We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing time!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Corcovado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Corcovado
Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The most amazing time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to Drake Bay in February 2013, it is a memory we will cherish forever! First of all I will tell you that I agonized over lodging and travel to and from Drake Bay for many weeks prior to departure. I called and emailed Jamie at Casita Corcovado a few times with many questions, each of them I am sure she had been asked a million times and each time she answered as if it were the first. Drake Bay is very remote, but worth ANY effort you put into getting there. Many people say to fly into Drake Bay, and I agree that if it were rainy or muddy this would be the method of choice, but in February things are hot and dry generally so we were able to drive in with no problems at all! I was prepared for the dirt-jungle portion of the drive to be very difficult and scary...it was neither. Frankly, driving in parts of western and central Virginia can be more difficult but you should heed the warnings and call ahead before you strike out in a car.

Once we arrived in the tiny little village of Drake Bay Jamie and Craig took care of everything! They greeted us warmly upon arrival and showed us to our room. These two have a gift of instantly making you feel like family, they are very special indeed! After we got settled in they took us on a quick tour around the village, they showed us the best restaurants, the grocery stores, etc. This tour was appreciated and was the launching point for our four day adventure. Jamie and Craig asked us what things we wanted to do, gave us the history, told us all about how they ended up in Drake Bay, and gave us a sense of the days ahead. Jamie and Craig will book and arrange any activates and tours that you want.
The Bed and Breakfast is cozy with a main house in the front, kitchen and outdoor dining area in the middle and the owner’s residence in the rear. Things in Drake Bay tend to get going at sunrise, and the day is pretty much over at sunset so be prepared for that. While we were there we went to Cano Island, Corcovado National Park, we went on a horse back trip, and we took a night time jungle tour. Absolutely take the trip to Cano Island and also to the park! If I were to do it again I would not go on the nighttime tour. Frankly that is because this is truly a nighttime rainforest submersion trek and I was afraid. It was VERY dark and there were snakes, spiders, and the like all around us on the ground and in the trees. Many people love this sort of thing and I’m sure they would love this. We also ate at all of the local restaurants; our favorite by FAR was Gringo Curt’s Seafood!!! Honestly, we dream of his fish tacos and his banana grilled fish...amazing!

The rooms at Casita Corcovado are basic, the beds are very comfortable and the A/C keeps things nice and chilly. Breakfast is served on the patio while you discuss the day’s adventures with Jamie and Craig, and watch the many tropical birds that are in the yard and flying above. We can't wait to go back to see Jamie and Craig at Casita Corcovado and if you’re lucky you will get to go see them too! We spent three weeks in Costa Rica and the four days in Drake Bay were our best by far!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hey, you two!

Thanks for the great review. We always appreciate a little feedback and love.

Sorry we didn't get to change our hair while you were down. I guess I will have to wait till we go to the states to get a really good cut and color.

Glad you made it home safely. Please, please stay in touch..I have your number, haven't set up the new webpage, but you will be hearing from me.

Pura Vida,

Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Casita Corcovado and loved our stay. Jamie and Craig are very helpful and fun hosts and made our stay in Drake Bay a breeze. The food Jamie made for us was healthy and delicious, the room was clean and the location is very convenient. I would highly recommmend Casita Corcovado for any travellers looking for a good value and a friendly B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hey, wild man! How's it going?

Thanks for the wonderful review. We had soooo much fun.

You are wonderful people, I don't care how you spell your name.....lol (sorry everybody, private joke).

Can't wait to see you back here.

Pura Vida,

Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Casita Corcovado was a great place to stay - we would definitely go stay there again if we were ever in Drake Bay! Many of the places in Drake are very expensive adn very far removed from any restaurants or shops. Casita Corcovado is located in a great spot, close to everything and the owners are amazing - they will help arrange all your tours, cook you wonderful breakfasts, and show you all around town and tell you about the history of the place. Although it was a shared bathroom, it was kept very clean (only thing is the water pressure could have been better) and the house itself is pretty basic very cute with hamocks in the back and front yard. Jamie and Craig are truly the best hosts you will probably experience in all of Costa Rica and we highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: the front room with the ocean view seems to be larger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for posting a great response.

Definitely warmer here than your neck of the woods, right? What can I say? We love paradise and are happy you got to enjoy it with us.

Please stay in touch. We loved meeting you two.

Pura Vida,

Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Jamie and Craig were very gracious hosts. The house is well situated between town and the beach. The grounds are well kept and absolutely beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging in the various hammocks situated around the house watching a variety of birds and butterflies (even a morpho butterfly paid a visit). Our room was very clean and comfortable. Jamie and Craig have a wealth of local knowledge and are eager to share with their guests. But they also have an uncanny knack for knowing when to give you space, as I do enjoy my quiet time. It was wonderful to wake up to Jamie's creative and delicious breakfast e each morning. Definitely happy with our decision to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. It is always fun having family in the house. By the time you left, we felt like we were part of YOUR family.

Thank you for sharing time with us!

Pura Vida,

Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Jamie and Craig are the most wonderful hosts you could ask for. They should nail a plaque to the house that reads "Leave your worries at the door." (Then again, if you are lucky enough to find yourself spending time in the jungle paradise of Drake Bay and vicinity, what worries could you possibly have?) When we arrived in the afternoon, there were beautiful, cut tropical flowers on our beds...a thoughtful, elegant touch. The very comfortable bedrooms are equipped with A/C for folks who can't handle heat and humidity, but they also have fans for those of us who would rather just sleep with warm soft breezes and the sound of ocean waves. The rest of the house has an airy feel about it..in fact the kitchen/dining area is an open patio that looks out upon fruit trees and lush plants. The location is great also -- only a very short walk from the hamlet's two small markets and restaurants. Our breakfast the next morning was delicious, and my only regret was that we couldn't stay longer at Casita Corcovado. If you like conversing with friendly, interesting hosts who really know the area and their community -- and will soon have you feeling like you've found your own home away from home -- then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Awww. Thank you for the lovely review. It is always fun meeting new, great people around the table. We definately had fun when you where here.

When are you getting back down here to retire?

Pura Vida,

Jamie y Gregorio
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

By the time my partner and I left Drake Bay we felt as if we were leaving good friends. Jamie and Craig not only shared thier beautiful home and wonderful cooking with us, but also thier great stories and helpful tips about the area. You won't meat friendlier people in Drake Bay. The air conditioned room was a nice bonus as well!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi. Thanks for your review. I just wish we had more time together. Your whale stories from Alaska were equal or better than ours. You 2 were a wonderful addition to the area. Please...come back.
Pura Vida,
Jamie y Gregorio
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. Jamie and Craig met us at the shore and saw us off when we left, keeping us company and showing us around Drake Bay all the while in between. The home is comfortable and homey, and Jamie and Craig are very knowledgeable about Drake Bay and its people. Highly recommended for those seeking to visit Drake Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us! It means alot.

We had a great experience on the mixto tour. It is always a good experience out on the water.

We hope to see you back here sometime in the near future. You know you are always welcome.

Please keep in touch with us.

Pura Vida,

Jamie y Gregorio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casita Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Corcovado

Also Known As:
Casita Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay
Address: Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Corcovado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casita Corcovado to your Saves list