We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed here with 3 friends for 2 nights. It's my best B&B experience ever, just like paradise. Everything is so nature, and you feel like you stay in the jungle...so cool! Owner Juan is so cool (never see big smiling face) but warm-heart person, wait and picked us from the boat (from Sierpe), cooked delicious dinner and breakfast (all the dishes are very fancy, I'm surprised. They must pay a lot of time and attention on the food, taste really good!). He's expanding his B&B now since we saw there's new rooms under construction. We had dinner here as well. It's very nice to have dinner with backpackers from all over the world in the same table, to share travel stories/pictures. We did a night tour- The bug lady (you can book it from B&B), which was pretty amazing. Our tourguild is an American lady, majored in biology, who came to Costa Rica for 17 yrs to do inspect research. She and her husband are so knowledge and their shape eyes found lots of spiders/snakes/frogs...it's really cool. We also went to a day tour to Corcovado national park (sirena station), B&B provided rain boots for us to hike in the muddy rainforest, really helpful.......I just like Drake Bay, like Finca Maresia. Will go back to hike the other two stations of Corcovado parks. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    36
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
84
375
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We have travelled around Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was definitely the best location in the whole trip. Beautiful simple cottages with great showers and a view into the wilderness. If you come for the beach there are better spots in Drake, but if you come to see the wilderness and only want to hear the nature at night like us this is the right spot.

Juan is the manager and has everything under control and arranges everything when you want to do a tour. Moreover he is very friendly and makes you feel at home right away. Friends are easily made in Finca Maresia. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to visit Drake; which is a beautiful spot on its own.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Me and my wife love wildlife and adventure. We selected to stay 8 days at Finca Maresia in Drake Bay. We have travelled the world and can easily say that Maresia and Corcovado is the most pristine and beautiful place we have ever stayed. Even the food was superb! Host Juan has it all under control with great, great food. The minute you arrive, Juan will give you a full, funny and tailor made brief on what to do. The staff and the rooms are amazing. What a setting for a great holiday. After 8 days we left to another hotel in Uvita, only to find that we had to return to Maresia for the remainder of ou holiday (another 7 days). Dear Juan, Alex, Andrea, Oldemar, Roy and Franklin: we will be back! Muchas gracias y pura vida!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Finca Maresia with our 3 children (9, 6 and 2). The site and surroundings are gorgeous, the cabins were somewhat small (for 5 people) but really nicely appointed with very efficient use of the space and cool bathrooms open to the jungle! The railings on the balcony and the dining room were minimalist but with surveillance and explanations all went well.
Our host, Juan, went above and beyond to help us. He was first very informative as we were preparing for the trip. While we were there he had the kids eat dinner early (at 6:30pm) so they could go to sleep and we could enjoy the evening with the other guests (this is one of the best moment of the day when all gathered and exchanged traveling tales!). Most of all, he had a crib built for out youngest!
Juan is also a surprising chef. The breakfast were very good but the dinner were delicious with an incredible service. and lovely company!
All together, we can't say enough good about this lodge and the owners !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

When I booked the room I was excited because most hotels in the area already charge you for all the meals and tours... I am not a big fan of paying ahead of time for something I am not sure I want to get... So when we got to Finca Maresia we found out that it wasn't only the flexibility that they had, but sooo much more. The hotel is in the middle of a huge property and the view of every single place in the hotel is the forest. Juan is the nicest host ever.... He explains to you what the tours are, prices and what fits you best. And once you get back from the tours there's dinner... He has this way of doing dinner that I find very nice: Everyone sits together at a big table and has dinner together. So you end up talking to people from many other places and it's just nice... You feel like at home to be quite honest.

I do not only recommend this hotel, but I look forward to being able to go there again... It has everything one could wish for: Very clean and pretty rooms, amazing food (dinner is 3 dishes for only $15), good location and great value for your money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We´ve been in Finca Maresia for our honeymoon, and it has been the best part of our month travel around Central America. Juan, the owner, is really great, and probably the best cooker in all Costa Rica, and the relation quality-price is the best you cand find in all Bahia Drake.
If I must repeat one part of this great trip, it will be for sure 4 or 5 days in Finca Maresia.
With no dout, the best place to stay in Bahia Drake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed 5 days at finca maresia and i can really say these were the 5 best days of the whole four week trip in costa rica. We stayed in superior cabina with private balcony and hammock. shower was open at one side to the jungle (no window, amazing!). The owner Juan was very helpful, kind and perfectly organized.

We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and lunch including amusing exchange of each days experiences of the other travellers.

We did the some tours which are all highly recommendable. Juan will give detail information about everything and arrange booking for you. Juan has rubber boots in any size for free which are recommended for jungle walks in rainy season.

- day 1: Guided Horsebackriding (with river crossing), short jungle walk and swimming in river.
- day 2: Guided tour to corcovado national park sirena station (we saw tapir and rarely seen squirrel monkeys and lots of other animals...)
- day 3: diving trip to cano island (sharks, giant turtles and lots of other fishes...)
- day 4: half ay walk at the beach front (not guided)

Thanks Juan!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.