We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Drake Bay
Type: Islands, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was worth the trip just to see the island. There were several dolphins along the way and the boat stopped and they came right up to us. Very cool! The snorkeling was good but not great. We were swimming around enormous rocks in the open ocean which left several of us dizzy and woozy, especially in the hot sun. Was glad for my long sleeved SPF rash guard. Went to a beach on mainland for delicious picnic on way back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    92
    44
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took the snorkeling trip to Cano Island, and got the same as offered on the whale watching trip. Dolphins, Turtels, Sharks and amazing Fishes. Really can recommend a trip to Cano Island

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor diving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not the best scuba dive I have been on. Poor visibility and not much to look at.I would not reccomend the scuba at Cano Island.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Saw a whale shark!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a scuba diving trip next to the island. We are novice divers, so, not too picky. Besides the whale shark, we also saw white tip sharks, a huge grouper, and some stingrays and barracudas.
According to more experienced divers at our hotel, they would not have gone there if they had known the conditions. Poor visibility (too "dusty") no reef and strong currents.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scuba Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Saw many fish, manta rays, eels. Small jelly fish in the water to watch out for. Seems you can negotiate price - cash preferred

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cano Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.