We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ECO experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Drake Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rio Drake Farm to your Saves list
Rio Drake Farm
700mts oeste Aeropuerto de Drake, El Progreso | Peninsula de Osa, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Waynesville, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful ECO experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We found Sabrina and Edu great hosts and now consider them friends. The rooms were rustic but clean and were cleaned every day by Sabrina. Cool water showers were quickly adjusted to and felt so good at the end of a hot, humid day. The food was simple but amazing. Sabrina and edu cook up local delights with a lot of fruit an vegetable and was it perfect for us vegetarians. Sabrina's food presentation was so beautifully done that you almost did not want to mess it up by eating it. Since the quarters are limited the few other guest quickly became friends and we enjoyed their company on hikes and activities. Edu and Sabrina went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

Room Tip: The 1 room on the back of the dorm did not have in-room bathroom, although access to two bathrooms j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment and for staying with us here at Rio Drake Farm. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay and the meals. It was nice to have you here, we consider you friends, too! And we really hope to see you again in future! Thanks for everything, Edu and Sabrina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Rio Drake Farm is a very small hostel right next to the airport (and by "airport" I mean landing strip and two tiny buildings) in Drake Bay. It is the perfect place to go for a departure from the touristic areas in Costa Rica. Edu and Sabrina were the nicest hosts ever - seriously good people, solid, smart, and really take care of their guests, Edu changing his cell phone sim card so that I could use the internet to make future travel plans. They also cook great food. Though it's more monetarily economical to cook for yourself, I highly recommend at least one dinner or breakfast there. The night is lit with candles, as there is no electricity, and you can sometimes hear the animals in the trees and see toucans during the day - just perfect for nature lovers. The hostel is about a 15 minute drive from "downtown" and is a few minutes' walk from a beach that will literally have no other people on it due to it's somewhat remote location. Overall, a peaceful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you very much! It was nice to have you here with us, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rio Drake Farm is the place to go for people who appreciate caring hosts, (some) remoteness, and a beautiful scenery. Value for money and food are great. Try to top that! But if you don't like having a 3-km stretch of a gorgeous beach all to yourself then don't go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was just excellent, very nice couple owing the farm.
the rooms were very clean and comfortable, with very nice paintings
great views from the kitchen area, and the farm is really IN the nature, with forest and beach all around.
Thanks for the nice time we hope to be back soon ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you!! Looking forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

During what was supposed to be a quick visit to Drake Bay, I was lucky enough to stumble upon Rio Drake Farm. Edu & Sabrina are such wonderful and genuine people. They booked excursions and drove me into town whenever needed. If I wanted to fish, the rods were waiting! If I wanted to lay in a hammock all day and read, no one bothered me. But the favorite part of my stay was sitting down and sharing meals with them. Great energy, and a magical place to enjoy the environment and unplug. My 2 day stay turned into 6 and I couldn't have asked for a better location or company.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Gerente at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. It was really nice to have you here with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice place, very quite, remote and wild. For those who like rough places... and don't fancy independance.
The place is 1 hour away from the village by the beach, after crossing several rivers. But when the tide is high, you can't cross the river without a boat, so you have to walk 2H30 by the road, often at night... a real punishment.
Otherwise, if you want to stay a little longer, he says you can call him to pick you up... but he will charge you 15$! and let you know about the price only when you will pay the bill!!!!

I am a good walker, but i don't think it's fair to let people think you are less than 1h away from the village, whereas it may easily take up to 2 or 3 hours, at night. Neither is it fair to offer service kindly and indicate the price just when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioDrakeFarm, Propietario at Rio Drake Farm, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately, not everything is true.

Rio Drake Farm is at about 5 km distance (about 1 hour walking along the beach) from the village Agujitas. We write that on our web page. We do not let people think you are less than 1h away from this village, however there is also another village closer called El Progreso (10min walking), where you find shops and a bar.

We offer a free pick up service for our guests from where the boat, bus or plane arrives. Also when our guests leave, web ring them to the boat or bus station or the airport. For free. We picked you up for free in Agujitas at the boat station and we brought you there for your departure again for free. We did NOT charge $15 for that.

Somehow you decided to visit the village Agujitas on every day during your stay here (4nights). People who want to stay close to the town Agujitas or have party, may choose a hostel in the center of Agujitas, there are several options. We recommend our place for people who want to enjoy nature and wildlife; maybe you remember that we showed you Toucans and a Sloth.

However, there is nothing against a trip to Agujitas. There are different options to go to Agujitas:
- Take the bus from El Progreso at 1 p.m. or 6 p.m. (you did not choose this one).
- Walk along the beach (about 1hour). At low tide because you have to cross the Rio Drake.
- Or walk by the street (1hour and 30min; I don’t know when it took you 2hours and 30min by night because you never came back at night, the first two nights we brought you back by car and the last night you came walking but from cocalito, not Agujitaas, and before it was dark.
- Take a taxi (Cost: $20 in general, there is one guy who charges $16 only. The price is high, but gasoline or diesel is more expensive in here and the owners spend a lot for repairing their cars because of the river crossing each time).

The first day of your stay with us you and the other guest walked to Agujitas. We offered you that you can call us and we can give you transport service by car (since 10months we have an own car, before you had to find another car driver, which is often very difficult at night – and you wanted the transport at about 8 p.m.). However we did not say it is for free (as we do for the pick-up service from the boat station). And, even more important, we DID NOT CHARGE ANYTHING for this trip because we simply forgot about it.

The second day, you went on a diving tour together with the other guest. For the diving tour we offer (as in the Corcovado Tour and Snorkeling tour) a free transfer to where the tour starts and back to our lodge. We don´t charge anything for that because we don’t want our guests to have any disadvantage due to the distance from our farm to where the tour starts. However, when we went to pick you up in the afternoon, you did not want to come back by car; you said that you WANT TO WALK BACK. So we went back only with the other guest. We did not say anything to you about you can call us if you need us to pick you up, because you said you will WALK BACK. However, at about 8 p.m., you called us that it is raining and if we can come and pick you up in Agujitas. You did not ask anything about the price (Watch out: in Costa Rica it is a habit to make out the Price of the transport BEFORE accepting it, because if not the driver can charge you anything he wants). We were actually not at home but went immediately to look for you and picked you up. Everybody else in Drake Bay would have charged you $20 by night, we only charged you $15 because you were our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Driving to Rio Drake Farm esp in the rain and at night time is an adventure of its own. If you do visit, please make sure to follow the road to drake farm and drive to the air strip gated area and make a left turn right in front of the gate leading into the airstrip. After the left, you still have to continue down a muddy dirt road until and when you reach the other side, it will look like an old broken down shack (this can be deceiving as you will need to follow the road by foot which will bring you into the lodging area. Edu, Sabrina, and the dogs are extremely kind and welcoming. Do purchase the meals when booking the rooms as they are freshly prepared and better then most 5 star restaurants. Do not expect to have electricity, wifi, or hot water, this place really brings your closer to nature as being here makes you forget about your technological dependency and other worldly needs. Waking up at 5AM in the morning to go fishing by the ocean with Edu while watching the sun rise over the airstrip is one that will be etched into my memories.

Room Tip: There is only 4 to 5 rooms, any one should be fine. Do note that the rooms are all next to one anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Drake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Drake Farm

Address: 700mts oeste Aeropuerto de Drake, El Progreso | Peninsula de Osa, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Drake Farm is located in Drake Bay, on the beautiful Peninsula de Osa of Costa Rica, surrounded by jungle, beach and lots of wildlife. Here you can find: •Tranquility and Nature - perfect for relaxing •Idyllic location - Jungle, River, Lagoon and a lonesome beach are within spitting distance, far away from road traffic •Scenic sunsets with the pacific ocean and the Cano island in the background •Scarlet Macaws, Hummingbirds, Iguanas, Kinkajous, Caimans and more wildlife that visit our farm and its surroundings •Thematic guest rooms decorated with paintings from the local wildlife •Balconies with traditional roofs of palm leaves and hammocks invite to chill out •Romantic candlelight after sunset •Freshly prepared meals served in our restaurant with ocean view •Own Arabian and Costa-Rican horses that graze on our pastures •Guided tours to Corcovado National Park with its huge species richness, Snorkeling or Diving at the Cano Island's reserve and many more... •Canoes and trails for individual exploration of the environment Pure nature and a team that cares a lot about the well-being of their guests are waiting for you at Rio Drake Farm. We are looking forward to your visit, Edu and Sabrina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Drake Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Drake Farm Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Drake Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.