We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Marine wildlife tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 attractions in Drake Bay
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Islands
Attraction Details
holland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Superb Marine wildlife tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This tour brings you by boat to Cano island where you will have the opportunity to snorkle accompagnied by a guide. During the boat trip we had close encounters with Turtles, Whales, various species of Dolphins and even pseudo-orca's. During a lunch break on the way back on a deserted island we even got college from the guide on the marine life we had seen. I really can recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    84
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not so good for snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

on the way to cano island you can see some dolphins and wales, that was very nice. but the main part of the trip is about snorkeling and that was quite boring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Scuba diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lots of fun. Amazing few days. well worth the effort. Again not the first time I've been and hopefully not the last

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Scuba Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I did 5 days of scuba diving at Cano Island and had an absolute blast! The visibility during the August rainy season was only about 25 feet, but the abundance of white tip reef shark, sea turtle, octopus, lobster, rays, and fish made up for the silty water.
The island was preserved and untouched, which kept it beautiful and natural. The beach was full of hermit crabs, which gave us a fun past time in between dives.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ok snorkeling with whales yay! and jellyfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I enjoyed the trip to Cano Island but the snorkeling there is not that great. However the trip out was great, we saw two whales including a new baby, turtles, birds, and a shark. You don't get to see the island much, you don't get off there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cano Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cano Island to your Saves list