We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pequena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Pequena to your Saves list
Casa Pequena
| Los Planes de Drake Bay, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastique...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have past 10 day in casa pequena its wonderful place and people are very very nice.. i really want to come back.. there are a lot of activity, in my stay i have learn a lot ( make local food, help for the work...)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This finca is something you have to see! I was there doing a volunteering work for a week and I loved that place. Completely inside the nature, you will feel part of the jungle!
You have to see how your life could be far away from the standard model, just back in the world where all you need is around you, fruits, eggs directly from the hen-house, amazing sunset, exploring the jungle just walking and following your senses.
No way you can miss it if your are that close!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you need to get away from the city and go back to basics and feel nature this is the place, beautiful walks in the jungle, bird watching , all kinds of animals surrounding you it's just so peaceful. Friendly staff, great food, clean place, Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeroSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

WOW! This is one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed in all my travels. I had a terrific time that I will never forget.
Probably not for those looking for luxurious, pampered accomodations and lots of other tourists to mingle with. But if you enjoy incredible natural beauty, getting way off the beaten path, rustic accomodations (cabins but no electricity), a little quiet time, and adventure in a safe way, this place can't be beat. Not to mention Anna and Zairo, the genuinely warm and kind young people who run the farm, who I now consider my personal friends. Or Anna's great gourmet meals, which she prepares from scratch every day on a wood stove, with lots of organic local ingredients, such as milk and cheese from the goats, eggs from the ducks and chickens, and homemade marmalade from exotic local fruits. Her pasta and fritatatas cannot be beat. Then there's the pristine Pacific coastline just a jungle path walk away, the beautiful swimming hole/waterfall surrounded by towering rainforest, long horseback rides through incredibly steep jungle trails and along the coast, snorkling, and more. You can even help milk the goats, if you like.
Normally I wouldn't give most places such a long or superlative write-up, but I was just blown away by how wonderful this place was. It's basically just a very little farm in a tiny clearing in the jungle, but in an area of great unspoiled natural beauty, run by genuinely nice people who really try to make sure you have a good time. So please forgive my wordiness; I was just trying to do it justice.

Below is an excerpt from an email I sent my friends from Casa Pequena:

Casa Pequena is just a few cabins in a tiny clearing surrounded by jungle on the Osa Peninsula, a couple of hours walk from the giant Corcovado primary forest nature preserve. No electricity, just a wood stove to cook on, jungle on all sides. No one else nearby, just Anna, who runs the place, and me. Another couple of guests arrive tomorrow. Eggs every morning from the chickens and ducks on the far, milk and cheese from the goat. Fruits and nuts from the tiny farm and collected from the jungle. Anna's great little dog, Vispa, who looks like half beagle, half chihuahua, and a big stallion, Billy-Roo, who roams about, eating the banana trees when he can get away with it.

Most mornings, I get up about 5:15 to the distant or nearby roar of the howler monkeys, as the dawn is breaking. I walk 45 minutes through jungle trails to the beautiful pacific coast. Spot a good deal of wildlife along the way; I've seen toucons, parrots, scarlet macaws, capuchin monkeys, etc. Plus, the plant life is amazing. Giant trees here in the primary forest, with all kinds of bromiliads and other plants growing everywhere on them, with myriad vines and roots hanging down. Palms, giant ferns, various kinds of banana trees, etc. Very dense. Gotta keep an eye out at all times for the many kinds of snakes that live here, too. It's a great place. After reaching the beach and maybe taking a quick dip, I hike back, have breakfast with Anna, and go about my day. I go to bed shortly after dark, to the hoots, chirps, shrieks, etc. of the surrounding jungle. Alone in my dark little cabin, I drop off to sleep pretty fast, feeling very peaceful.

Room Tip: Each of the several rustic cabins is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.8 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
2.2 mi away
Martina's Place Hostel
Martina's Place Hostel
#4 of 15 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Caletas Lodge
Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 28 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
22.6 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pequena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pequena

Address: | Los Planes de Drake Bay, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pequena is the name of an agricultural farm which is in the middle of the jungle a 20 min walk from a settlement (village) that fuses the custom hosting with their daily lives, creating a pioneering concept in the area. Casa Pequena is a large garden of 4 hectares with 2 private cabins made of wood at a distance of 100 mtrs each and a restaurant fully equipped except for refrigeration and illuminated with solar energy as well as the cabins. It also has an area of ​​agriculture and a network of different trails that run in 18 hectares of forest In this cozy place to use repellents is not necessary, you have the option of having a flexible schedule your meals, participate in daily activities, alternating with tours of adventure and relaxation we offer or enjoy the sound of the forest in a hammock. For anyone who has been here is not just a place to spend your vacation, but becomes a positive experience of living, learning and friendship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Pequena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pequena Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing