We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgetable vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Lake Tahoe (California), California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unforgetable vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We absolutely fell in love with Drake Bay, Corcovado. I have been travelling to Costa Rica for many years and this was the most incredible place that i have ever seen. Miguel helped us with our accommodations and arranged our tours for our stay at Drake Bay. The cabin was the most beautiful cabin i had ever stayed in, the shower overlooks the jungle, the hammock and bed comfy and overall it was super relaxing. The reason for the sleep quality score being rate 3 is that i did not sleep a wink (although my husband slept like a log) the hotel went through torrential rains that were super loud and it was super hot at night especially sleeping under the mosquito net. I felt as though Miguel acted more like a counselor at a kid's camp trying to arrange all the excursions for us, but was not very informative about what the tour was about and how we were getting there. I felt that Drake Bay was exceptionally expensive for it's food and tours, because it's so remote from any city they pretty much charge you the most expensive prices for any little thing you might need while you are at Drake Bay.
We took a tour to Sirena at Corcovado park and one day we went snorkeling and it was absolutely amazing, swimming next to turtles and sharks and seeing endangered animals through each tour, made me feel so humble and awed at the beauty that Corcovado holds. We also went on an night tour that was amazing, Tracy Stice is a researcher that has lived in Drake Bay for 15 years and after listening to her for 2 hours i was amazed at her knowledge of the animals in the area and how she found them in the dark was even more impressive. Heads up..FInca Maresia is lovely but very far away from the town, each cab ride will cost you $10, i saw some other tourist paying $20 for each way (ridiculous), so be prepared for this. Overall we will be back for sure, but i think next time a little more prepared in what awaits us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    40
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
98
449
41
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BONN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Finca Maresia is an awesome place.
- unique landscape
- friendly and helpful staff
- delicious food
- exciting excursions
- amazing accommodation/Fincas

If you come to Drake stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at Finca Maresia and it was our best place in all Costa Rica! (we travelled a lot, because we had a car)

Why? Because:

- the staff there is very attentive, correct, very friendly and had excellent hints for daytrips.
- The rooms are very clean, atmospheric and very well decorated – just stunning!
- The food there – breakfast and if you want dinner – is fresh, tasteful and prepared with passion
- The area there is what we love: lost without tourist crowds, stunning nature, palm trees and, if you have a car and/or willing to walk: beaches for only yourself!
- If you do speak Spanish, DON’T miss a daytrip with odemar!

We do want to add, that it is handy to have a vehicle, that brings you to Finca Maresia, as a walk from Drake Beach will take you easily 20 Mins.

Otherwise, this truly is holiday heaven!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had an idea that this place was going to be good, and it certainly was. Brilliant location in Drake Bay, and a short walk to the beach and small village. We couldn't ask for more from Miguel the owner who was very helpful when it came to activities, i loved his attitude to perfection! Dont forget to bring plenty of cash with you as there are no ATM's nearby or in Drake to pay for accomodation, Miguel doesn't like taking credit/debit cards for payment as it is expensive to do this for him. We will look forward to taking a swim in the swimming pool in the future Miguel - let us know when its done! - Please thank Canila and friends for accompanying us to the beach!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We were a little put off by Miguel when we first got to Finca Maresia; he seemed short with us and bothered when we asked questions that seemed obvious to him; after the 3rd day, we changed our mind; he was more talkative, did not charge us for that last glass of wine and was much friendlier than when we first arrived.
The property is beautiful, very lush and well maintained, and our bungalow faced the jungle where we would wake up every morning to the loud call of the hawling monkeys;the bathroom was huge, the room itself very tasteful, with a sliding door left opened at night because of the heat, but we were not not bothered by the mosquitoes because of the net surrounding the bed.We spent a whole morning in our hammocks on the deck relaxing and doing nothing, it was lovely!!
One thing that Miguel should have told us is that we needed to pull the net around the bed early in the evening to avoid all the mosquitoes on the bed!!!
We walked to "town"every day, a 25 minutes walk, with Miguel's dog who came to play in the waves with us; we did not bother to find another beach, we loved the warmth of the ocean and the fact that the beach was deserted.Polluted? maybe...I live in Portland, Oregon and the Willamette river is one of the most polluted rivers in the United States!!!
We had dinner every night with Miguel and the guests and enjoyed it very much , even though Miguel could use a little bit of cooking classes.
Breakfast was great and one thing that surprised and pleased us is that he got up at 5am one morning to make us breakfast because our tour was leaving at 545am. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and he meant it.
I would highly recommend going to the Usa Peninsula and staying at Finca Maresia; we travelled for another 8 days and still remember Finca Maresia as one of the most magical places of Costa Rica.
Bravo Miguel and thank you!!
Evelyne and Bruno

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

It was a privilege and honor to stay at Finca de Maresia in Dec 2009. Sr. Juan, was a most gracious host and even cooks for the guests most nights. He also is available to make arrangements for tours, transportation, or anything else you might need.

There is a main lodge on the property with a large open-air deck where guests gather in the evening to share stories about the day´s adventures and break bread with one another around the family-style dining table. During our stay, all the other guests were well-traveled and we engaged in great conversations about traveling, politics, music, you name it. Every morning nature provided our alarm clock as we woke up to the sounds of howler monkeys, birds, and other signs of the jungle. We actually stayed on the second floor of the main lodge and found our accommodations to be very roomy, clean and comfortable. And it even had a few over the jungle to the ocean.

From the finca you can walk down a quite steep and muddy hill to the bay and along a trail that goes through the jungle and crosses 2 hotel properties and a creek to get to many different beaches.

Our first night there Sr. Juan had arranged for a naturalist guide to take us on a night tour of the jungle surrounding the finca. The jungle really comes alive at night. We saw all kinds of life including the rare and famed famous red-eyed tree frog. In fact, we got to see a rare moment of 2 red eye tree frogs mating! We also heard and smelled an ocelot, but he was very timid and never got close enough for us to actually lay eyes on him.

Pura Vida perfectly describes Drake Bay and it was by far our favorite place that we visited in Costa Rica, however it is also one of the most remote. I don’t thing we saw a single paved road and travelers should be prepared to live in a natural habitat. Although I was wearing 100% deet I got eaten alive by no-see-ums. But the pay off is well worth it. The flora and fauna is flourishing. The people are happy and very genuine and enjoy a beautiful way of life. There seems to be a wonderful sense of harmony, not just with one another, but with the landscape and the wildlife as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Finca Maresia for 4 nights, in a superior bungalow for 3, then were moved to the room above the common area. We are fit and seasoned travelers and don't like to stay in high-end places. We liked the simple open-air designs and of FM, but there are some key elements missing--such as comfortable chairs to sit in! The bungalow deck had one hammock, but the ends were strung too close together, and it was impossible to get comfortable in the strange beanbag (there's a good reason those things didn't make it past the '60s!) Low lighting made it difficult to read at night, and when I asked Miguel about this he inquired whether I hadn't brought a headlamp! The comfortable beds had mosquito netting, but there's ample opportunity for insects to get into the bungalow, as there is no screening whatever. No chairs to lounge comfortably in around the common area either, and the stairway up to the bedroom above has no railing.

The food was good, but dinner isn't served until 7:30--a late hour given that you are in a serious early-to-bed/rise place. To dine earlier, we opted for the restaurant at the lodge next door a couple of times, where we had lively conversation with Ticos, and that was good. Otherwise, it's quite a trek downslope on the 2-km gravel road to Drake, where the options for food are sparse at best.

The trail to the bay takes about 20 minutes, but everyone warns not to swim in the water there due to pollution. To get to a swimable beach takes another 35-40 minutes, walking past a lot of local and resort development. This area can hardly be described as pristine! Unfortunately, it seems that development at Drake Bay isn't overseen by any government or community authority. Alas, our visit this time didn't live up to the memories we had of the Osa from 17 years ago. If a friend wanted to go to the Osa Peninsula I would recommend somewhere else, or suggest they skip Drake Bay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
18.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 14 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Caletas Lodge
Las Caletas Lodge
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.