We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The #1 Drake Bay Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Pura Vida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas Pura Vida to your Saves list
Cabinas Pura Vida
Bahia Drake centro, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The #1 Drake Bay Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

"Pura Vida" is the best name choice to describe this place. Living in Cabinas Pura Vida with the owners makes you feel "pure life" of Costa Rican's lifestyle.

Norlyn, the owner and his wife Gabriela are very friendly and very helpful ! Whatever you ask, they'll do their best to respond to it positively. They bring you all their attention to make you feel as home.
We were pleased to find this familiar place with 5 rooms only. Rooms are simple, spacious, confortable and very clean (every day). Dishes at their restaurant are delicious and quite cheap.

We had an unforgettable time here. Magical. With them, because we shared a lot, and discovering the wonderful areas of Drake Bay and Corcovado Park. We were about to stay 2 or 3 days, we stayed a week!
One of the best places of our 10 months travel thought South and Central America!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Best place on town we have a magical time there thanks to Norlyn the owner of the place, fish trip, snorkeling, private beach tour, Corcovado national park, breakfast, lunch, dinners and beers. Just amazing. If you are planning go to Drake Bay I recommend this place 100%. And the best is the attention you get at such price. The place provide all the tours, food and entertainment. We have a great deal. A girl near the supermarket try to offer us expensive tours or rooms(they make commission), I think I was lucky to find this place because is clean, secure and CHEAP.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Drake Bay is one of the most untouched, low key places in Costa Rica where you can
relax among friends in the rain forest.
Cabinas Pura Vida is a place I recommend for families. The owners caters to your
needs and makes you feel at home. My cousin wanted wine and the owner got on his
motorcycle and got her some wine. My other cousin wanted her food made a certain
way and they made it to her liking. We were treated like gold. We had a party of 12 and
they arranged the tours for us. Lovely and friendly Costa Rican Style.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Drake Bay is one of the most untouched, low key places in Costa Rica where you can
relax among friends in the rain forest.
Cabinas Pura Vida is a place I recommend for families. The owners caters to your
needs and makes you feel at home. My cousin wanted wine and the owner got on his
motorcycle and got her some wine. My other cousin wanted her food made a certain
way and they made it to her liking. We were treated like gold. We had a party of 12 and
they arranged the tours for us. Lovely and friendly Costa Rican Style.

Room Tip: Humble but extremely clean. Just a few rooms, home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My family and I visted Drakes Bay Costa Rica in June 2011. We initially booked our stay with an American ran Bed and Breakfast that was not only overpriced but less than we expected...namely all bed and one breakfast after 4 days! While in Drakes Bay we booked a fishing trip with Norlyn and his brother Alex. Norlyn and Alex provided my 13 year old son and I an amazing and forever memorable deep sea fishing trip. We were able to catch several Yellowfin, some Wahoo and a Blackfish as well as view dolpihins and amazing shore life around Cano Island. Norlyn and Alex were amazing guides and equally impressive as to how they took an interest in my son learning how to deep sea fish with proper technique and respect for sea life.

Our trip ended with an invitation to have dinner and share our catch with Noryln, Alex and his wife Priscilla at their small hotel and cafe Cabinas Pura Vida. The dinner Norlyn and Priscilla prepared was absolutely amazing and deserving of ratings one would give 5-star restaurants. Yellowfin sushi, grilled Yellowfin, grilled Wahoo, potatoes, local vegatables along with great freindship development and bonding. Our family was their family during our visit that night as well as the rest of our stay in Drakes Bay.

Although a small 5 room facility, the rooms are good sized, comfortable and reflect teh very best of Costa Rica hospitality. We also learned that had we booked our entire stay with Norlyn we would have saved over 50% of what we paid the American Bed and Breakfast, had nicer living areas AND received daily breakfast!

Any one serious about visiting Costa Rica should certainly visit Drakes Bay and when staying in Drakes Bay make sure to stay with Norlyn and Priscilla at Cabinas Pura Vida. Norlyn speaks english and will make every effort to assist making the most of your stay in Drakes Bay.

Room Tip: Contact Norlyn well in advance to insure room availability and also make sure to ask him to assist b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

To start with a visit to Drakes Bay is a must for anyone that truly wants to experience Costa Rica's beauty at it's finest. After spending a week traveling the more known areas of Costa Rica, I decided to take my family to Drakes Bay for a week to take in Corcovado National Park, Cano Island as well as to do some Deep Sea fishing, horseback riding and to just relax. Unfortunately as we were choosing our place to stay on the internet, we were not able to find some of the smaller, lesser known hotels "Cabinas" or tour operators due to lack of marketing presence. We selected a Bed and Breakfast in the Drake's Bay area that we found to be disappointing in many areas but especially when we learned that had we been able to locate Norlyn Roja's "Cabinas Pura Vida" we would have saved over half the money we spent on the Bed and Breakfast and had better accommodations and hosts! After a few days in Drakes Bay we were looking for a local Costa Rican with Deep Sea fishing experience are were directed to Norlyn Rojas and his brother Alex. My son and I went deep sea fishing with Norlyn and Alex and had one of the best fishing experiences of our lives. With an early morning departure we traveled about 45 minutes to the waters off Cano Island and were able to catch Yellow Fin Tuna and Wahoo all the while having a great time becoming friends with these two gentlemen. Upon return, Norlyn invited my family to his Cabinas Pura Vida for dinner, featuring the fresh fish we caught that day. In all our travels, the dinner that Norlyn, his wife Priscilla and Alex prepared was one of the finest fish dinners to be had! After dinner we were shown around the Cabinas and could easily see that the rooms and facilities were comparable and better than our Bed and Breakfast and were a fraction of the cost!!!!! I would highly recommend that anyone that desires to experience not just the pristine beauty of Drakes Bay but also Costa Rican hospitality at its finest contact Norlyn at www.cabinaspuravida.com. Cabinas Pura Vida is not only a safe, clean facility to stay at while in Drake's Bay, Norlyn can also arrange any and all activities you may want to do during your visit. My family will be returning again not just to enjoy Drakes Bay but to also visit these new friends. PURA VIDA!!!!! Shawn Larkin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Pura Vida

Address: Bahia Drake centro, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Pura Vida are running by a young Costa Rican-Spanish couple who are passionate of Biology and sustainable development. Steven is a recognized naturalist guide with 7 years of experience who has special interest in plants, trees and birds while Deyanira is a biologist who loves specially zoology and marine life. Both are fallen in love of Osa Peninsula's wildlife and try to make the visit to Drake Bay and Corcovado in an unforgettable experience. Cabinas Pura Vida Bahia Drake is waiting for you! Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Pura Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Pura Vida Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Pura Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.