We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway in Bahia Drake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save Saved
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway in Bahia Drake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Finca Maresia has to be seen to be believed. The stunning setting comes out of nowhere after the muddy, bumpy drive up from the beach. The whole place is full of wonderful, unique touches and all guests needs have been thought of (from a telescope of watch the macaws and toucans to wellies that can be borrowed free for your hike in the national park). The communal deck is a great place to relax with a beer and watch the wildlife. Juan, one of the owners, could not have been more helpful and arranged everything we needed to make our stay perfect. In fact, we extended by an extra night because we liked it so much! Unbelievable for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    34
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
81
357
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SFO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am usually not good in writing reviews..but I am going to for this one.

This place will be on the top of my list for a long time to come. The location is awesome. Juan the manager runs the show and is very very helpful and friendly. The place is very clean and breakfast is great.
The common area (w/ the dining table) is just fantastic!
You can spend the whole day on this semi-open patio and enjoy bird(and sometime monkey) watching or relax in the hammocks.
If you are going to Drake Bay you have to stay here.
Oh and BTW, Juan is a great cook and I enjoyed the dinners a lot!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were lucky enough to meet both Juan and Miguel (joint owners) during our stay and both could not have done more to make our stay perfect. Rooms and meals were great. Trips organised for us with no hassle. Just a really lovely place to be. Our highlight was the free 'tour' given by the dog. If you take him for a walk, he will pick up the nighbour's dog and the two of them will walk you to a beach three hours away along a beautiful coastline of many stunning, empty beaches. Of course if a 6 hour walk is not your thing, you can stop and turn back any time. The dogs won't let you stray off the path you are supposed to be on. Amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at la Finca at the beginning of our Costa Rica adventure and if was the best part of our vacation. We would go back anytime for a wide variety of reasons. Juan makes sure that every guest feels as if they are a part of a family and not just a guest at a hotel. Everyone eats dinner together, which very quickly bonds people through shared experiences.
As well, the accommodations are stellar. We spent the first night of our stay in the superior room and the rest in the smaller bungalow (the "shared" one) and loved both. Each bungalow boasts privacy and a stunning view of primary rainforest where you can see the resident scarlet macaws, toucans, and howler monkeys.
Everything about Finca Maresia is special and sets is apart from any other hotel I've ever stayed at. Suffice to say, you must stay there to believe it.

The only thing is, if you're a light sleeper (which I am), pack a pair of earplugs because the majority of rainforest wildlife is active at night.

Room Tip: Any bungalow is superb, but the standard bungalow is a longer climb to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Finaly we stayed 10 days, longer than planed, because we felt very comfortable and welcome at finca maresia.The beautiful designed bungalows with lots of details are just great. Room srvice every day, very clean. Great breakfast (included) with delicious fresh juice, fruits, toast and of course gallo pinto. Miguel the owner is a very sympatic and generous guy. Passionate hotelier, proud of his feet and "never ever"... dyed his hair (-: Miguel is in very good contact to the locals. So he could organise what ever we wanted very fast and uncomplicated e.g. private tour with pepe (we hope he is fine again!), quad-taxis, la sirena tour, car rental, picnic... He had very helpful advice for hiking trips and other activities. Unfortunately we missed the night crocodile tour (-:
A Luxury Hotel for almost backpacker-prices.For sure it will be very hard to find a better place to stay in drake bay. Perfect location for everyone who likes to be sourounded by beautiful nature and is looking for a easy going atmosphere. Dont just reservate one or two days, you would regret it.
Muchissimas gracias Miguel! un placer para conecerte! we had a beautiful and unforgettable time at finca maresia and hope to come back soon. Sandra and Roland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Words cannot do justice for Finca Maresia! But I will try.

The room:
Extraordinary...the room we had was big, had a great balcony looking out into the Costa Rican wilderness where you could see a plethora birds or monkeys while you lie in your hammock! The best part we thought was the open air 'facilities'; don't worry you still get your privacy, but you are still exposed to the elements and it is a fantastic feeling ;). You really get a feeling of being out in the wilderness

The food:
Tasty, and great value for money. Breakfast is more than generous, and unlike most B&Bs you can actually choose what you would like for breakfast, along with an abundance of fresh fruit. As for dinner; this is great value! $15 per person, which may sound like a lot but Costa Rica is an expensive country and you will end up paying near enough to this for a meal, but not for 4 courses which is what you get here...and it is very, very good, I don't think we ate anywhere better for the whole trip :).

The owner:
Miguel is wonderful, he was probably the best owner we had for our whole trip (and most of the owners we had were excellent). He goes out of his way to accomodate your needs, remarkably friendly, and always happy to chat...oh and he will make sure that all transport and tours are booked for you...just magnificent. Plus he has some very cute dogs!

Recommendation:
If we could rate this as a 6 we would!

One word of advice, make sure you take cash to Drake Bay, there isn't an ATM; we got caught short on this, but managed to find a way to make it work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is the closest to paradise you will ever get. Not only are the rooms mind-blowing, with birds and monkeys waking you up in the morning, but Miguel helps you organize and plan every possible activity around. He goes out of his way to make you feel at home.

The place is so beautiful that you can easily spend a whole day relaxing and watching the animals around the property. The kitchen staff are also very friendly and helpful.

I would gladly go back and recommend it to anyone visiting Drake Bay.

The only downside is that is a bit far from the beach (20 minutes walk)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.