very private. A true nature's delight. What I loved about Copa de Arbol was that you could be remote, but not have to give up every amenity that we are spoiled with. We had air conditioning and internet. The staff helped us coordinate all of our tours and were on hand at any time to help us with a boat ride to Drake Bay. The food was made fresh every meal and there was always a fresh catch of the day. The kids loved the cascading pool and hot tub! I would recommend this resort to anyone who is in love with nature and who truly wants a unique unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Elphie & Enrique,

At Copa De Arbol, providing top-level comfort and service in a wilderness setting is our goal. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here. We built the pool with families like yours in mind. It was great having 3 generations of positive, fun-loving people come together under one roof at Copa De Arbol. GO IRENE! (again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

When we first arrived, was a bit nervous because my friend made the arrangements and it seemed a bit isolated BUT, not at all - it was beautiful. We rode in by boat as this is the only way to reach Copa. We were greeted by 5 strapping young men who helped us off the boat and onto the beach. We had a semi wet landing but no big deal Depends on the tide. Just wear water shoes and you will be fine. We met both Keely and Mike who own and run the facility. We were shown to our beautiful rooms - gorgeous wood en floors, high ceilings. The dining area is up a flight of steps, which is important to know if you have any physical issues. You must also take your shoes off when you climb the steps to the dining area. Take flip flops vs. tevas so you can just slide them on/off easily. For me it would have been another pair of shoes but well worth it for the ease vs. what I had. The food was great. The wait staff amazing. Keely was so kind and pleasant, warm and accommodating. We didn't see as much wildlife right on the property, which was a disappointment, but it's nature, so there is no telling where the birds or monkeys will land. We had been told the monkeys came right into the dining area at times, but not during the time we were there. The place is newly run, some small glitches but none that would have steered me away. I suggested to the management a few things like more shelves in the bathroom for your things, a wardrobe closet where you might want to hang things. Right now they have a shelf unit to pile your stuff on which is fine, but I like to hang some shirts. Again no big deal but I think they will have to feel the way a little bit. Overall beautiful, good food - oh - you need to enjoy boating because you must take a boat everywhere you go. One of the rides was about 45 minutes to Corcovado park. We also had a short ride to Rio Clero which was my favorite place to go. It was a gorgeous river, refreshing water compared to the ocean which was about 80 degrees or more. I love the warm water - made it easy to just walk in and swim in the beautiful cove at the hotel. There are some beach toys, paddle boards, etc to use. Must have beach shoes to walk to beach as it is very pebbly. If you go on an all day excursion, they provide you with packed lunches and fruit and good cookies. I hated to leave. Thanks for everything. Great spot. Just remember it is definitely on the isolated side and IMPORTANT - only place in the area with A/C which for me is a must.

Room Tip: we were in room 2 which was perfect and excellent if you want to be close to the beach but the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Bonnie,

The Osa Peninsula has much more to offer than Corcovado National Park and Isla Del Caño. I was originally drawn to this area born from the desire to get off the beaten path. Rio Claro is one of the area’s true gems that very few people visit. It was cool to see you guys get off the beaten path and take advantage of something that very few people ever do. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Copa De Arbol with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just love it! If you love the nature, want to runaway for and while and enjoy life, this is the right place where to do it!! In the middle of the Costa Rican jungle, can reach only by boat! There is no gym but you can have a nice walk or run on the trails.

Room Tip: Mango #2. Great view and confortable suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Xiomara,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay here. We have plans to construct our spa/gym next season! Hope to see you and Joel back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

You arrive here by boat or small plane. It is remote and not a trip for those looking for glitz and action. I absolutely loved it. The food was wonderful, the staff were amazing and very anxious to provide for our every need. Traveled with son, wife, 2 1/2 year old granddaughter and another couple. We had the best time. I had a massage on the beach and it was a great experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Melanie,

We are honored that you and your extended family chose Copa De Arbol as the place to stay on the Osa Peninsula. It was a pleasure meeting all of you. I truly enjoyed Rich sharing the amazing photographs he took while here. After 20 years on the Osa Peninsula, it was like seeing things through a new set of eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort

Address: Drake Bay 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copa De Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort is an intimate, remote eco-conscious beachfront Drake Bay resort set among 70 acres of pristine rainforest reserve. Located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated between Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa De Arbol Beach And Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.