We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Marine wildlife tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$2,900*
and up
8 Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
holland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Superb Marine wildlife tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This tour brings you by boat to Cano island where you will have the opportunity to snorkle accompagnied by a guide. During the boat trip we had close encounters with Turtles, Whales, various species of Dolphins and even pseudo-orca's. During a lunch break on the way back on a deserted island we even got college from the guide on the marine life we had seen. I really can recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not so good for snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

on the way to cano island you can see some dolphins and wales, that was very nice. but the main part of the trip is about snorkeling and that was quite boring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Scuba diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lots of fun. Amazing few days. well worth the effort. Again not the first time I've been and hopefully not the last

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Scuba Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I did 5 days of scuba diving at Cano Island and had an absolute blast! The visibility during the August rainy season was only about 25 feet, but the abundance of white tip reef shark, sea turtle, octopus, lobster, rays, and fish made up for the silty water.
The island was preserved and untouched, which kept it beautiful and natural. The beach was full of hermit crabs, which gave us a fun past time in between dives.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“ok snorkeling with whales yay! and jellyfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I enjoyed the trip to Cano Island but the snorkeling there is not that great. However the trip out was great, we saw two whales including a new baby, turtles, birds, and a shark. You don't get to see the island much, you don't get off there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing