We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step out of the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save Saved
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Step out of the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Friends said in advance that this was the highspot of their visit to Costa Rica, so naturally we were curious as we drove out to Bahia Drake along the interminable dirt road with its river crossings - no problem with 4x4 in the dry season, but we'd advise you to take a river boat from Sierpe or a plane, much more fun! Once at the finca we gradually realised what a fabulous place this was, with a series of beatifully designed cabins strung out in a clearing along the rolling hillside surrounded by forest, beatifully equipped, an architectonic delight. The reception/dining area towers above it all, with a practical viewing platform for birdlovers. Staff run a laid-back incredibly helpful service, organising whatever activity you like and full of helpful advice. I'm somewhat handicapped, so they organised special forest walks for me, away from the main drag. Night bug walk and mangrove tour highly recommended, as are the incredible beach walks... Relaxing group suppers, exchanging plans and experiences, getting lots of good ideas for the next stage of our trip. Fantastico! Thank you so much Miguel and saff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    34
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
80
356
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Chosing this hotel was the best choice ever. Already the email converstation with Miguel was nice and pleasant. As I didn't have a paypal account I was unable to pay the reservation fee, this was not a problem at all, the reservation of our flights was assurance enought that we would be there.
The hostel is a little bit outside of Drake bay, but we went to the place after our rainforest tour so we were in need of quietness and relaxation. That is just what we got at Finca Maresia. We were welcomed warmly and the place is just beautiful. The little Cabins are very secluded and nicely made. The common romm (deck) is furnished with hammocks, seats an big table. Also a telescope for birdwatching is provided, as well as books and charts about the wildlife. If you want you can have lunch (10$) and dinner (15$) which all the guest have at the same time at the deck. The food provided is european style and good, breakfast is incluced in the room price.
The first night we slept in a standard room with a shared bath. However, the highlight was the second day were we moved to the superior room. Which is a bigger cabin with its own balcony (with two hammocks) overviewing the edges of the rain forest. The open air shower with view into the rainofrest listening to the birds is just great.
The Cabins are far enough from each other to have real privacy and the hills between the common deck and the cabins just make it a great place. At the common deck there is also a beverages refrigerator where you can take wine, beer or softdrinks, you mark what you use in your chart on a trust basis.
Just sitting on the deck we saw and heard macaws and tucans. In the night the fireflies were just magical.
Instead of going to town and to the beach, we chose to walk 600m to the river with natural pools which gave us a refreshing afternoon. Here we watched birds, dragonflies, frogs and heaps of lizards.
All in all a wonderful place with a wonderful host! If you go to drake bay don't miss this place. But take at least two days in this paradise to recharge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Make reservations!

Absolutely my best memories of Costa Rica. Owner and staff were incredible. Met loads of very nice people over dinner every night, exchanging stories of what everyone had done and seen that day. Prices were very fair. Clean rooms and swanky little bathrooms. Good dinners. Sustainable howler monkey alarm clocks!

Really can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Only 2 shared bathroom double twin rooms. Rest are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't post a lot, but this place deserves some comments...GO HERE! Relaxing. Clean and friendly, knowledgable staff. Drake Bay is out-of-the-way in Costa Rica, but this is worth it. Spent five nights enjoying the scenery and beaches. Bkfst is enough to get you going in the AM. Dinner is well prepared (if you want to go to town for a restaurant, you need to take a taxi - price is $8-10 each way). Plans for a POOL, so go before the rates increase. Thanks, Miguel for a splendid time.

Room Tip: Cabinas very cozy. #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Even though the location is outside of town it is still a great stay. The area is beautiful , the rooms are spacious ( we had one with a private bath) and very clean. The breakfast was OK but the dinners were always wonderful( breakfast included with room and dinner for a reasonable charge). The staff was very helpful in making suggestions and arrangements for tours. If we go back we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with the wonderful host, Miguel, in late November. The setting is simply beautiful, the accommodation stylish, minimalist in a good way, and comfortable. You are right in the middle of nature surrounded by millions of sparkling spider's eyes at night (ask Miguel), the distant sound of Howler Monkeys is your dawn chorus and you could wile away hours hanging in your hammock, on your own private porch, taking in the beauty of it all, the bird life, the peace and quiet. I can heartily recommend this place, Miguel is a superb host, he manages to taxi his guests back and forth, run the ship and prepare a mean meal at night! He has great recommendations, I could go on, but my 200 words is soon out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in jan 2009 BUT just got round to doing review! Really loved the place and great meals too . highly recommend it. Hosts were very friendly lots of wildlife nearby. howler monkeys as wake up call great ! accomodation with a difference. s and m

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.