We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in beautiful Drake Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martina's Place Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Martina's Place Hostel to your Saves list
Martina's Place Hostel
Agujitas, Drake Bay 60503, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in beautiful Drake Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Martina's Place was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica and Panama. Drake Bay is absolutely gorgeous, and Martina is the nicest and most helpful hostess you can imagine. We felt like home in her nice and clean rooms, big kitchen and terrace with hammocks and tables/chairs. Thank you so much Martina!

Silvano & Aniek

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello Aniek + Silvano, thank you so much for your great review! I am happy you liked it so much at our hostel. Bedaankt for staying here :-) Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
30
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Martina is fluent in Spanish, German and English and very helpful for suggesting and booking tours with local providers if needed.

There are many options for your budget here including tent, single rooms with facilities down the hall and one larger room with a private bathroom which my friend and I shared. There is a community kitchen available and filtered water at the tap. The kitchen is busy with young people saving money.

The beds are okay, the bathroom doesn't have much ventilation and is a little smelly if the door is left open. There is a ceiling fan that is somewhat noisy.
The wifi worked just fine and overall it was an okay place to stay and enjoy the beautiful area of Osa Peninsula.

Room Tip: The rooms without the bathroom would be a better value; you pay a premium in Costa Rica for having y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello D. thanks for your review, I really appreciate that you took the time to write it. I totally agree with you about the smell of the bathroom, since I am still renting, I am not allowed to make any ventilation holes.... but I -hopefully- will be the owner soon and that will be the first thing on the list :-)
It was a pleasure having you and your friend here. Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There's not much accommodation available around Drake Bay and certainly not many budget-friendly options out there. We enjoyed staying at Martina's Place enough to spontaneously extend our stay despite having limited time in Central America. Drake Bay is just stunning, Martina offers a home away from home, great tours and a laidback atmosphere. We checked out the family room, triple rooms and the tents, they're all great (least of all the tent probably, but you would expect that). If only it weren't so far away, I wish I could return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Kasia, thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure having you here and although its far away, may be you and your friends come back one day! Dziekuje bardzo, Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

hotel is ok, beds are fine and wifi is working well. Room a bit hot, but not a real issue. Given the quality, clearly overpriced though. Kitchen seemed dirty, fridge's last clean up has probably been done during the last century (if done).

Advices were limited, and friendliness was clearly not present - but we were not such on a sociable mood - not a real problem. :)

All activities are well organized, and usually, sub contractors are among the best - too bad Martina is taking 15$ of commisison vs the price to be paid directly to the tours arganisers (snorkeling, etc...).. when you multiply by the number of activities and the fares, it seems pretty profitable for a phone call!

Payment via Visa possible (not AMEX), but an overcharge of 7% should be planned - in other terms, bring your cash!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, Arthur.

I am happy to hear that you liked the hotel in general, the beds, WiFi and how we organized the tours for you and your friend.

I consider myself as a sociable, friendly and helpful person - if I have said (or not said!) something that made you feel upset I sincerely apologize!
I remember I hardly saw you around in my office to have the chance to chat or give you advices...

I agree with you about the old fridge and the kitchen - we clean every morning, but with 20 guests using the kitchen permanently, sometimes its hard to keep up with cleanliness. But you had your own little fridge in your family room- you are not talking about that one?

The tour prices for the hotel guests are the same, whether you book directly or via your hotel. Who pays a commission to the hotels is the tour company and its the same amount to all hotels and from all tour companies, because we all work together, no competition! I would say, its the same and legal situation with real estate or boat sales.... If you heard something about different prices, it might have been Costa Ricans who pay less entrance fees or someone who did 10 snorkel tours or someone who had already tickets for Caño Island?
I saw that you copied the "commission part" from your review of a Montezuma Hotel to my hotel, which irritates me.

For payments with credit card the bank (not me!!!) charges 7-10%- depending what bank. That is why I always inform my guests, that they should bring cash if they want to avoid those costs.

I am honestly sorry that you did not leave happy and would have liked a chance to hear about it during your stay.

Martina Wegener
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at Martina's Place during our trip to Osa. Martina was very efficient in replying to emails and answering all the queries I had. She booked boat transportation and diving trips for us and recommended us great places to go to. We had a little problem with the fan in our room but she tried to fix it and gave us a replacement fan to use. The hostel also has a kitchen which comes very handy. Good price/quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! And regarding the fan - that's what I learned in Costa Rica...problems are to be solved with 0 stress :-) Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My review probably won't do Martina's Place justice.. but I'll try. The magic of Martina's doesn't necessarily come from the property, but rather the enchanting setting (Drake Bay) and the graciousness and impeccable service from Martina herself. I can't stress enough how reassuring it was to send my first email to Martina and receive a reply within 20 minutes. Anytime we had questions - whether it was in our long string of emails or in person - Martina was pleasant, helpful and genuinely interested in making our vacation as good as it could be. She helped us book quite a few tours and knew what all of them entailed. When we had a bad experience with one tour she was very receptive to our feedback. She knows the true meaning of hospitality. I also need to mention her helper Tadzio was great as well!

The property is located just up the hill from the beach. A quick walk down to enjoy a fruit and milk drink at sundown and an even shorter walk up the hill to eat at one of the local sodas or hit the market. Since it is right in town, the location may not be ideal for those who like to sleep in - there are roosters to wake you as well as locals going to work on their dirt bikes. We didn't find this to be an issue because if you're in Drake Bay you should be waking up early to take a walk on the beach anyway!

For our 5 nights at Martina's we stayed in the honeymoon suite. For the price and room market in Drake Bay, it was just what we were looking for - basic accommodations. The cabin is more private than the other rooms and it has its' own bathroom which was nice. The best feature is probably your own private hammock.. such a simple thing but we thoroughly enjoyed it ;). There is excellent housekeeping and towels were always replaced if requested.

The property has some green gardens and trees and we saw hummingbirds, iguanas and the occasional chicken visiting from next door. The hostel is tucked in nicely and there is a wooded area behind which makes it feel secluded even in town. There is also a kitchen in the main building for guests to use. If you are staying more than a couple days, it comes in very handy. No one likes to eat out all the time! It is fully stocked with everything you need and there is a refrigerator as well. A great feature was a faucet with filtered water. The tap in Drake is perfectly safe to drink, but the filtered water tastes better.

I can't say it enough - if you are looking for basic accommodations with a family friendly hostel feel - stay here! We felt homesick when we moved on from Drake to the hustle and bustle of Manuel Antonio. Martina is the best!

David & Kelsey

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Kelsey and David- this is one of the nicest reviews ever! I am happy to hear that you liked your stay so much and I could see you had a hard time leaving Drake Bay...that's why I hope to see you again one day :-)
I will pass your review to Tadzio who now is volunteering in Dominican Republic.
Thanks again, Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Smack dab in the middle of Drake (which is really not very big), Martina's place has quick access to everywhere about town, and Martina herself is very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with arranging just about anything.

One of the great things about Drake Bay is its remoteness, which in other places might mean you have to settle for shoddy dwellings, but not so here. While some spots could use a bit more polish (it's no boutique hotel, but again, this is Drake Bay), Martina's Place is comfortable, quiet, and cozy. We stayed in two rooms, a double with shared bed and bath, and a larger room off the side of the building with its own bed and bath. What you get depends on how much you're willing to pay (and whether you book in advance). There's also a shared kitchen and some rather rustic seating outside under a canopy where people get together to talk.

A hint: If you're looking for fresh produce, ask Martina about the fruit truck. The selection at the markets in town is a bit lacking. And a note to LGBT travellers, we felt quite welcome at Martina's Place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice and long review! I really appreciate it!
May be see you again one day here- Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Martina's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina's Place Hostel

Address: Agujitas, Drake Bay 60503, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martina's Place Hostel in Drake Bay -Clean hostel with familiar atmosphere -2 min. to beach and supermarkets -All Tours to Corcovado, Cano Island and around Drake Bay -Big fully equipped kitchen for self cooking -Free coffee & tea, oil, salt and sugar -Hot water showers -WiFi -Hammocks -Free parking -Free luggage store Martina's Place is located in the center of Agujitas, which is usually called Drake Bay. It is 2 minutes to the beach and around the corner are supermarkets, restaurants, bakeries and an ice-cream place. You can cook in our big kitchen and sit, chat and eat in our roofed patio. A guitar is waiting to be played. We can organize all tours to Corcovado Nationalpark for you, including the overnight tours, as well as tours to Cano Island for snorkeling, diving or whale & dolphin watch. You should not plan your stay too short, since there is a lot to do around Drake Bay, for example the hike to Rio Claro (with swimming at the waterfall) which you can do by yourself! We have good WiFi connection and one computer to use. Drake Bay is located on the borders of Corcovado Nationalpark on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. The village is small, unspoilt and authentic, surrounded by abundant nature. All throughout Drake Bay you can hear the howler monkeys or the croaking of the scarlett macaws... Attention! There is no bank or ATM in Drake Bay. Bring enough cash or pay with card (+7% banking fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martina's Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martina's Place Hostel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martina's Place Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.