We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, a special and unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place, a special and unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a great 6 night stay here. As soon as you arrive you know this is going to be a special and unique experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the owner Miguel certainly knows what travelers want. His approach to this hotel makes the difference to any I have been to. He makes sure that you are informed of trips available in and around the area, he is very accommodating whenever you have questions, and very knowledgeable of local information and local wildlife.

What also sets this apart is the hotel communal area, set up high overlooking the surrounding forest you are free to use a monocular to watch birds or simply spend the day in hammock. For dinner and breakfast we also found this to be a great concept of spending your time on a long table and chat to fellow travelers.

This number 1 in Drake Bay for many reasons!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    37
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
86
380
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The owner, Juan, and his staff could not be more accomodating! The accomodations overlook the jungle and you are treated to the night sounds and excellent meals every day. Juan knows the good tour operators and spends the time with you, understanding your timeline and needs to make your visit the best it can be, BRAVO! We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: I do not think there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Finca Maresia is located a bit uphill from Drake Bay but Miguel one of the owner met us when we arrived by boat. We stayed both in the superior room and in the basic room. Of course the superior rooms are awesome, with private jungle view shower and terrace but also the basic room is comfortable for budhget travellers. Very nice is the common area deck with great views into Drake Bay. Breakfast and Dinner is offered at a big table so that all guests (maybe max. 12-20) would sit close together which created a nice family athmosphere. We appreciated also that Miguel offered us, wehnever he anyways went to the village to give us a free ride. Otherwise walking would be 20-30 minutes and a taxi ride was 6 USD no matter how many people that fit in a or on a pick up taxi. As we were interested in cooking we had the chnace to participate and see how they prepared dinner which was really nice.
Overall this was the best place we could imagine to stay in Drake Bay.
Thanks again to Miguel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You can really tell that Miguel knows what travellers want and that he loves his place. The location is beautiful, in the jungle, surrounded by nature and wildlife but still open for good views. The property is spacious and the cabins with the rooms are amazing! Hotel quality for a hostel price. Very clean, very good showers, comfortable beds and it all includes a rich, tasty breakfast with good coffee! We had dinner there as well, three nights in a row and we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room with private bathroom and we can only recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled to CR in May / June 2012, and stayed in Finca Maresia for 3 nights as we travelled around the entire country. Our stay in Finca Maresia was very relaxing. This is a beautiful part of CR, and although it's a bit of a trek to get to (we drove as far as Sierpe, left our 4x4 in a parking lot for a few days and got the water taxi from Sierpe to Bahia Drake / Drake Bay), it's well worth it. The wildlife that we saw in Corcovada National Park surpassed anywhere else we visited on the trip - it was easily one of the highlights. Plus the water taxi was really good fun!

The only two things that people should be prepared for in advance of their stay in Finca Maresia is the fact that the property (although architecturally designed and absolutely stunning), it is quite a distance from Bahia Drake itself, which, without our wheels, meant we were compelled to dine in Finca Maresia every evening. Plus, although the bedroom is completely screened (windows, doors etc.) - the bathroom is open to the elements. This is, aesthetically, gorgeous - but because the property is on the verge of a jungle, the mosquitoes can get in though the unscreened bathroom door - which resulted in my worst experience of mosquito bites ever. They had a feeding frenzy on me - even though I had the bed netting over us at night...

Otherwise, I would highly recommend Finca Maresia for a relaxing and stunning stay in Bahia Drake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Finca Maresia is a very nice, comfortable place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, they have enough privacy and the bathroom is half-open so you get the feeling you are showering in the middle of nature.

We were welcomed by one of the owners, Juan, whom I had nice contact with before, by email. Now he is one breed apart! Though we liked him a lot, some of the guests were having a bit trouble putting his manners into perspective. He was there alone (the other owner was on holiday) and so he was very busy arranging tours, picking up guests, doing the paperworks etc. Also, he transforms into a cook at night. A brilliant one too. His dishes are original and very tasteful. Fine-dining over here! Being vegetarian he did his best (and succeeded gloriously) in preparing delicious food for the two of us.

So you can imagine that after dinner he ran out of energy and got a bit cranky with the guests. He was it to us on our first day, but even more to another Dutch couple who arrived two days later. They decided not to stay and leave the morning after. This was a bit of a shame, because Juan wants the best for his guests and he makes every effort to let them feel comfortable and happy. Also, we had a good time with the Dutch people and explained to them why things got a bit out of hand. They left anyway.

I liked this temperamental Spaniard a great deal. And since Finca Maresia is a lovely place to stay with lots of things to do in the neighbourhood, there are many good reasons to visit this lodge. Enjoy the beautiful cabins, the surroundings, the hospitable owner and most of all the delicious cooking!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

240 excellent reviews out of a total of 260 (at this time). I guess, I can just confirm all the good things that have been said. Brilliant place which absolutely deserves these 5 stars (including Juan, one of the owners).

Was definitely the best experience in 5 months travelling in Central America.

Just check it out yourself! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.