We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate to Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Corcovado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Corcovado
Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
“Gate to Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Need a friendly place to stay with nice people who will take good care of you, good food and air conditioned rooms? Then Jamie and Craig are the hosts for you. Pack only what you can carry & be sure to bring plastic garbage bags. (To cover suit cases in case of rain).
Snorkeling or diving is a must to see lots of fish.
Great place for offshore fishing or deep sea fishing
Want to relax and have fun? Try horseback riding to a waterfall for a swim and zip lining through the jungle.
Great place to see night life (Insects, amphibians and snakes) try a night tour…
Want to get exercise but see lots of birds and animal? Tour the jungle during the day.
Jamie and Craig can make all the arrangements for you.
I hope I can get back there soon. Thanks Jamie and Craig for a great time!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review. What wonderful tips you gave. I am sure future travellers will want to thank you as well. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family. You really know how to enjoy the natural surroundings. Hope your trip home was smooth and that you come back to visit us someday soon. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
46
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

An absolutely fantastic experience! Jamie and Craig were wonderful hosts that made us feel as if we were family they’d known forever. The property was charming and clean, the rooms were spacious and well appointed, the grounds were gorgeous and the view from the front door is simply unrivaled. The food was top notch and the (amazing) coffee was plentiful. Laughter flowed as Craig (an old Pirate with several life times worth of stories) and Jamie immediately ingratiated themselves with our group. They had a sixth sense and were scarce when we needed alone time yet were there to liven the atmosphere whenever we were dragging. Jamie and Craig are early risers and never made us feel as if we were putting them out when we wanted breakfast at obscene hours prior to the tours they skillfully arranged for us. Jamie and Craig negotiated tour rates (they have their own boat as well for snorkeling, fishing and dolphin and whale watching) and accompanied us to the markets to ensure that we never got charged the "gringo price" for goods (though everyone in Bahia Drake was so friendly I dont know if it was necessary). If there is one downside to Casita Corcovado its that I can't call it home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Wow! What can I say. Pura Vida. It is people like you that make what we do a complete joy. Had a great time with you all here, a tear in our eyes when you hopped on the boat. Hope your new job back in the U.S. is treating you well and turns out to be all you hoped for. Can't wait for your next visit. A suit and tie is a far cry from t-shirt and flip-flops...lol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Jamie and Craig are very accommodating hosts who give you an insider's tour of town, get up at any hour to make you a great breakfast, and will arrange anything you need. The house isn't fancy but it's clean and relaxed and you certainly feel welcome. Drake Bay can be pretty pricy but this is good value for money.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you. You are a great couple and brought great energy to the casita. We hope to meet again in the future. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Looking for Adventure while staying in a friendly and comfortable family like environment? Then, Casita Corcovado is the place for you. Jamie and Craig who have been living in Drake Bay for many years are the perfect hosts. They know everyone in the area and can pre-arrange (or arrange once in Drake Bay) the Adventures you desire. With their help, we did it all over a week: zip lining through the jungle; horse back riding and swimming in a secluded jungle waterfall; deep sea fishing; snorkeling and diving Canos island; night touring with the "Bug Lady"; guided visit through Corcovado Park; kayaking. They can also arrange your travel from San Jose with a private driver to Sierpe (4 hours) and then the boat ride to Drake Bay (1 hour) on the picturesque Sierpe river. Or you can fly to Drake Bay. Jamie and Craig do all the planning, you do the enjoying! They have 3 bedrooms with A/C (rare in the area) and 1 large bathroom. The rooms are simple but very functional with very comfortable beds. Every morning (which typically starts at 5:00 am), they will prepare before you leave an excellent and copious and always different breakfast (eggs, pancakes, fresh fruits and local juices). Jamie and Craig are wonderful people and our stay in the Osa Peninsula could not have been more enjoyable, thanks to them.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are facing the ocean. However most of the daylight hours are spent outdoors or in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
What a wonderful review. Thank you. We definately enjoyed sharing our little bit of paradise with you. You have a wonderful family and we are happy that you decided to share a bit of your vacation with us. We had such a great time getting to know you all. Please come back again. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This B&B is the best way to experience Drake Bay! Cute, comfortable house with all amenities, great breakfast, clean, nice bathrooms (shared with one or two other bedrooms, but never busy). Craig and Jamie, the owners, are so nice and take care of you, giving you a tour of the town, giving you ideas and hooking you up with tours and hikes and whatever else you could want. I'm definitely coming back! Reasonable prices and great location, too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thanks for your review. We can't wait for your return! We are so glad that you "stumbled" upon us. We had a fun time chatting around the table with you. Please keep in touch. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Casita Corcovado is probably the best place to stay in Drake Bay. The hosts, Jamie and Craig, are such a lovely couple. I had such a great time with them and they helped me organize everything from the trip to the corcovado national park to the airport shuttle bus on the day I left. Even if you leave for the park very early in the morning, they will get up to prepare breakfast for you.
The rooms are fully equipped with air conditioning, although this wasn't necessary for me in January. Everything is very stylish, clean, ecological and near to nature. The bed was very big and comfy!
The way Jamie and Craig life is very inspiring to me: Their rhythm goes by the daylight: In the morning they get up with the sun, in the evening they go to bed at sunset. They love nature and care a lot about the town and environment. It was so interesting talking to them about all sorts of things. Craig said to me he loves having guests from all over the world as he can "go to school" everyday since he learns so much about the world that way. And you feel this! Those guys built their own little paradise down at Drake Bay and you can be part of it. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
So, you got hooked on the Costa Rican lifestyle, huh? Thank you for your nice review of Drake Bay. As you know, we love it here. It is definately paradise on Earth. We are happy that you were able to share a bit of it with us. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I went here for our 35th anniversary. We hoped we had chosen a good place...we absolutely did! This "Casita" is a very, very clean house and the hosts are warm, kind hearted people who love what they do. The mattresses are not the typical hard Costa Rican ones, but are the nice, plush soft mattresses. The town of Drake Bay is awesome. It is very low key. You can stay busy with tours and horseback riding etc. or just relax and enjoy the atmosphere...and what an atmosphere it is! The macaws outside everyday just blew us away. We cannot wait to return.

Cheryl Ducos, "Upstate New York"

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casita Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Corcovado

Address: Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Casita Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Corcovado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casita Corcovado to your Saves list