We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Nature & wildlife areas, Islands, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have taken two tours to Cano Island. One from Uvita, and the other from Drake's Bay. Visits to the interior of this island were not allowed when we visited in 2012, but there are some very interesting archaelogical sites on the island. During each trip, we saw many dolphins. During our trip from Uvita, we saw several Brudes Whales, and in 2012 we saw several humpback whales accompanying their babies. Snorkeling on the ocean facing side of the island is AMAZING. Literally thousands and thousands of colorful fish surrounding you. We also saw a sea turtle swimming underwater.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    103
    53
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Saw a sting ray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Was amazing , we went with Elia from Casa Horizontes and she knew the names of all the fish. we saw turtles, eagle ray, and many more

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Snorkeling heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A lovely boat ride to a place where you can see many brilliant fish, a shark if you are lucky and a sense of being alone in the world.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cano Island The Best Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Highly recommend taking a boat ride to Cano Island. Fantastic! Crystal clear water, schools of fish, it was like swimming in an aquarium. On the way to the island we stopped to watch a school of spotted dolphins, had a real treat on the way back and watched a humpback whale. A great experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Snorkeling bliss and the Rio Sierpe trip to get there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The river trip was an hour of great birding and monkeys and other wildlife....then divine snorkeling......worth what we paid for the all day tour. It was 85 dollars and included breakfast and lunch and river tour and snorkeling...Swam in giant schools of incredible fish...no jellyfish when we went....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cano Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.