We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good snorkeling spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took the snorkeling trip to Cano Island, and got the same as offered on the whale watching trip. Dolphins, Turtels, Sharks and amazing Fishes. Really can recommend a trip to Cano Island

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    126
    63
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor diving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not the best scuba dive I have been on. Poor visibility and not much to look at.I would not reccomend the scuba at Cano Island.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
623 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Saw a whale shark!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a scuba diving trip next to the island. We are novice divers, so, not too picky. Besides the whale shark, we also saw white tip sharks, a huge grouper, and some stingrays and barracudas.
According to more experienced divers at our hotel, they would not have gone there if they had known the conditions. Poor visibility (too "dusty") no reef and strong currents.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scuba Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Saw many fish, manta rays, eels. Small jelly fish in the water to watch out for. Seems you can negotiate price - cash preferred

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Toyota Pickup, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkeling only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The snorkeling was pretty good, but doesn't compare to places I've been in Hawaii and the Galapagos. It is worth the trip out though. The highlights were turtles and dolphins, as well as a couple reef sharks and a white tipped shark.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cano Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.