We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been a year and a half since my trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save Saved
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's been a year and a half since my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

but the hospitality, food, and accommodations were so wonderful that I'm taking the time now to write a review. While we visited, Juan was in charge and did a great job of making us welcome. He helped arrange our excursions and always pointed us in the right direction.

A couple of things that might not be obvious from the web, etc:

1. The opportunity to have breakfast and dinner at the hotel is really a godsend in some respects. There aren't many other places to eat in Drake Bay, especially if you'd like to keep the price reasonable. It wasn't until I was leaving Costa Rica and was able to reflect on the few meals that I had in San Juan and essentially getting to and from Drake Bay that I realized there seems to be remarkably little variation in Costa Rican cuisine. I think I would have gone mad from boredom (culinarily speaking) if I hadn't been so well fed by Juan and the staff.

2. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the waterfront so bring good Tevas or something like that to get to and from the hotel. We were there in May and it rained every afternoon for a bit which ensured that it was always a muddy walk.

The accommodations are simple in their clean lines, clean, and luxurious. Our cabin was a quiet haven to retreat to after a long day of hiking or other activity. And the open air shower was a great touch.

Without a doubt, I would stay here again. I hope the next adventure I have lands me in such nice surroundings. Thanks Juan!

PS Ignore the January 2012 indicator - I actually stayed May 2011

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    35
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
368
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

After traveling around in Costa Rica for 3 weeks, I can honestly say this is the nicest place and hostel we've visited. Both superior and basic rooms are real value for money.

The location is terrific, the rooms perfect, the breakfast excellent and the communal balcony where both breakfast and dinner are served, are a good place to spot birds in the closeby trees. It also facilitates the contact with other guests. All of this in a friendly and cosy atmosphere.

I really can not say what more you can expect from a hostel, everything that can facilitate your stay is taken into account by the owner. In bref, it's perfect.

For sure, one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed when traveling around in Latin-America, Asia-Pac and Africa!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a great 6 night stay here. As soon as you arrive you know this is going to be a special and unique experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the owner Miguel certainly knows what travelers want. His approach to this hotel makes the difference to any I have been to. He makes sure that you are informed of trips available in and around the area, he is very accommodating whenever you have questions, and very knowledgeable of local information and local wildlife.

What also sets this apart is the hotel communal area, set up high overlooking the surrounding forest you are free to use a monocular to watch birds or simply spend the day in hammock. For dinner and breakfast we also found this to be a great concept of spending your time on a long table and chat to fellow travelers.

This number 1 in Drake Bay for many reasons!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The owner, Juan, and his staff could not be more accomodating! The accomodations overlook the jungle and you are treated to the night sounds and excellent meals every day. Juan knows the good tour operators and spends the time with you, understanding your timeline and needs to make your visit the best it can be, BRAVO! We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: I do not think there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Finca Maresia is located a bit uphill from Drake Bay but Miguel one of the owner met us when we arrived by boat. We stayed both in the superior room and in the basic room. Of course the superior rooms are awesome, with private jungle view shower and terrace but also the basic room is comfortable for budhget travellers. Very nice is the common area deck with great views into Drake Bay. Breakfast and Dinner is offered at a big table so that all guests (maybe max. 12-20) would sit close together which created a nice family athmosphere. We appreciated also that Miguel offered us, wehnever he anyways went to the village to give us a free ride. Otherwise walking would be 20-30 minutes and a taxi ride was 6 USD no matter how many people that fit in a or on a pick up taxi. As we were interested in cooking we had the chnace to participate and see how they prepared dinner which was really nice.
Overall this was the best place we could imagine to stay in Drake Bay.
Thanks again to Miguel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You can really tell that Miguel knows what travellers want and that he loves his place. The location is beautiful, in the jungle, surrounded by nature and wildlife but still open for good views. The property is spacious and the cabins with the rooms are amazing! Hotel quality for a hostel price. Very clean, very good showers, comfortable beds and it all includes a rich, tasty breakfast with good coffee! We had dinner there as well, three nights in a row and we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room with private bathroom and we can only recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled to CR in May / June 2012, and stayed in Finca Maresia for 3 nights as we travelled around the entire country. Our stay in Finca Maresia was very relaxing. This is a beautiful part of CR, and although it's a bit of a trek to get to (we drove as far as Sierpe, left our 4x4 in a parking lot for a few days and got the water taxi from Sierpe to Bahia Drake / Drake Bay), it's well worth it. The wildlife that we saw in Corcovada National Park surpassed anywhere else we visited on the trip - it was easily one of the highlights. Plus the water taxi was really good fun!

The only two things that people should be prepared for in advance of their stay in Finca Maresia is the fact that the property (although architecturally designed and absolutely stunning), it is quite a distance from Bahia Drake itself, which, without our wheels, meant we were compelled to dine in Finca Maresia every evening. Plus, although the bedroom is completely screened (windows, doors etc.) - the bathroom is open to the elements. This is, aesthetically, gorgeous - but because the property is on the verge of a jungle, the mosquitoes can get in though the unscreened bathroom door - which resulted in my worst experience of mosquito bites ever. They had a feeding frenzy on me - even though I had the bed netting over us at night...

Otherwise, I would highly recommend Finca Maresia for a relaxing and stunning stay in Bahia Drake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.