We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Accom in Drake Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Manolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas Manolo to your Saves list
Cabinas Manolo
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Budget Accom in Drake Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We moved from another hotel to this one as its price was so good (for a large private room with fan and mosquito net $10pp if you do a tour with them otherwise $15pp). The staff were very helpful and friendly and dropped us off at the beach to catch the boat to save us carrying our packs. This place is the best value you will find in Drake Bay. We did a tour to Sirena with them as well which was very good and again the cheapest rate in town ($70pp,some were charging $95 for the same thing). Food at the restaurant is also good value with meals $3-5 and beakfast from $1.40 for toast & jam to $3 for the works.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    146
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
183
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Cabinas Manolo is a great little hotel. The rooms are large and very clean and ours came with a private bathroom with hot water. The hotel's restaurant serves tasty food and cold beer for a very good price. If you want, you can walk to other restaurants in the town. The location is central, with the 'town' in one direction and beach access in the other. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Fairly new, built well and open to the surrounding elements! Manolo's was a great recommendation from 2 different people!! Only $15 per person in a very expensive area (solely because of location). Clean and cleaned daily. Shower open to the jungle. Our onlt complaint was that there was a ceiling fan (pointless in the hot jungle) that sat in between the 2 beds rather than above them!!! They will eventually need standing fans to blow the cross breeze from the screened windows! It got extremely hot in the rooms as a result, but cooled down at night. I saw far more expensive cabins with the same setup, just a better view!! I had ear plugs, but it didn't matter. we woke up so early for all of our trips, that we never really heard the sunrise battle between the Howler monkeys, roosters, and birds:) No mildew smell either!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Very nice accommodation. Clean and insect free cabins with electricity and hotwater, hammocks or relax-chairs in front. You can have basic breakfast and diner for a good price. The Manolo family will do anything for you to make the stay comfortable. For us they arranged all the excursions and ferry’s. Excursion guide is 1 of the family members and an experience guide.

For us absolutely one of the best accommodations we visit during our 4 week trip in Costa Rica.

The beach is a 5 minutes walk

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This guesthouse is located at Bahia Drake, near to Corcovado Nature Reserve.
This is a family business. They have their own restaurant and a guide that care for tours to Corcovado Parks, and other exotic places near to Bahia Drake.
The rooms are spacious and spotless, all of them with attached bathroom. The prices are modest and run between $15-20 p.p.
When you arrive to Bahia Drake by a bout, Manolo will pick you up from the beach and will bring you to the guesthouse.
The food the service are excellent.
I can resume my fillings about Manolo guesthouse with one sentence: you come like a guest and you leave like a friend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Our 3 night stay at Manolo's in Drake Bay exceeded all our expectations. The host family are wonderful hosts and offer a five star experience at budget prices.

We arrived by water taxi from Sierpe in Drake Bay and Manolo was waiting for us on the beach to help us with our bags to the hotel without any prior arrangement. None of the other people in the water taxi received such service from their hotels. Our room was spotless with a comfortable mattress and on suite facilities with cold water shower. There were some nice rocking chairs and hammocks in front of our room for chilling. The restaurant at the hotel serve simple but delicious Costa Rican meals at budget prices- the fish was fresh from the bay.

The tours organised by the hotel to Corcovado was fantastic and our guide was very professional. We saw whales and dolphins on the way to the park, and the park itself was amazing- highly recommended,

Drake Bay is a bit difficult to get to but it was the highlight of our one month stay in Costa Rica- go now before the secret is out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I've stayed here twice, the last trip for 10 days in July. To begin with it is very inexpensive - $10-$20 per person per night depending on which season and if you have a shared bathroom or private bathroom. The rooms are very clean, Bella cleans everyday and replaces sheets and towels. I used the shared bathroom and even when the place is full it is always very clean. I feel very safe here even as a single woman traveling alone. The doors have padlocks on them, but they almost seem unnecessary. There is always some one around to keep an eye on things.
Now, the best part - the people! Cabinas Manolo is run by Manolo and his wife Bella, their daughter Ingrid and her new husband Albert. They are warm, friendly people absolutely dedicated to making sure you have the best trip possible. Ingrid runs a small soda right out of the hotel and her cooking is the best in town. Don't miss her fish and fried plantains! Javier, their guide, comes by every evening to arrange whatever tours you would like for the next guide. I know that all the guides in Drake Bay are good, but I think he is the best. He speaks fluent english, knows where to find all the animals, and has an incredible store of knowledge about all the flora and fauna.
I really can't rave about this place enough. I will never stay anywhere else in Drake Bay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Manolo

Address: Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Manolo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Manolo is located in downtown Drake Bay at 250 meters from the beach. Cabinas Manolo is run by a Costarican family, so it is much easier for us to make you feel like in home. We offer a personalized service. Cabinas Manolo is like a home away from home. The restaurant has a wide variety of delicious and tasty dishes every day. Vegetarian and special diets can be accommodated. Tours: We offer tours to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island, dolphins and whale watch, horseback rides, kayaks, mangrove tours, night hike tour, sport fish and other tours around the zone. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Cabinas Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Manolo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Manolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.